This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by 4 travellers from UK & Zam

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

11

Excursions taken

0

Fantastic experience

Namibia between 5 May 2010 and 26 May 2010

Trip rating: Good
"Namibia is an amazing country, spectacuar sights from beginning to end. All the bookings were good, no confusions anywhere.

The plan was ours rather than Expert Africa's, we just requested the accommodation to be booked for us. Where our first choice was not available they were very helpful in suggesting alternatives.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

Not really"

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


River Crossing

River Crossing

"Excellent accomm at River Crossing Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 5 May 2010
"River Crossing Lodge is only a short drive from Windhoek yet in a quiet bush setting in the hills.

Rooms are dotted around the hill with spectacular views. Also good brdlife. They are well designed and very comfortable wth feather duvets, DSTV (a few channels), drinks fridge, phone.

Service was fine, if a bit fussy, but the lodge has only recently opened, so I'm sure it will settle down.

Directions on internet are inaccurate, the turning off the airport road is about 6km from town. And the signpost is hard to see from the road, look for the sign to the vinyard"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Sossusvlei Lodge

Sossusvlei Lodge

"Sossusvlei Lodge - an excellent base"

3 nights Arrived 7 May 2010
"A large lodge with many chalets laid out in fairly well spaced rows, but our chaletswere in the front with unimpeded views of, and access to, the desert so it was fantastic. I imagine it would have been less enjoyable to sit on one's verandah and have to look between other peple's chalets at the view. Rooms very comfortable with good size verandah.

The lodge was well run and provided for all our needs (except for a book on Namibian birds) and service was good. Food was pretty good, considering the size of the place, braii always had selection of bush meat, wide choice of salads and sweets.

Very convenient for the dunes and Sossusvlei."
Good
Location
Excellent
Food
Average
Rooms
Good
Facilities
Good
Rostock Ritz

Rostock Ritz

"Fun overnight stop at Rostock Ritz"

1 night Arrived 10 May 2010
"In the middle of nowhere, very interesting room design, a bit small but warm and cosy, Kuecki is a chef and the food is excellent.

Tame zebra - came for breakfast, and porcupine - came for dinner.

We were only there overnight but it was fun."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Villa Margherita

Villa Margherita

"Convenient loaction at Villa Margherita"

3 nights Arrived 11 May 2010
"We were given rooms in the main house. Queen was large but warm with a sitting area in the bathroom for some reason, King was a suite of 3 rooms, rather unnecessary for 2 of us, and rather cold. Bathrooms well kitted out, as were bedrooms, just needed a bit more thought. Electric blankets provided but no-where to plug them in unless you go out and buy an adaptor so you can have the light on as well.

Very cold when we were there but they wouldn't light the fire in the hall. TV only seemed to have 1, occasionally 2, channels, sport and film. Trying to be luxurius but needs more thought.

Ate there the first night but didn't really enjoy it. Food took a long time to come and we were rather cold so the waiting was painful.
Location convenient for town centre.

Small courtyard area pleasant. Staff very nice. Internet access available and being improved."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Terrace Bay

Terrace Bay

"Terrace Bay better than expected"

1 night Arrived 14 May 2010
"The 4 of us were given the VIP house, with 5 bedrooms, 3 bathrooms, etc, DSTV with all channels.

Food was really nice and staff very helpful and friendly. Write-ups run the place down as a bit rough but actually it's fine, and we were very pleasantly surprised. The only place to stay if you want to see this area of the Skeleton Coast anyway."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"The dreadful Doro Nawas"

2 nights Arrived 15 May 2010
"Design: lodge looked ugly and bleak, with a steep, stony path leading up to it. If the idea was to not spoil the surroundings, why not build it into the hill instead of on top?

Rooms were nice except for 2 things: first, ours faced west and started to get sunshine by lunchtime so it was too hot to sit on the verandah or even back in the room and the place was therefore very hot at night. Facing East would have been such a nice thing.
Secodly, as a group of 4 we got 2 adjoining tents, which was fine, except that Wilderness had decided to save money on plumbing and put the toilets for the 2 tents adjacent to each other separated only by a window in the canvas! Quite a surprise to walk into your toilet to see your friend through the gauze window!

Manageress did not have a clue about looking after guests and the staff were not well trained, though pleasant. When we arrived we were given what seemed to be the standard half hour lecture on the lodge and what we could and couldn't do - before we were allowed to go to our rooms. On the second evening, they had lit several fires in the dining area, on an already very hot day. Before we passed out I requested a dinner table outside and you would have thought I had asked for the lodge to be moved down the hill, it was going to be so much trouble! I noticed they let the fires die down, once they had found the windiest place to set our table!

Food: pretty bad, including a potjie with bones and gristle but no meat that we could find.

Guiding: we went on one drive on the day we arrived. had to leave 30 mins late as the manageress hadn't finished her lecture, but were charged in full. The guide was very pleasant but had not guided here before and had received no training, so could not identify birds or vegetation."
Poor
Location
Average
Service
Poor
Activities
Poor
Rooms
Average
Food
Poor
Facilities
Average
Etosha Safari Lodge

Etosha Safari Lodge

"Comfortable base at Etosha Safari Lodge"

1 night Arrived 17 May 2010
"Despite being a large camp, the individual bungalows all look out onto woodland and are fairly well spaced. The rooms are well designed with small balconies, tea & coffee, good lighting, air con, etc.

Food was good, and staff were friendly and helpful without being fussy. The place was generally well organised.

Pity the place isn't in the Park."
Good
Location
Average
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Standard government-run accom at Okaukuejo"

1 night Arrived 18 May 2010
"Rooms small but warm, with nice beds & bedding, tea & coffeee facilities, plus mosquito nets. Not very nice setting though.
Food was as bad as you'd expect from a government-run camp.

We tried one of their night drives, expensive at 60 pounds per person. The middle row of seats was set at such a height that all one could see was the top of the windscreen and the sun visor. After less than 2 of the 3 hour drive the 2nd spotlight failed so we could only see in fron of us. The guide was not very informative and failed to stop for interesting animals - except, of course, lions. Very dull and not recommended."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Poor
Activities
Poor
Rooms
Average
Food
Poor
Facilities
Average
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

"Pampering at Mushara Bush Camp"

2 nights Arrived 19 May 2010
"Beautifully designed lodge and chalets, with many little thoughful extras. Very comfortable tents, set out in the bush. Food was delicious and beautifully presented. Pity they didn't have good stocks of wine though.

Hot water bottles in the feather covered beds were heaven.

Staff were all very helpful and pleasant.

A place for relaxing."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Waterberg Camp

Waterberg Camp

"Waterberg Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 21 May 2010
"A good stay, mainly as we could walk, after days in a car in Etosha. Though in fact there are not many walks and we had done them in half a day.

Bungalows basically fine but no frills except kettle & tea & coffee. We were 2 couples in one car but they separated us by one bungalow - which was never occupied.

Simple food was OK, but the chef seemed to be having a couple of bad days. Don't ask for poached eggs unless you want them cooked in vinegar! Staff were friendly and helpful.

It was a pity that there was no information about the plants, animals or birds in the area, even to buy."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Poor
Facilities
Average
Image alt

Elisenheim Guest Farm

"Elisenheim Guesthouse past its prime"

3 nights Arrived 23 May 2010
"This was probably OK, if basic, at one time but the owners aren't really interested any more. They even recommend you to go and eat elsewhere.

Rooms were old fashioned and the bottom sheet was missing, only a mattress cover.

The bar was quite well stocked except there was no wine. The food was plain, one dinner was OK, the other not. We were only there because I had forgotten to change the booking to River Crossing Lodge. Absolutely no comparision!

Though, if you chose a time when there were no groups on horseback there were some nice places to walk. There is a big development starting, between the main road and the guesthouse, it looks like a small town, so the guesthouse won't even be peacful in a few years."
Poor
Location
Average
Service
Poor
Facilities
Poor
Rooms
Poor
Food
Poor

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team