This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Rostock Ritz
Rostock Ritz
Rostock Ritz
Rostock Ritz
Rostock Ritz

Reviews of Rostock Ritz

Wildlife sightings and reviews

44 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Rostock Ritz and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2019, 6 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Rostock Ritz.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Oryx

83% success

Zebra

67% success

Meerkat

25% success

Aardvark

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Giraffe

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Wildebeest

0% success

Showing 21-30 of 44
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs B
Hampshire

"Heavenly Rostock Ritz"

2 nights Arrived 30 Sep 2013
"Disabled persons review: This lodge specifically caters for the disabled with ramps and two designated rooms for the disabled.

My husband describes this lodge as paradise on earth and for once I wouldn't disagree with him.
Following a swim in the pool, I spent a lazy afternoon in a hammock looking at the fabulous view.

The rescued meerkats that live here were fun to watch with their almost human mannerisms.
Great to dine in a restaurant where you have a good choice of dishes after several days of set menus consisting of grilled springbok, kudu, etc.

Good to see owner of lodge mixing with the guests and pleasant to have the staff come and chat to you in the evening after dinner.

The lodge is ideally placed for breaking up a trip between Sossusvlei and the coast but please stay longer than the one night. This lodge is definitely on the list for our next visit.

Our only suggestion for improvement would be to have tea/coffee facilities in the room." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 9n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs J
Munich

"Rostock Ritz"

2 nights Arrived 13 Sep 2013
"This was a stopover on our way to Swakopmund. The staff were very friendly.

One night is enough. There is not a lot to do. Rooms are quite small and dark." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Average
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
The H family
Farnham

"Rostock Ritz review"

1 night Arrived 9 Aug 2013
"Set on a ridge after a 10Km drive in from the main road the site looked impressive. The igloo style rooms were very well appointed, comfortable with great views.

The dining and bar areas looked very good and the food was excellent. Staff were very helpful. The tame (but fairly vicious) Zebra and the Meerkat rehabilitation area were pleasant bonuses.

A dawn walk along one of their trails led to the plains below the lodge where a large herd of Zebra were feeding." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs T
Bristol

"Rostock Ritz review"

2 nights Arrived 22 Jul 2013
"We returned to Rostock after a stay here 10 years ago and it is as good as ever! Lana and Walter were excellent hosts, very attentive and keen that we should enjoy our stay.

They have developed independent walking routes from the lodge which were well signposted and we took advantage of three of these. There is a large enclosure that has been developed for meerkats that have been 'rescued' from their owners who no longer want them and this was a good opportunity to see them close up and to observe the daily feeding." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
N Hants

"Rostock Ritz review"

2 nights Arrived 3 Jun 2013
"fabulous place. we were given an upgraded room which was excellent. kucki and staff very helpful. food was great. we were given advice about the walks which was helpful and went on a game drive which was enjoyable and informative." See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia; 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr M & Ms J
UK

"Good overnight stop"

1 night Arrived 8 Apr 2013
"Unusual rooms but felt very small and dark after all our tented experiences." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Family A
New Zealand

"Rostock Ritz review"

1 night Arrived 29 Dec 2012
"Superb location and outlook.

The children loved the meercats and swimming pool

A great place to stop on route to Soussusvlei

Very freindly and accommodating" See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs M
Suffolk

"Meerkats at Rostock Ritz"

1 night Arrived 11 Oct 2012
"Rostock Ritz was an enforced stop as we could not drive from Tok Tokkie to Swakopmund in daylight hours. The rooms here are individual igloos designed to be cool in the hottest weather. The owner was very welcoming and nothing could be faulted with an excellent menu choice for the evening meal; ostrich steak for me and hake for my wife.

The delight here though are the Meerkats and if you were not lucky enough to see them in the wild then you can see them here. They run a rehabilitation unit rescuing Meerkats that have outgrown their owners since the locals like to keep them as pets. There were four here on our visit and equally as charming as we have seen on our television screens. Perhaps all the others are selling insurance in the UK!

A brisk morning walk just after sun rise brought us to a herd of very timid Hartmann's mountain zebra. All in all a grate stop over." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr P, Mrs A & Mr W
UK

"Rostock Ritz review"

1 night Arrived 24 Aug 2012
"We weren't expecting much from this night - it was in the itinerary really just to have somewhere to break the journey on the way to Sossusvlei, but what a treat! The landscape is absolutely stunning, and the drive up through the mountains had been tough but the scenery was majestic.

The accommodation itself was unique - spacious and well appointed. The staff were very friendly and it was clearly very popular with Namibians. It's run by Kucki and his family, whose pub in Swakopmund is now such an institution, and as he walks the floor attentively and keeps the staff busy, it's clear why that place became such a success.

The meerkat rehab area was unmissable for our 5 year old. We also had a very enjoyable dawn walk in the hills to see the mountain zebra." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr F & Mrs A
UK

"Beautiful Rostock Ritz"

1 night Arrived 13 Feb 2012
"A delightful place to stop-over on a long journey, one to which we would return for a longer stay. All the staff were friendly and interested in what we wanted to do.

As we were there only overnight we did not do activities but looked upon it as a welcome and indulgent rest. The pool area is a dream, both during the day and at night for star-gazing" See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Showing 21-30 of 44
90%
44 reviews of Rostock Ritz by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
26
13
5
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Namib-Naukluft National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

The comfortable Kulala Desert Lodge offers fantastic views of the Namib and a private gate to the Namib-Naukluft Park - a bonus on guided excursions.


92% (353 reviews)
Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge

The owner-run Hoodia Desert Lodge offers a high standard of accommodation, delicious food and excellent service in a stunning, peaceful setting just 22km from Sesriem.


97% (208 reviews)
BullsPort Lodge and Farm

BullsPort Lodge & Farm

A traditional Namibian farm, BullsPort offers warm hospitality and a genuine rural experience, with excellent hiking and horseriding.


89% (193 reviews)
Sossus Dune Lodge

Sossus Dune Lodge

One of only two properties inside the Namib Naukluft Park, Sossus Dune Lodge has a superb location, for visiting the dunes.


89% (139 reviews)
Desert Homestead

Desert Homestead

With great-value accommodation in a lovely setting, Desert Homestead is a great base for exploring Sossusvlei.


91% (105 reviews)
Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge offers a range of hikes around the Tsaris Mountains from a comfortable and homely base.


91% (94 reviews)
Little Kulala

Little Kulala

A high-end lodge with spectacular views, Little Kulala, makes a great base for visits to Sossusvlei or a balloon ride over the Desert.


98% (73 reviews)
Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat is a welcoming lodge close to the impressive Spreetshoogte Pass, majors on hiking and relaxation.


94% (40 reviews)
Sossusvlei Lodge

Sossusvlei Lodge

Sossusvlei Lodge is one of the larger options in this area. However, it occupies a convenient location next to the Sesriem gate into the Namib-Naukluft Park.


92% (34 reviews)
Namib Outpost

Namib Outpost

About 30km from the gate to Sossusveli, Namib Outpost is a great base for exploring the dunes and surrounding attractions.


97% (20 reviews)
Dead Valley Lodge

Dead Valley Lodge

Dead Valley Lodge is inside the Namib-Naukluft National Park, affording guests almost unprecedented access to the dunes.


88% (18 reviews)
Desert Camp

Desert Camp

Desert Camp is an economical option for independent travellers who want to self-cater, and is well situated for access to Sossusvlei.


93% (15 reviews)
Desert Quiver Camp

Desert Quiver Camp

Desert Quiver Camp is an economical option self-catering, well located for access to Sossusvlei.


98% (10 reviews)
Elegant Desert Lodge

Elegant Desert Lodge

Elegant Desert Lodge can be used as a base to visit Sossusvlei. It offers comfortable accommodation and facilities in the desert.


74% (7 reviews)
Corona Guest Farm

Corona Guest Farm

In central Namibia, north-east of the Namib-Naukluft, Corona Guest Farm offers a traditional farm stay and rugged hiking.


97% (7 reviews)
Namib Desert Lodge

Namib Desert Lodge

Namib Desert Lodge is a good budget option in the Namib-Naukluft although, it is further from Sossusvlei than we'd typically suggest.


100% (3 reviews)
Sonop

Sonop

Away from the hustle and bustle of the area immediately surrounding Sossussvlei, Sonop offers a luxurious stay in a remote part of the Namib Desert.


100% (3 reviews)
Namib Naukluft Lodge

Namib Naukluft Lodge

Namib Naukluft Lodge offers clean, comfortable rooms with pretty views, although it's 60km from the Sesriem Gate into the Namib-Naukluft Park.


80% (3 reviews)
Camp Sossus

Camp Sossus

Camp Sossus is a offers top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of the Naukluft Mountains with easy access to the famous dunes of Sossusvlei.


100% (2 reviews)
Le Mirage Lodge

Le Mirage Lodge

Le Mirage Resort and Spa offers accommodation and a range of massage and beauty treatments in a Moroccan-style building in the desert.


80% (2 reviews)
Solitaire Country Lodge

Solitaire Country Lodge

Solitaire Country Lodge is a good stop-off on the way to Sossusvlei and can be used as a base to explore the Naukluft Mountains.


70% (2 reviews)
Desert Hills Glamping Camp

Desert Hills Camp

Conveniently located for the renowned dunes of Sossusvlei Desert Hills Glamping Camp offers a simple but comfortable tents in picturesque surroundings.


90% (2 reviews)
Desert Grace

Desert Grace

A stylish offering giving access to the famous dunes in the Namib-Naukluft National Park as well as to activities on a private nature reserve.


100% (1 review)
The Nest at Sossus

The Nest

Designed to emulate the appearance of a sociable weaver nest the opulent Nest at Sossus is arguably the most exclusive private property in the Sossuvlei area.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa