This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by The H family from Farnham

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

7

Excursions taken

2

Namibian adventure

Namibia between 5 Aug 2013 and 19 Aug 2013

Trip rating: Excellent
"Sabina was always very helpful and came up with some great suggestions. Everything ran like clockwork and there were no nasty surprises or problems.

Nearly all our accommodation and activities exceeded our expectations. It is very rare when that happens!

I would strongly recommend Expert Africa to our friends. Well done!

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

Driving time calculator for sites in Namibia?"

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


BullsPort Lodge & Farm

BullsPort Lodge & Farm

"Bullsport Guest Farm review"

1 night Arrived 6 Aug 2013
"Large, clean and comfortable rooms in location looking up at mountains. Friendly and helpful owners who you eat with at dinner.

Owners run a huge farm which must be challenging so they do well to cope with questions from European 'townies'.

There is quite a lot of wildlife round the guest house and we were disappointed that we were unable to take advantage of the larger hikes into the mountains."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Desert Homestead

Desert Homestead

"Desert Homestead review"

2 nights Arrived 7 Aug 2013
"We used Desert Homestead for their horse riding services. Our daughters are keen riders and we booked a two day ride and camp out which the excellent Megan as guide. We all agree that this was the best family trip ever!

The horses were all in good condition and while my wife and I were beginners our children were still able to gallop across huge plains surrounded by fantastically coloured mountains. The three hour ride culminated at sunset with the children galloping in with a herd of Oryx! The camp was in an idyllic spot set up under a weavers nest and overlooking the plain and mountains. Food, BBQ and drinks awaited us and a moon free night sky of amazing brilliance completed a perfect day.

The next day my wife and got a lift back to the lodge allowing Megan and our daughters to whiz back in under half the time it took us to hack out. The lodge was attractive and the service and food good. The rooms were well appointed, but draughty in the gale that was blowing."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Rostock Ritz

Rostock Ritz

"Rostock Ritz review"

1 night Arrived 9 Aug 2013
"Set on a ridge after a 10Km drive in from the main road the site looked impressive. The igloo style rooms were very well appointed, comfortable with great views.

The dining and bar areas looked very good and the food was excellent. Staff were very helpful. The tame (but fairly vicious) Zebra and the Meerkat rehabilitation area were pleasant bonuses.

A dawn walk along one of their trails led to the plains below the lodge where a large herd of Zebra were feeding."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse

"Cornerstone Guesthouse review"

3 nights Arrived 10 Aug 2013
"The guesthouse was much more upmarket than we were expecting. The rooms were large, well appointed, clean and very comfortable.

The gardens were neat colourful and well kept. Breakfast was very good. Peter was particularly helpful and went out of his way to assist when I struggled to obtain cash from the local ATM. Restaurants are all within 5 minutes walk.

While in Swakop my daughters all went skydiving with Ground Rush Adventures. They were excellent. We would also strongly recommend the lay down sand boarding company Expert Africa use. It was great fun and much more exhilarating than expected. We achieved 64kph!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Coast and Sandwich Harbour

Coast and Sandwich Harbour

"Turnstone Tours"

11 Aug 2013 • All-day excursion

Lovely tour to Sandwich Bay along the skeleton coast. Stunning scenery and birdlife seen plus a seal, three dolphins, jackals and more.

Lunch on the dunes and the dune rides were great fun.
Good
Kayaking with seals

Kayaking with seals

"Jeanne was great!"

12 Aug 2013 • Morning excursion

A real gem of a trip. Jeanne was excellent and very easy going and provided waterproof top and trousers plus wet shoes. The kayaks were very stable and dry and the total distance travelled would have been under 500m so you do not need any kayaking or fitness skills.

The seals were great and after they got used to you would allow you to rub their bellies or they would chew the end of the paddle. One was a bit naughty and would nip your clothes, but in a playful way. The seals are all around you in large numbers the whole time. The experience is a real close encounter with very friendly wildlife backed up by a very knowledgable Jeanne.

Much, much better than the boat trip.
Excellent
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"Desert Elephant safari"

2 nights Arrived 13 Aug 2013
"The rooms were large and stunning with a fantastic panoramic view of distant mountains. The wheel out beds were great; even in winter! The stars were fantastic to watch while lying wrapped up warm. Staff were great fun and very good with excellent food. Make use of the courtyard seat round the fire at night.

The Desert Elephant Safari with Ryan was a highlight. It took Ryan a long time to locate the elephants but once found we spent a good time viewing them and learning about them. The scenery we saw during the search was great.

We would also recommend the living museum which is about 5-10 minuted drive."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Dolomite Camp

Dolomite Camp

"Dolomite Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 15 Aug 2013
"Great location overlooking plains. Always wildlife visible with lions visiting the waterhole twice while we were staying. Rooms very up market and all with great views. Room 13 has good views of the waterhole and two others may have views but I do not think you can book specific rooms.

Bar and pool area fantastic and well appointed restaurant. For us service at restaurant was slow, largely down to the member of staff serving. That aside the food was good and all the staff very friendly and helpful. We would certainly visit again.

Driving round the waterholes was easy and a lot of wildlife seen, especially elephant and giraffe. At the moment you will not see many other cars in western Etosha, although it looks like they are about to open this area up for more tourists."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 17 Aug 2013
"Excellent location for eastern Etosha and the floodlit waterhole was great fun. Our rooms were large, clean and good quality. The restaurant is OK but tends to run out of food! The shop is dreadful, poorly stocked and missing most of the products you want. Most rooms have BBQ facilities but the shop does not stock enough to have a BBQ! If possible bring in fuel and food for BBQ, alternatively visit the restaurant and arrange for them to provide food and salad for a charge.

Waterholes round the camp were very productive. We saw 11 lions, elephant black and white rhino and much more. Get up at dawn to try and find the lion! Worth visiting due to location, but not the same quality as some lodges."
Average
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Facilities
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team