This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs J from Munich

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

10

Excursions taken

1

My Sep 2013 trip

Namibia between 9 Sep 2013 and 30 Sep 2013

Trip rating: Excellent
"The advice we received from Gwynneth was excellent (even if we did not always follow it - and in retrospect wish we had). She showed great persistence in getting our places booked, even when they were already full.

When things went wrong during our trip (cancelled booking due to error of local agent) she negotiated on our behalf and we received a very good upgrade. Gwynneth took the trouble of calling us and keeping us well informed through this process.

The whole experience in selecting the itinerary, booking and organising the trip was very professional and from our point of view straightforward. This was our first time in Africa, and the ease of booking (even from Germany) will mean we will look into booking with Expert Africa again in the future."

Olive Grove

Olive Grove

"Olive Grove Review"

1 night Arrived 9 Sep 2013
"Very friendly and helpful staff. We were offered breakfast on arrival (before 9am) and got into our room within half an hour! Which was very much appreciated.

A room with a separate bathroom would have suited us better."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge

"Hoodia Desert Lodge"

3 nights Arrived 10 Sep 2013
"Celebrated our wedding anniversary here; staff helped make this special. Owner was very friendly and attentive; took the time to book recommended restaurants for us in Swakupmund. Would definitely go back.

Day trip to Sossusvlei was excellent; very good guide."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Average
Ballooning in the Namib Desert

Ballooning in the Namib Desert

"Balloon Trip"

12 Sep 2013 • Morning excursion

First attempt on our anniversary was abandoned due to wind. Apparently this happens 30 times per year, just our luck. We rebooked with no problems for the next day.

The trip was excellent! Airborne for over an hour with John as pilot. He even rotated the balloon so we all had chance to get good photos!

Breakfast was spectacular.
Excellent
Rostock Ritz

Rostock Ritz

"Rostock Ritz"

2 nights Arrived 13 Sep 2013
"This was a stopover on our way to Swakopmund. The staff were very friendly.

One night is enough. There is not a lot to do. Rooms are quite small and dark."
Average
Location
Average
Service
Good
Activities
Average
Rooms
Poor
Food
Good
Facilities
Average
Image alt

Central Guest House, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Central Guest House"

2 nights Arrived 15 Sep 2013
"Stayed in the family room in the annex building. Bathroom had some mould on the walls and the place had a damp feel and smell. Didn't feel the need to mention this as we only stayed 2 nights.

Staff were very friendly and booked a trip for us. Breakfast excellent."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Poor
Food
Excellent
Brandberg White Lady Lodge

Brandberg White Lady Lodge

"Brandberg White Lady Lodge"

1 night Arrived 17 Sep 2013
"Original room was dirty and very badly maintained. The windows were cracked and there were bare electrical connections visible. The whole place had a feeling of neglect. We complained and were offered a 'studio' room instead. This was better and acceptable.

Trip did not run due to lack of animals to see. Compensated by the cute meerkats around the pool.

The evening meal (buffet) was simple but good. The staff were friendly."
Poor
Location
Average
Service
Average
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Terrible
Food
Good
Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani Mountain Camp

"Mowani Mountain Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 18 Sep 2013
"Sundowner location was excellent, with good drinks service! Charles was our waiter for the final two days, and helped make our stay very enjoyable.

Elephant trip was fantastic. Organ pipes / rock paintings trip is better to do by yourself.

Beautiful place! We loved our stay. Three nights were perfect. We would certainly go back!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge

"Vingerklip Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 21 Sep 2013
"The grounds have a feel of "The House of Usher".
Small rooms but great view.
Swimmingpools not very well maintained. Parts of the facilities were closed.
Eagles Nest Restaurant was nice - great views and simple but very tasty food.
Restaurant on site was poor and the service non existent!
One night would have been more than enough.
Safe had no battery and despite our many complaints not repaired in three days."
Average
Location
Average
Service
Terrible
Facilities
Terrible
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Little Ongava

Little Ongava

"Little Ongava Paradise"

2 nights Arrived 23 Sep 2013
"We did not want to leave! Absolutely fantastic and exceedingly friendly and accommodating staff.

We were originally booked into the Okaukuejo Camp, but due to a local hiccup our reservation was cancelled. Our Expert Africa rep (Gwynneth) managed to negotiate this upgrade for us to this fantastic place - thanks!

Amazing trips with very knowledgeable guides (esp. Franco). If you get the chance go on the White Rhino Tracking Walk.

A 5 star place indeed."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

"Mushara Bush Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 25 Sep 2013
"Tents are quite hot. Great swimming pool. Very tasteful furniture in the communal area.
Not the best guide, but adequate.

Checking out took a long time because the CC terminal was not working even after many attempts. Eventually we had to drive to their sister camp, the Outpost to pay. Even here we had to pay with a different card."
Average
Location
Poor
Service
Average
Activities
Poor
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 27 Sep 2013
"If you like walking then this is a good place for a couple of nights. 2WD cars are parked at a distance from the site needing a 4WD pickup - can give a feeling of remoteness.

Celebrated birthday there, but outside veranda was already filled very early for dinner. Needed to ask for a table to be 'specially' placed outside otherwise we would have had to eat alone inside :-( but we got a birthday cake :-)

Very hot place with no escape from the heat.
Great trip to the cave paintings."
Good
Location
Average
Service
Good
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Average

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team