This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs T from Bristol

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

10

Excursions taken

0

My Jul 2013 trip

Namibia between 17 Jul 2013 and 6 Aug 2013

Trip rating: Excellent
"We have had a wonderful holiday and are already looking forward to another visit to Namibia in the future.

We appreciated Angela's detailed knowledge and expertise. She provided us with good advice and helped with the booking of every aspect of the holiday to ensure it was a success. Many thanks."

Villa Violet

Villa Violet

"Villa Violet review"

1 night Arrived 18 Jul 2013
"We had a very warm welcome from Ben and Heidi. This was a really good and convenient place to stay in Windhoek after an overnight flight because it is on the airport side of the city.

We ate at Am Weinberg on Ben's advice which was excellent."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 19 Jul 2013
"We stayed at Okaukuejo Camp 10 years ago and the accommodation and restaurant are much improved.

We had two fabulous evenings at the waterhole and saw a herd of 40 elephants, 11 giraffes, 7 rhinos, lots of springbok etc. Would recommend staying here because the waterhole is such an attraction for animals at this time of year in the dry season."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 21 Jul 2013
"We were given a very warm welcome by the managers Rosella and Volte. We were the only people at Erongo on the night we stayed so were upgraded to the honeymoon suite!

We wished we had booked 2 nights here because the location was stunning and service excellent. We enjoyed a guided sundowner walk up a kopje near the lodge and also a guided sunrise walk with Simon who was an excellent and knowledgable guide."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rostock Ritz

Rostock Ritz

"Rostock Ritz review"

2 nights Arrived 22 Jul 2013
"We returned to Rostock after a stay here 10 years ago and it is as good as ever! Lana and Walter were excellent hosts, very attentive and keen that we should enjoy our stay.

They have developed independent walking routes from the lodge which were well signposted and we took advantage of three of these. There is a large enclosure that has been developed for meerkats that have been 'rescued' from their owners who no longer want them and this was a good opportunity to see them close up and to observe the daily feeding."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
BullsPort Lodge & Farm

BullsPort Lodge & Farm

"Bullsport Guest Farm review"

3 nights Arrived 24 Jul 2013
"We had a really interesting stay at Bullsport and enjoyed eating en famille with Ernst and Johanna and their staff plus other guests. They serve lots of game and more traditional Namibian dishes which are not necessarily available elsewhere and it was an interesting insight into life at a cattle, game and stud farm.

There are a series of walking trails from the farm and we did several of these, the best being the circular walk through the Quiver Tree gorge which was stunning. Trails were of varying lengths and well marked from the farm."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Wolwedans Dunes Lodge

Wolwedans Dunes Lodge

"Wolwedans Dunes Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 27 Jul 2013
"The lodge was in an amazing location with terrific views. The tented chalets bar and restaurant were luxuriously appointed.

We appreciated the hot water bottles each night because it was cold in the evenings. Food was very european in style but excellent.

We enjoyed sitting around the log fire wrapped in blankets talking to other guests before and after dinner each evening."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Zum Sperrgebiet Seaview Hotel, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Zum Sperrgebiet Seaview Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 29 Jul 2013
"The hotel was very modern without any character but it was in a very convenient location and we were able to walk down to the harbour front for a meal each evening.

From Luderitz we went to Kolmanskop - well worth a visit. We also did a boat trip out to Halifax island where we saw penguins, dolphins, seals and flamingos not to mention a great variety of sea birds. Using the Bradt Guide we followed the suggested walking tour of the town which was an interesting activity for a couple of hours.

Luderitz Safaris on Bismarck Street were very helpful when we purchased the permit for visiting Kolmanskop and the boat tickets."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Fish River Lodge

Fish River Lodge

"Fish River Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 31 Jul 2013
"This lodge is in the most amazing location on the rim of the canyon and we loved it! We enjoyed the sunrise and sunset walks around the rim of the canyon.

Tea, coffee and cake are complimentary mid afternoon."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Central Lodge

Central Lodge

"Central Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 3 Aug 2013
"We were given a self catering apartment which was clean but basic. The staff on reception were very off hand when we arrived but we found all other staff to be courteous and attentive. We ate in the evening at Central Lodge and the food was fine, breakfast was basic but perfectly acceptable.

From here we visited the Giants Playground and Quiver Tree Forest which are very close to the town and both were excellent visits.

When we bought the permit for the Quiver Tree Forest at Greganius Farm we discovered that the farmer had 4 cheetah which were fed daily at 4.00pm (this is not in any guide book) so we went to the feeding session and, with other visitors, were allowed into the enclosure to get up very close to the cheetahs!"
Average
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
River Crossing

River Crossing

"River Crossing review"

1 night Arrived 4 Aug 2013
"A very convenient place to stay en route back to Windhoek airport at the end of the holiday."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team