This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mrs J. from Sussex

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

9

Excursions taken

0

1 - 18 October trip overall

Namibia between 1 Oct 2018 and 17 Oct 2018

Trip rating: Excellent
"Overall we had a wonderful time and were grateful for the advice, recommendations and help with planning from Expert Africa..

Fuel stations were frequent and mostly took cards by staff at the pumps. The lodges were very well appointed with soap, shampoo, hairdryers, dressing gowns and fridges (not at Grootberg). Not all lodges provided laundry facilities, despite an indication that they would (under exclusions) on the itinerary.

We were travelling with friends who had their own car so bought walkie talkies which were very useful together with a free road map app that my husband downloaded to his phone which didn't need internet and it was invaluable. Highly recommend the app. We drove 2,500 kms, mostly on dirt roads, some better than others.

We thought all the tours (with the exception of Grootberg) were very good value with knowledgeable guides who certainly didn't clock watch. Staff were always helpful and friendly, the food was variable and the wine good quality and value."

Olive Grove

Olive Grove

"Olive Grove"

2 nights Arrived 1 Oct 2018
"We very much enjoyed our 3 nights at Olive Grove. The rooms were spacious, attractively decorated and comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful, the breakfasts were good but the dinners not so good as the meat was very tough. It was game or chicken and disappointing. There were no activities as we were using it as a base at the beginning and end of our trip. and it worked very well."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

"Kulala Desert Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 3 Oct 2018
"Delightful welcome from staff with cold towels and cold drink. Beautiful property with wonderful views of the dunes from the rooms which are well-appointed, attractively decorated and comfortable. Enjoyed a swim in the very chilly pool. Good meals taken on the terrace with excellent merlot included. Great views of the waterhole.

Next day an excellent tour to the dunes with a very knowledgeable and interesting guide (Rocky).

Highly recommend a stay here."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Villa Margherita

Villa Margherita

"Villa Margherita"

2 nights Arrived 5 Oct 2018
"A German townhouse attractively decorated in the middle of Swakupmond. We only had breakfasts but they were good.

We went to Sandwich Bay with Turnstone Tours. It was a good day out but it would have been better if they had called us to say that we should start an hour earlier because of the tides. As it was, we had a short time at the Bay and a hair-raising journey along the coast to beat the incoming tide. I have written to Turnstone about this."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani Mountain Camp

"Mowani Mountain Camp"

2 nights Arrived 7 Oct 2018
"A lovely thatched tent with amazing views. Charming staff for whom nothing was too much trouble. Sundowner set up on cushions on the rocks was spectacular. Excellent dinner (pork).

Very good tour the next day with excellent, informative guide (Vargee) who found the elephants we were hoping to see. Learnt a lot from him about the local and national culture."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Grootberg Lodge

Grootberg Lodge

"Grootberg Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 9 Oct 2018
"We opted to be driven up the steep approach to the Lodge. Not very attractive dining area with a very small sitting area for guests unless they go outside onto the terrace. The rooms were small with no fans or a/c (no electric points). The walking tour and biking could not take place because of lions near the property. We had to be escorted back to our cabins after dinner. The pathways were very uneven and treacherous, especially for someone who uses a stick. We took the afternoon tour around the plateau but it wasn't very interesting. Next day we went on the rhino tracking tour. We were told we would be collected from our cabin at 5.30am because of the lion, but no one turned up. Luckily our mobile worked and we were able to call reception but it made us late for the start of the tour. It was very long and, at times, unbearably bumpy. The trackers did find the rhino. Then a long bumpy drive back. The guides did not sit with us at lunch so we weren't able to ask all the questions that we had wanted to. Spectacular scenery and stunning infinity pool. Delightful staff who sang beautifully after dinner one evening."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Average
Activities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Facilities
Average
Safarihoek Lodge

Safarihoek Lodge

"Safarihoek Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 11 Oct 2018
"Arrived to a warm welcome with cold towels and drink. Lovely large room with indoor and outdoor shower and amazing views over the waterhole. Joined afternoon drive with an exceptionally good guide (Mike) when we saw large numbers of animals and birds. Enjoyed a sundowner out in the bush with giraffes looking on!

Next day an wonderful tour, again with Mike when we saw great variety of animals. We thoroughly enjoyed our tour and time spent afterwards with Mike and other staff. Unfortunately dinners were not great - tough pork and eland. Breakfasts were very good."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost

"Mushara Outpost"

2 nights Arrived 13 Oct 2018
"Drove through Etosha on our way to Mushara and were very disappointed in the lack of animals. Enjoyed a warm welcome at beautiful Mushara. The architecture and decor are stunning. Our room was well-appointed and very comfortable. The pool was cold and refreshing. Enjoyed a short time at the hide. Excellent dinner the first night. Better luck in Etosha the next day and a good lunch back at Mushara. BBQ for dinner all beautifully laid out in the BBQ area but the meat was dry and tough. A very enjoyable stay."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Cheetah View Lodge

Cheetah View Lodge

"Cheetah View Lodge"

1 night Arrived 15 Oct 2018
"Good accommodation with sitting room, balcony overlooking the bush and comfortable bed. Interesting to learn about their work with the cheetahs and the dogs but the walking tour was a bit disappointing as the animals were all asleep under trees. An indifferent dinner (ran out of gin and tonic) and disappointing breakfast - lack of cereal choice, overcooked eggs.

Overall, a good stopping place between Etosha and Windhoek."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Average
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Facilities
Average
Olive Grove

Olive Grove

"Olive Grove"

1 night Arrived 16 Oct 2018
"Good place for a last night. See previous entry."
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team