This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
GocheGanas
GocheGanas
GocheGanas

Reviews of GocheGanas

Wildlife sightings and reviews

36 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited GocheGanas and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2018, 9 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at GocheGanas.
Leopard

0% success

Giraffe

100% success

White Rhino

75% success

Wildebeest

75% success

Zebra

75% success

Eland

67% success

Oryx

63% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 21-30 of 36
Duration
Arrival date
Drs L & J Whitley
UK

"Excellent lodge, great accommodation & staff"

1 night Arrived 19 Dec 2015
"Gocheganas was a great place for us to start our holiday, not too far from Windhoek after our flights. The accommodation was huge and luxurious, with beautiful views - our boys (9 and 5) had an annex to themselves!

The food was great and the staff were very friendly - it was a lovely place to introduce ourselves to Namibia. We went on one of their safaris and saw Giraffe drinking and a couple of Rhino before sundowners watching Giraffe.

The swimming pool was great, although kids are only allowed to use the outdoor pool, which wasn't really any hardship." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs & Mr S
Kent

"Gocheganas Lodge & Spa review"

2 nights Arrived 13 Sep 2015
"Max and I were given the family room so the facilities were wonderful and exceeded our expectations. Very relaxing spa/pool facilities.

Wonderful views and great food." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs R
Newport

"A wonderful first night stop"

1 night Arrived 11 Sep 2015
"It was a perfect introduction to the lodges we would be using during our two week stay.

Fantastic views, lovely chalet and excellent bar and restaurant area. From our chalet balcony we saw Giraffe, Buffalo, Ostrich, Springbok.

Definitely should have stayed more than one night." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr P & Dr S
Italy

"Super"

2 nights Arrived 14 Aug 2015
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr F & Ms G
Surrey

"Unexpected peace 30km south of Windhoek"

1 night Arrived 13 Mar 2015
"This makes a great place to stop either on your first night or your last night in Namibia. It's about an hour and a half from the airport with the last part on a gravel road but it's worth it. A spa on top of a hill in the middle of the green Namibian countryside, with exceedingly comfortable rooms, good food and amazing wildlife. Unless you are totally jaded, take the evening game drive.

We did and saw warthogs, wildebeeste, giraffe, eland, meerkats, a fish eagle, zebra, harfebeest, kori bustard and moorhens. The driver was quite apologetic that we failed to find the rhino! We stayed only one night but two would have been better. There is a very smart swimming pool, massages available or you could just sit on your balcony and look out over the umpteen hectares of greenery, trying to spot the giraffes!" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr K & Mrs N
UK

"Gocheganas Lodge & Spa review"

1 night Arrived 20 Jul 2014
"Reasonable distance from the airport (approx 1 hour ) which made this perfect for our last night before our flight home. We had a hot stones massage which was wonderfully relaxing, very good dinner and went on an early morning drive before breakfast.

Armstrong our guide was very knowledgable and took us around the very large game ranch where we saw meerkats amongst many other game! The rooms are very nice - we had a lovely sunken bath and outdoor shower (our favourite). The pool and spa areas are very good, and the views from the terrace and bar are great." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr M & Ms H
UK

"gochegana lodge"

2 nights Arrived 27 Aug 2013
"Very warm welcome and helpful friendly staff. Lovely location on top of a hill with good views over the bush. Rooms nicely done and comfortable with private veranda.
The Spa facilities are very good.

The restaurant is very good and the food was excellent, and the cake in the afternoons was wonderful.
We went on a guided walk which was very informative. Plus, we did our own self guided walk following way markers. We saw some game on all the walks.

It is a great place to unwind and relax either after the flight on arrival, or before flying back home.
" See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 5n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs E
Gloucs

"An excellent lodge and spa"

1 night Arrived 8 Nov 2012
"It was very good to be out of Windhoek on our first night in Namibia (and frankly, it would have been even better if we had stayed two nights at Gocheganas to recover from the long journey. Lovely big chalets. Good massages and pedicures (although manicure did not last long !)." See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr B
Suffolk

"A final Flourish"

2 nights Arrived 13 Oct 2012
"We always love the accommodation here and the friendly, informative staff. The facilities tick all the boxes for the final days of a trip. Seeing giraffes and other wildlife as we walked around the reserve ourselves is always a delight and the pool and gym facilities are welcome.

The food is always enjoyable but the offering of a made to order 'stir fry' for our last night (because the lodge only had a few guests there was no dinner menu as such) was disappointing and seemed a bit 'lazy' and simple." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs W-J
UK

"Unwanted at the Elegant Farmstead"

1 night Arrived 18 Aug 2011
"We were not originally planned to stay here but did so as Elegant Farmstead ‘bumped’ us at the very last moment. We’re now glad they did!

You will be greeted at the gate to the property by the friendliest gate-keeper we have ever met and he will wave you off frantically when you leave. Gocheganas is set on the top of a hill 5km from the gate; you leave your car at the bottom and are driven up to the top. Suites are beautiful with enormous bed, sitting area with TV (Martin found the rugby immediately) and huge bathroom with a ‘bath with a view’. Private decks provide wonderful views of the valley and hills around.

Food was excellent as were all staff we encountered.

We took an evening game drive with Ambrosius. Whilst the reserve is not huge it holds a good number of animals and we were fortunate enough to get a great Mummy and Baby rhino sighting. Compared to other lodges the drive was very good value.
Gocheganas would make a good first or last night stop as, if you turn right on leaving the gate, ther’s a quick back way to the airport.
" See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia; 4n in Botswana; 3n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 21-30 of 36
94%
36 reviews of GocheGanas by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
27
8
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Windhoek

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Olive Grove

Olive Grove

In a quiet Windhoek suburb, Olive Grove is one of our favourite guesthouses: stylish, with a friendly, welcoming atmosphere and excellent food.


88% (339 reviews)
Galton House

Galton House

Galton House is a cool stylish sanctuary in a quiet suburb of Windhoek with a pool and restaurant.


90% (147 reviews)
Elegant Guesthouse

Elegant Guesthouse

The Elegant Guesthouse is a friendly, comfortable establishment with a lovely, tranquil garden, and is a good choice for an overnight stay in Windhoek.


86% (124 reviews)
River Crossing

River Crossing

On a game reserve between Windhoek and the airport, River Crossing is a convenient yet relaxing place to start or end a trip.


82% (115 reviews)
Haus Sonneneck

Haus Sonneneck

Haus Sonneneck was one of Windhoek's best pensions just a few minutes' drive away from the city centre, however it has now closed.


86% (102 reviews)
Villa Violet

Villa Violet

Villa Violet is a friendly, owner-run guesthouse in a residential area of Windhoek, just a few minutes' drive from the city centre and numerous restaurants.


90% (99 reviews)
Hilltop Guesthouse

Hilltop Guesthouse

A long-standing favourite, the small, owner-run Hilltop Guesthouse is comfortable, smart and good value.


91% (55 reviews)
Heinitzburg Hotel

Heinitzburg Hotel

One of the oldest hotels in Windhoek, the Heinitzberg occupies a great hill-top location but can feel like a relic of a bygone era.


85% (40 reviews)
Olive Exclusive

Olive Exclusive

The Olive Exclusive is perhaps Windhoek's most luxurious boutique hotel but remains a friendly and unpretentious place to stay.


95% (33 reviews)
Etango Ranch Guest Farm

Etango Ranch G. Farm

Etango offers simple, clean, comfortable accommodation and it’s the closest accommodation to Windhoek International Airport.


88% (21 reviews)
Immanuel Wilderness Lodge

Immanuel Wild'ss Lodge

Within easy reach of Windhoek, Immanuel Wilderness Lodge is a good overnight option for those who don't wish to stay in the city.


81% (17 reviews)
Rivendell Guesthouse

Rivendell Guesthouse

Rivendell Guesthouse offers great value, relaxed accommodation in a homely atmosphere with helpful and extremely friendly staff.


89% (17 reviews)
Sun Karros Daan Viljoen

Sun Karros Daan Viljoen

Situated within the Daan Viljoen Nature reserve Sun Karros is a simple lodge with gentle game viewing and bird watching opportunities.


77% (15 reviews)
Avani Windhoek Hotel

Avani Windhoek Hotel

The Avani Windhoek Hotel and Casino lack the personal touch of Windhoeks smaller guesthouses but is well located in the heart of the city.


80% (11 reviews)
Hotel Thule

Hotel Thule

Windhoek’s Hotel Pension Thule offers stunning views across the city and a reputable in-house restaurant, within easy reach of the international airport.


91% (9 reviews)
Pension Palmquell

Pension Palmquell

Stay at the Pension Palmquell in Windhoek, whilst on holiday in Namibia.


89% (9 reviews)
Am Weinberg Boutique Hotel

Am Weinberg

In a quiet upmarket suburb of Klein Windhoek, the stylish Am Weinberg has a friendly, welcoming atmosphere and luxury facilities.


93% (3 reviews)
Omaanda

Omaanda

Omaanda offers luxury accommodation and wildlife viewing within easy reach of the international airport and Windhoek City.


100% (2 reviews)
Desert Express

Desert Express

The Desert Express runs from Windhoek to Swakopmund on set departures. Recently this schedule has been somewhat erratic.


80% (1 review)
Ti Melen Guest House

Ti Melen

Overlooking Avis Dam, Ti Melen is on the outskirts of Windhoek, yet only 10-minutes from the city's amenities.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa