This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
GocheGanas
GocheGanas
GocheGanas

Reviews of GocheGanas

Wildlife sightings and reviews

39 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited GocheGanas and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2018, 11 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at GocheGanas.
Leopard

0% success

Giraffe

100% success

Wildebeest

78% success

Zebra

78% success

White Rhino

67% success

Eland

57% success

Oryx

56% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 11-20 of 39
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs M & Mr S
USA

"GocheGanas review"

1 night Arrived 9 Oct 2018
"Easily reached from airport, excellent service, lovely accommodations.

Took early morning game drive, great introduction to wildlife." See all these reviews: 21n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Eland

1 sighting

Giraffe

10 sightings

Oryx

10 sightings

White Rhino

4 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Dr J.
London

"GocheGanas review"

1 night Arrived 14 Sep 2018
"It was a comfortable hotel but the game viewings felt a bit like visiting Longleat - slightly artificial.

I would probably opt for a hotel in Windhoek itself as a last night stopover." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Eland

1 sighting

Giraffe

2 sightings

Oryx

3 sightings

White Rhino

2 sightings

Wildebeest

5 sightings

Zebra

4 sightings

Mr S
UK

"Beautiful Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 8 Aug 2018
"Lovely spa hotel.

Rooms were a little dated, but food was wonderful and setting is stunning." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Eland

1 sighting

Giraffe

1 sighting

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Ms J
London

"Gocheganas is truly lovely"

1 night Arrived 9 Jun 2018
"Really lovely, wished we had stayed longer. Both of us though suffered from altitude here (and it turns out it is high).

We had a very short stay - from about 3pm to about 10am. The accommodation was great, the location was great, the spa was lovely as was the pool. Food fine.

All good and would go back for longer." See all these reviews: 5n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr J & Ms D
UK

"GocheGanas review"

1 night Arrived 24 Apr 2018
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr M
Midlothian

"Relaxing end to holiday at Gocheganas"

3 nights Arrived 11 Apr 2018
"This might be a good way to start a trip as well and avoid Windhoek altogether.

The room was a little tired but we had wildlife come to our door (water buck, giraffe, warthogs) and lots of birds too.

The spa facilities were good and reasonably priced." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr S
Sri Lanka

"Great First Stop"

1 night Arrived 4 Apr 2018
"GocheGanas was the perfect place to spend our first night: incredible views, excellent food, a lovely pool, and a great first game drive including a wonderful sundowner right next to their rhinos.

It provided a really exciting first stop for our kids, which a boutique hotel in Windhoek may not have, and a taste of what was to come.

Our guide for the drive, Rocky, was excellent but the service could have been a little better, especially in the restaurant." See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr A
Glasgow

"a fleeting stop"

1 night Arrived 20 Sep 2017
"We only stayed here for a very brief overnight as we had to leave at 3am.

Rooms etc were all first class, pity we didnt have more time to enjoy it." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia; 5n in Zimbabwe; 2n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Ms A & Mr M
Lagos

"Gochegansa Lodge & Spa"

1 night Arrived 15 Sep 2017
"This was a comfortable place to stay towards the end of our trip. Due to our late arrangements were we unable to find two consecutive nights in the same place so had one night at Gocheganas and one at Olive Exclusive.

Gocheganas is beautifully located on a hilltop with panoramic views. You park your car partway and are taken to the lodge by their own vehicle. I would imagine that if you lived locally to Windhoek this is a very nice option for a weekend away.

Rooms and bathrooms are very spacious with the usual amenities, plus a television and a fridge. Wi-fi in our room was sporadic but useable in the communal areas. The outside room deck area was large and we were able to sit and watch giraffe wandering by in the distance. We did not take any game drives as this was at the end of our Namibia trip and we were happy to simply relax.

There was a great bar area with stunning views and the dining room was also nicely appointed. The food and wine selection was good, however the service was sporadic and rather indifferent.

Spa was good and the indoor warm pool especially tempting given that the outdoor one was too cold, but on a warmer day would be lovely to rest around with great views. Spa treatments are also given in individual treatment rooms and we enjoyed massages which were inexpensive compared to Europe and good quality.

This was a nice option for us, but on reflection we personally were glad to stay only one night and move closer to the City for our last evening." See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Ian & Vivienne
UK

"A luxurious stay so close to the airport."

1 night Arrived 25 Apr 2017
"We stayed just one night here which was a shame as the game is abundant, the accommodation luxurious and the spa treatments excellent.

The food was good but the service was the worst we had experienced in the entire trip with waiting staff having a very different, aloof attitude to guests that we had not encountered before. This was the only negative point.

The massage therapy was inexpensive (compared with UK prices) and of a very high and professional standard.

This must be a wonderful place to spend a long weekend if you live locally or in S Africa itself." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 11-20 of 39
93%
39 reviews of GocheGanas by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
27
10
2
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Windhoek

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Olive Grove

Olive Grove

In a quiet Windhoek suburb, Olive Grove is one of our favourite guesthouses: stylish, with a friendly, welcoming atmosphere and excellent food.


88% (366 reviews)
Galton House

Galton House

A cool stylish sanctuary in a quiet suburb of Windhoek, Galton House boasts a pool and a restaurant that serves breakfast, lunch and dinner.


90% (158 reviews)
Elegant Guesthouse

Elegant Guesthouse

The Elegant Guesthouse is a friendly, comfortable establishment with a lovely, tranquil garden, and is a good choice for an overnight stay in Windhoek.


87% (128 reviews)
River Crossing

River Crossing

Secluded on a private game reserve between Windhoek and the international airport, River Crossing is a tranquil place to start or end a trip.


81% (122 reviews)
Villa Violet

Villa Violet

Villa Violet is a friendly, owner-run guesthouse in a residential area of Windhoek, just a few minutes' drive from the city centre and numerous restaurants.


90% (111 reviews)
Haus Sonneneck

Haus Sonneneck

Haus Sonneneck was one of Windhoek's best pensions just a few minutes' drive away from the city centre, however it has now closed.


86% (102 reviews)
Hilltop Guesthouse

Hilltop Guesthouse

A long-standing favourite, the small, owner-run Hilltop Guesthouse is comfortable, smart and good value.


91% (55 reviews)
Heinitzburg Hotel

Heinitzburg Hotel

One of the oldest hotels in Windhoek, the Heinitzberg occupies a great hill-top location but can feel like a relic of a bygone era.


85% (41 reviews)
Olive Exclusive

Olive Exclusive

The Olive Exclusive is perhaps Windhoek's most luxurious boutique hotel but remains a friendly and unpretentious place to stay.


93% (39 reviews)
Weinberg Hotel

Weinberg Hotel

In a quiet upmarket suburb of Klein Windhoek, the stylish Weinberg has a friendly, welcoming atmosphere and luxury facilities.


94% (25 reviews)
Etango Ranch Guest Farm

Etango Ranch G. Farm

Etango offers simple, clean, comfortable accommodation and it’s the closest accommodation to Windhoek International Airport.


85% (23 reviews)
Immanuel Wilderness Lodge

Immanuel Wild'ss Lodge

Within easy reach of Windhoek, Immanuel Wilderness Lodge is a good overnight option for those who don't wish to stay in the city.


80% (17 reviews)
Rivendell Guesthouse

Rivendell Guesthouse

Rivendell Guesthouse offers great value, relaxed accommodation in a homely atmosphere with helpful and extremely friendly staff.


89% (16 reviews)
Sun Karros Daan Viljoen

Sun Karros Daan Viljoen

Situated within the Daan Viljoen Nature reserve Sun Karros is a simple lodge with gentle game viewing and bird watching opportunities.


77% (15 reviews)
Avani Windhoek Hotel

Avani Windhoek Hotel

The Avani Windhoek Hotel and Casino lack the personal touch of Windhoeks smaller guesthouses but is well located in the heart of the city.


80% (11 reviews)
Hotel Thule

Hotel Thule

Windhoek’s Hotel Pension Thule offers stunning views across the city and a reputable in-house restaurant, within easy reach of the international airport.


90% (10 reviews)
Pension Palmquell

Pension Palmquell

Stay at the Pension Palmquell in Windhoek, whilst on holiday in Namibia.


89% (9 reviews)
Omaanda

Omaanda

Omaanda offers luxury accommodation and wildlife viewing within easy reach of the international airport and Windhoek City.


96% (9 reviews)
Ti Melen Guest House

Ti Melen

Overlooking Avis Dam, Ti Melen is on the outskirts of Windhoek, yet only 10-minutes from the city's amenities.


100% (2 reviews)
Desert Express

Desert Express

The Desert Express runs from Windhoek to Swakopmund on set departures. Recently this schedule has been somewhat erratic.


80% (1 review)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa