This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Ludocie from Sheen

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

10

Excursions taken

2

Action packed 3 weeks

Namibia between 9 May 2019 and 31 May 2019

Trip rating: Excellent
"Absolutely love Namibia which exceeded expectations as did all the guides.

Highly recommend it because the range of diverse environments is massive, jaw dropping and beautiful throughout. The lodges we stayed at were all very good, with Etendeka the reality check, in it being close to a real tent (!) and Anderssons, Kulala, Goche Ganas off the scale in luxury. Driving 3,000km in a Nissan X-Trail was easy on 80% of the roads but became a challenge on the rougher gravel roads when we had to make a deadline. Astonishingly durable car. Only one puncture, en route to the airport.

We will come back and explore the South next time."

GocheGanas

GocheGanas

"Gorgeous"

2 nights Arrived 11 May 2019
"Incredibly beautiful site and accommodation, facilities, food and wildlife.

We feared it my be a bit like a zoo but not at all.

A great place for us to load up on wildlife before seeing a lot less until Etosha much later. Cannot fault it"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
BullsPort Lodge & Farm

BullsPort Lodge & Farm

"Very poor management"

2 nights Arrived 13 May 2019
"It's a working farm that relies on paying guests.

NB Offers mainly hiking and horses. The Quiver Tree hike is a real test and to be done very carefully but well worth it.

The facilities, kitchen staff and guides are great but if the owners, who were absent on our 2 nights, really want the communal supper to be enjoyable, they need to train their middle management to be able to converse.

The dogs, however, are very amusing and entertaining!"
Average
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Average
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Facilities
Excellent
Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

"Jaw droppingly stunning"

3 nights Arrived 15 May 2019
"5 star from start to finish.

That's the staff, guides, drives, food, location and accommodation, esp the starlit night on our roof."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Ballooning in the Namib Desert

Ballooning in the Namib Desert

"Worth every penny. "

17 May 2019 • Morning excursion

We had never done it before and absolutely loved it; as a ride and more particularly as a way of seeing the landscape.

Breathtaking....and the champagne breakfast was rather nice, too!

Expensive but really worth it.
Excellent
The Delight

The Delight

"A real halfway tonic. "

2 nights Arrived 18 May 2019
"Only does the B'nB and does it all really, really well.

Great rooms, service, facilities and oysters for breakfast."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Coast and Sandwich Harbour

Coast and Sandwich Harbour

"An absolute must. "

19 May 2019 • All-day excursion

Leon, TurnstoneTours, gave us a really fun day out going South to Walvis Bay and Sandwich Harbour.

It was really interesting, stunningly beautiful and rather terrifying as you will find out.

A great way to learn a lot and scream a lot.
Excellent
Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge

"Glamping in overdrive. "

1 night Arrived 20 May 2019
"Very beautiful and different topography/photography provides a heck of a setting for a cleverly designed camp/lodge that is gorgeous in 360 degrees.

Tame sunset drive but raaaaaaather lovely son I'd have done the hikes if we'd had another night

The restaurant is exquisite."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Average
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Etendeka Mountain Camp

Etendeka Mountain Camp

"African massage...great. "

2 nights Arrived 21 May 2019
"A bit of a reality check, being there for the 4pm pick up, the very rough 90minute drive to the camp and the very effective bucket showers. I loved it.

Suffering a bit from the extreme drought which has driven some of the larger wildlife away but the very high standard of the guides make up for it. (The Himba marriage arrangements stories are special)

It's a really special, wonderful place and the people are terrific esp Douw."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Hobatere Lodge

Hobatere Lodge

"Great night drive. "

1 night Arrived 23 May 2019
"The Rondavels are pretty good.
The pool is lovely and just as cold as all the others and the main building's setting, over the water holes is fantastic.

Our favourite was the night drive seeing a lioness eating a zebra followed by seeing all the much smaller wildlife esp the Spring Hares, which were a real surprise.

Great guides working really hard for us."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Andersson's at Ongava

Andersson's at Ongava

"6 Star. "

3 nights Arrived 24 May 2019
"Faultlessly luxurious and superbly laid out.

Ridiculously lovely and feels really intimate... there's a tunnel to the hide, right by the rhino at the waterhole!

Great people running it, staffing it, guiding etc etc.

If you're taking the rough with the smooth, it doesn't get any silkier than this place."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp

"The perfect setting. "

2 nights Arrived 27 May 2019
"All "tented" rooms face the big waterhole, as does the restaurant, lounge and small pool.

Great experience throughout and an intimate setting that means that if people don't engage, they end up whispering to each other at the table......"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

"Wonderful. "

1 night Arrived 29 May 2019
"We liked the big airy barn of a main building and the vibrant atmosphere.

Sadly only had one night, our last one in Namibia and recommend at least two because it teems with wildlife right in front of you.

The only drive we did was fantastic as the guide worked very hard to successfully locate and then watch a leopard.

Rooms are great and ideal for the end of the trip."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team