This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs R from Newport

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

8

Excursions taken

0

The best trip we've enjoyed for many years

Namibia between 11 Sep 2015 and 24 Sep 2015

Trip rating: Excellent
"The trip exceeded our expectations on all counts, we loved it!

However, you must enjoy driving off tarmac and be OK with being on unmade roads with very little traffic and longish drives. A 4x4 really is worth the extra in terms of comfort and is capable of withstanding the occasional miscalculation on dry riverbed crossings!

The countryside is stunning desert, big and empty - which may or may not be to everyone's taste, but Mad Max Fury Road had inspired us to go. The wildlife was amazing and unforgettable, all the people we met were friendly, knowledgeable and the service we had everywhere we stayed was as good as anywhere we have been in the UK.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

We really don't. The whole booking experience was a joy."

GocheGanas

GocheGanas

"A wonderful first night stop"

1 night Arrived 11 Sep 2015
"It was a perfect introduction to the lodges we would be using during our two week stay.

Fantastic views, lovely chalet and excellent bar and restaurant area. From our chalet balcony we saw Giraffe, Buffalo, Ostrich, Springbok.

Definitely should have stayed more than one night."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Sossus Dune Lodge

Sossus Dune Lodge

"The best location in Sossus"

2 nights Arrived 12 Sep 2015
"We really enjoyed our two night stay here. The situation was wonderful with sunset views over the dunes. The chalets were very comfortable, although very hot during the day, and the food was very good.

The highlight of our stay though was the dawn trip to the dunes with alfresco breakfast beneath the "Big Mamma" dune. Our guide Sammy, was excellent and we were lucky to witness a partial eclipse sunrise from "Big Daddy", an unforgettable experience."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Swakopmund Guesthouse

Swakopmund Guesthouse

"Swakopmund Guesthouse review"

1 night Arrived 14 Sep 2015
"A very comfortable stay close to the heart of the town."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Brandberg White Lady Lodge

Brandberg White Lady Lodge

"Brandberg White Lady Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 15 Sep 2015
"The 23 km on the access track would be a real test for a non 4WD car, it's sandy, corrugated and rough.

The lodge itself was great though. The staff helpful, entertaining and the food good. The chalets were scattered through the surrounding bush and felt remote which we enjoyed, but may not suit everybody.

We didn't see any desert elephants though we knew they were in the camp, just saw their tracks in the morning. The chalets are in need of a little updating, but the chalet was very cool and the water heater was lit twice a day to provide hot water for us."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Grootberg Lodge

Grootberg Lodge

"An unbelievable location."

2 nights Arrived 16 Sep 2015
"Possibly our favorite lodge. The location and the view were simply breathtaking, we never tired of it. The lodge and the chalets were excellent and very comfortable.

The service was great and the food very good.

One disappointment though was light pollution. The location made it a fantastic place to star gaze but the lights around the chalets were too bright."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Very good, well run lodge inside the park"

3 nights Arrived 18 Sep 2015
"Although the lodge had hundreds of guests from backpackers to fly/drive it was well run, with very good buffet food. We opted for a waterhole chalet and it was well worth it. We spent many hours at the waterhole and found it endlessly fascinating.

The roads around the park were OK, and the distances between waterholes can be quite large but the chance of a sighting made all the trips really enjoyable.

Because the park is so large the traffic seemed very light."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

"A fantastic, contemporary lodge"

2 nights Arrived 21 Sep 2015
"This was our favorite all round lodge. Plains Camp only opened in July 2014 and is a beautifully designed, contemporary lodge set in a wonderful plains location. The service was excellent and we enjoyed the best food of our trip by some margin. The bush drives were very reasonably priced so we spent many hours being driven through the spectacular scenery tracking Leopards and Cheetah listening to our extremely knowledgeable guide.

Drinking a G and T watching the sun going down on a Namibian plain - it really doesn't get much better than that!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
River Crossing

River Crossing

"Good last night stay"

1 night Arrived 23 Sep 2015
"Any last night stay has a difficult job to do after such a memorable trip.

This lodge had a spectacular setting high above Windhoek but is on the airport road so really convenient. We enjoyed our evening there and enjoyed the skills of the barbecue chef for dinner.

The chalets were fine with great views but were a little tired."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team