This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs S from Portsmouth

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

3

Lodges stayed in

6

Excursions taken

0

Luangwa/ Malawi June 2019

Zambia and 2 other countries between 26 Jun 2019 and 9 Jul 2019

Trip rating: Excellent
"Expert Africa delivered everything we had asked for for our holiday. Excellent service, understood what we wanted - remote, few other people and especially few other vehicles but with lots to see. Personal service everywhere we went and we always felt we were valued as people as well as customers.

Remote Africa Safaris were exactly that, at the edge of the South Luangwa - superb places to stay and excellent guides. A walking safari isn't for everyone and you don't get as close to animals as you would in a vehicle, but the whole experience more than makes up for that. We saw lots of animals and birds - large and small and can't thank our guide (Moffit) enough - he really made the holiday.

We loved the eco ethos of both Remote Africa Safaris and Kaya Mawa; home grown food, avoiding plastics were possible, local employment, clear investment in staff training, recycling and solar energy.

A great holiday"

City Lodge OR Tambo

City Lodge OR Tambo

"City Lodge 24 hour stop over"

1 night Arrived 27 Jun 2019
"Very convenient for the airport - you can easily walk to it.

Food choices in the restaurant in the evening are a bit limited, but the food itself was good quality. We requested early check-in after an overnight flight and there was a room available."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Tafika

Tafika

"Tafika"

2 nights Arrived 28 Jun 2019
"Exactly what we requested - we asked for remote and we got it. On game drives there were no other vehicles other than Tafika vehicles in that part of the National Park. For those spending more time there than we did, there were lots of activities available, microlight flight, walks, bicycle safari as well as game drives.

Food excellent - we really appreciated the home grown vegetables at every meal.

The Coppinger family were always around, making you feel very welcome and it gave it more of a feel of staying in their home and not an impersonal hotel. The staff were always welcoming, drive guides extremely knowledgeable and always ready to pass on information and to personalise it with their own experiences.

Lots of animals and birds, although the leopard eluded us (although others while we were there did see leopard). Not seeing one wasn't for lack of trying by our guide on our last drive!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp

"Chkoko"

2 nights Arrived 30 Jun 2019
"A delightful place to stay with a lovely view of a small riverbed from the upstairs bedroom and the animals that wandered down to it, including baboons and a large group of giraffe. You would never know unless they told you that everything is set up at the start of the season and pulled down at the end, it is all very solid with wooden furniture that has to be carried in and out.

We had an excellent guide in Moffit for whom nothing was too much trouble and Amon was superb scout who shared his tracking skills on our search for lion.

The kitchen visit is not to be missed and the food was excellent; the vegetables come across from the main camp. We were left to imagine how the fridge is carried in and out every season - no easy task!

Smaller animals were also worth seeing - elephant shrew and a delightful small Scops owl which visited every evening while we were having dinner."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Crocodile Bushcamp

Crocodile Bushcamp

"Crocodile Bushcamp"

2 nights Arrived 2 Jul 2019
"Very different setting and buildings to Chikoko, but the same excellent standard. While we were there we didn't see many animals from the camp itself (an elephant at breakfast) but plenty of sightings of all sorts when walking - including elephant, buffalo, warthog, kudu, impala and lion and regular sightings of a solitary hippo in a lagoon - we gave him a wide berth.

We had the same guide (Moffit) and scout (Amon) as at Chikoko, and that meant we were able to build up our knowledge as they knew what they had already told us. Tea making on the morning walk was in the hands of Kabula, who made the fire to boil the kettle without matches.

Because we travelled in late June/ early July it was harder to see wildlife - plenty of long grass to hide in, more food available for the carnivores and less need to reach the Luangwa to drink. But it was cooler for walking, there was plenty to see and our guide told us about plants and trees as well as animals.

There are lots of birds to see - eg fish eagle, heron, egret, crane, bee-eater, love birds, vulture, stork and many more.

Walking across oxbow lakes that have dried up can be a bit challenging as you have to avoid the holes left by elephant and hippo feet in the (now set hard) mud."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Tafika

Tafika

"Tafika review"

1 night Arrived 4 Jul 2019
"As before excellent place to stay.
[Ed. see below]

Amongst other animals we also saw genet, bushy tailed mongoose and a monitor lizard."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Kaya Mawa

Kaya Mawa

"Kaya Mawa review"

3 nights Arrived 5 Jul 2019
"Lovely place to stay - very quiet, very relaxing, more to do that we could fit in in our short stay. Interesting location on the beach with many of the rooms built into or onto the rocks, a lovely bar and restaurant, just right for chilling at the end of the day. The food was good and they are trying to grow most of their own vegetables and some fruit.

We stayed in the Nkhwazi room, which has a large deck area and plunge pool and a view to Mozambique and the sunset. Every morning we were woken by 2 small birds which managed to bypass the curtains across the open door, but we were not bothered by them as we were behind a large mosquito net. The soft furnishings are local, and its worth a visit to see where they are made at the Katundu workshop - just a 15 minute walk away. I won't spoil the surprise on just what they recycle and how and into what, but we were amazed.

On our last night we enjoyed a private sundown drink from the view point.

The staff, a mix of expat and local, are attentive and friendly, and happy to help.

St Peter's Cathedral is well worth a visit on a Sunday morning for the atmosphere and singing, but you don't have to stay for the whole 3 hour service. Take a bit of money for the collection and/or a tour afterwards. Usually men and women sit on opposite sides, but that doesn't apply to tourists.

If you can fit it into your small case, and you have your own snorkel and mask, then bring them. They are provided but are basic and I missed having my own kit. Best place for fish is by the rocks."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team