This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Sausage Tree Camp
Sausage Tree Camp
Sausage Tree Camp
Sausage Tree Camp
Sausage Tree Camp
Sausage Tree Camp

Reviews of Sausage Tree Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

37 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Sausage Tree Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jul-2018, 7 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Sausage Tree Camp.
Lion

86% success

Leopard

100% success

Cheetah

0% success

Wild dog

17% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Spotted Hyena

57% success

Zebra

17% success

Aardvark

0% success

Eland

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Showing 11-20 of 37
Duration
Arrival date
Mr F
New York

"Great"

4 nights Arrived 15 Aug 2017
"Everything was great" See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr M
Budapest

"Amazing three days at Sausage Tree Camp"

3 nights Arrived 17 Jul 2017
"We had a truly amazing time at Sausage tree camp and I can only warmly recommend. We visited in mid-July and the natural beauty was absolutely stunning. Just three highlights: we had elephants cross the river very close to the camp; we saw lions on three separate occasions during the game drives; and we came incredibly close to hippos and birds (white-fronted bee eaters) during a canoe ride down the river.

The lodge itself is very luxurious (the bathrooms!) and offers an exceptional level of service, yet still feels like a family setting. The lodge manager has been a guide for many years and the lodge owner also spent a few days at the lodge during our stay.

Activities (game drives, walking safaris, canoe rides, motor boar rides) are offered twice a day and during your stay you have a personal guide who organizes these only for your party. If you are participating in both daily activities then stay of three days is sufficient to see most things.

The whole trip was seamlessly organized by ExpertAfrica. Many thanks again!" See all these reviews: 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Dr C
Chicago

"Extraordinary. Sublime. Perfect."

5 nights Arrived 20 Aug 2016
"Everything about our stay at Sausage Tree was extraordinary. The facilities – both the rooms and the main lodge – are exquisite, with a particular attention to detail of finishings and accessories that give it a truly special feel.

The setting is beyond words, situated on the banks of the Zambezi with hippos in the river, elephants wading through, vervet monkeys in the camp, and opportunities to see a huge variety of animals without even going anywhere. There are lots of activities – day and evening game drives, power boat and canoe trips, fishing and walking safaris.

The guides are knowledgable and the entire staff are extraordinarily friendly. The food was great. The staff also surprised us with meals in different locations and other things that made it a once-in-a-lifetime, remarkable experience.

If I could give it 8 stars, I would still not think that was enough." See all these reviews: 8n in Zambia; 6n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr & Mrs S
Cheshire

"A very well run camp"

6 nights Arrived 2 Sep 2015
"Sausage Tree is a very professionally run camp. Knowledgable guides, and attentive staff. The owner, Jason, has made a few changes since out last visit two years ago, all for the good so far as I can tell.

The guaranteed private guiding (i.e. just you and your guide in each vehicle) is new, and works well (of course, you need to decide if that is what you want).

One suggestion to the camp. There are a number of places which have fairly steep concrete steps: from the main area of each tent to the bathroom, and around the main communal area. For guests who are a little unsteady on their feet, like me, simple hand rails would improve safety and security." See all these reviews: 13n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
R & C
Aylesbury

"A bit of luxury to end the hoiday"

5 nights Arrived 20 Aug 2015
"Much the most 'luxurious' camp that we stayed at in a great location. It lacked the intimacy of smaller camps but the facilities were very good – lovely, spacious rooms but with some steps in our bathroom that were a bit difficult to negotiate. Very good service from all the staff (the personal 'butler' idea is very nice but not quite our style, but we did appreciate our room decorations!) although at times the camp felt somewhat over-staffed. Food was very good; we had one lunch on a sandbank in the river and a dinner in the bush – both very enjoyable.

We had our own guide (Hastings) for all activities - he's a pleasant and very competent guide. Knows his birds.

The range of activities was very good. However, the walk we did was disappointing with a rather casual scout in an uninteresting area: not really worth doing. (There is too much vegetation here for safe walking anywhere interesting, and it was our impression that the many elephants were somewhat more aggressive (and bigger!) than those in South Luangua.)

Drives started around 7.30am which we thought was a bit late, but if anyone wanted to go earlier they were accommodated.

Trips on the river were interesting and very relaxing, and canoeing up a backwater with crocs and many hippos was good, if a bit scary. Night drives were memorable, mainly through close encounters with hunting lions and stroppy elephants. We didn’t try the fishing which seems to be seasonal.

(Note that Potato Bush and Sausage Tree are effectively the same camp, sharing staff, equipment and catering)." See all these reviews: 13n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr A Freeman
UK

"Sausage Tree Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 13 Oct 2014
"Probably the best overall experience . This may have been compromised if the camp had been busier.

Probably the most expensive ( ?).

The guarantee of a private guide avoided any conflict with other guests interests (eg avid Twitchers )." See all these reviews: 17n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr & Mrs W
UK

"Sausage Tree Camp"

11 nights Arrived 23 Sep 2014
"We were lucky enough to spend 11 nights at Sausage Tree Camp and, by now, so gripped by Zambia's spell that, when the time came, we did not want to leave! Nicci and Alan were superb hosts, so too Carol and all the guides - Kyle, Charles, Ryan... Great good humour prevailed amongst all in camp, guests and staff alike, with lots of smiles and laughs. Tabs, our muchinda, looked after us so well, taking great care over our tent, our laundry, early morning coffee and creating lovely decorations.

We were treated to a bush breakfast, a feet-cooling river buffet lunch and a delicious bush dinner. We chose not to do the canoeing but thoroughly enjoyed 3 fishing trips, when Alan still found time to position the boat for osprey photos!

There is a large swimming pool for cooling off during the heat of early afternoon and a room fan can also act as hairdryer, although the heat will quickly dry anything. Again there was a blanket for early morning chills and bean bags for stabilising the camera.

Sausage Tree provides all guests with private guiding and we considered ourselves so lucky to go with Alan, himself an ethical man and very keen photographer with a growing repertoire of great shots. His knowledge, experience, tracking, hard work and enthusiasm led to some very exciting and varied game viewing. His instincts for this or that animal's behaviour assisted anticipation to capture the best moments. We can't wait to go back!" See all these reviews: 20n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr & Mrs S
Cheshire

"Sausage Tree Camp review"

5 nights Arrived 16 Sep 2013
"Good relaxing stay in a very well managed camp. Variety of activities welcome, and the closeness of the river a definite plus in hot September weather.

Having expressed an interest in birding, we were allocated a guide (Prisley) with excellent birding skills." See all these reviews: 14n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
W family
Aylesbury

"Sausage Tree Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 24 Aug 2012
"Sausage Tree has quite a different feel to Chongwe. The facilities are more upmarket and the camp management is very impressive. We particularly appreciated the efforts made to do some things differently such as lunch in the river (lilterally) and breakfast and dinner in the bush.

It's very hard to find any fault with Sausage Tree. The one area where I feel Chongwe had an edge was in the atmosphere they managed to foster between guests, management and guiding staff by assiduous mingling at the bar and over dinner." See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms B
San Francisco

"River activities! Good ending to a safari."

3 nights Arrived 11 Jul 2012
"Sausage Tree Camp was a GREAT place to end my second safari. It sits right on the banks of the Zambezi River and they offer various water activities such as canoeing in a channel with hippos and crocodiles, fishing for Tiger Fish, or taking a boat cruise. There are some memorable moments such as a luncheon on and in the water (up to your ankles) and a bush dinner which is out in the dark with a camp fire, lit by hurricane lanterns.

My guide, Charles, was very knowledgeable and experienced. The camp managers (Allen, George, Nikki and Merle) were fantastic and welcoming. The bar and wait staff were friendly and accommodating. They assign you a personal butler. Mine was Phillip and he did a great job being helpful and organized. The owner, Jason, was in town and he is a great story-teller who has traveled extensively around the world.

The meals are served as a group if you want, or separately if you so choose. The chalets overlook the water and have decks. The rooms have no heat, which is typical of bush camps, and have outdoor bathrooms. I am not a fan of an outdoor bathroom, particularly not when a spider could drop off a tree onto me while I'm washing my face. (This did not happen but it could have!)

If you are going on your first safari and are anxious to see tons of game, this is NOT the place to go first. Go somewhere else first, get your Big Five viewing out of the way. Then, come here to enjoy the nuances of something different, such as the riverine forest and the Zambezi experience.

The food here was quite good. I would stay here again in a heartbeat and would recommend it." See all these reviews: 6n in Zimbabwe; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Showing 11-20 of 37
97%
37 reviews of Sausage Tree Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
33
3
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Lower Zambezi National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Chongwe River Camp

Chongwe River Camp

A blend of the stylish and traditional in a most picturesque site in the Zambezi Valley, Chongwe River Camp offers an excellent safari experience and real value for money.


96% (117 reviews)
Old Mondoro Bushcamp

Old Mondoro Bushcamp

For an intimate safari in the Lower Zambezi, with superb guiding, Old Mondoro is up there with the best.


99% (104 reviews)
Chiawa Camp

Chiawa Camp

One of Zambia's top safari camps, Chiawa is family owned and run, offering superb service and a flexible approach from a location well inside the Lower Zambezi National Park.


98% (75 reviews)
Potato Bush Camp

Potato Bush Camp

Potato Bush is located right in the heart of the Lower Zambezi National Park, with privately guided activities taking you on game drives, walks, boat trips and canoeing.


98% (12 reviews)
Amanzi

Amanzi

Opened in 2015, Amanzi is an intimate and rustic yet luxury camp in a very quiet area of the Lower Zambezi, with plenty of wildlife and good birding.


96% (10 reviews)
Chongwe River House

Chongwe River House

Chongwe River House is a stylish four-bedroom house designed for the exclusive use of families and small groups, affording the ultimate in flexibility on safari.


100% (8 reviews)
Anabezi Luxury Tented Camp

Anabezi Luxury Camp

Anabezi Luxury Tented Camp offers a high degree of understated luxury in a very lovely, quiet part of the Lower Zambezi with outstanding wildlife.


100% (8 reviews)
Kasaka River Lodge

Kasaka River Lodge

Kasaka River Lodge is a relatively simple, family-friendly camp. It's outside the Lower Zambezi National Park and, with a recent change of ownership for the better, it offers a great-value safari destination.


93% (6 reviews)
Kutali Camp

Kutali Camp

Kutali Fly-Camp offers the opportunity to experience the wilderness of Zambia’s Lower Zambezi National Park, in this simple fly-camp located on Kulefu Island.


100% (3 reviews)
Chula Island Camp

Chula Island Camp

Chula Island Camp offers the opportunity to experience the wilderness of Zambia’s Lower Zambezi National Park, in this simple fly-camp located in a natal mahogany grove on a small island on the Zambezi River.


No reviews yet
Tafara Springs Bushcamp

Tafara Springs

Tarafa Springs offers the opportunity to experience the wilderness of the Lower Zambezi National Park, in this rustic bushcamp located next to the main Zambezi escarpment.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa