This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Dr C from Chicago

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

3

Lodges stayed in

9

Excursions taken

2

My Jul 2019 trip

Tanzania between 15 Jul 2019 and 21 Jul 2019

Trip rating: Excellent
"We had a wonderful time in Africa and look forward to returning soon!"

Arranged By Jessica Plumb


Plantation Lodge

Plantation Lodge

"Sublime place to stay"

2 nights Arrived 15 Jul 2019
"Plantation Lodge is a beautiful, beautiful place with great service and extraordinary food. The rooms are spaced out over a fairly large area.

There are little sitting areas and places to relax spread across the grounds. Beautiful veranda, lots of interesting plants, trees and birds throughout. The food is truly extraordinary — the best food we've ever had in Africa.

Our only complaint was with the shower, which was anemic and had a tendency to die down to a trickle periodically."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Lake Manyara Safari

Lake Manyara Safari

"Nice place to spend a few hours"

15 Jul 2019 • All-day excursion

We enjoyed Lake Manyara for a few hours. It's a small park and a lot of it has relatively dense foliage, so in places it's hard to see animals.

But there are parts of the park that are movie-set spectacular, filled with a variety of animals and the lake in the background.

We did the treetop walk, which was not at all worth either the cost or the time we spent on it.
Safari in Ngorongoro Crater

Safari in Ngorongoro Crater

"Safari in Ngorongoro Crater review"

16 Jul 2019 • All-day excursion

An amazing place with lots of animals and a beautiful setting.

Note: It can be very cold – like down jacket and hat weather. Bring layers.
Olakira

Olakira

"Spectacular camp in a beautiful setting"

3 nights Arrived 17 Jul 2019
"Olakira is a beautiful place with comfortable rooms, located very close to the Mara River and lots of interesting areas of the northern Serengeti. The tents are spacious and comfortable.

They must have recently upgraded the showers — because the literature talks about bucket showers, but in fact the showers are easy to use, hot and powerful, and don't require any advance planning.

The service is superb. Our guide was outstanding. It's a mobile camp, so the individual rooms and common areas aren't as luxurious as other permanent camps that we have stayed in, but it's still very nice, the location is excellent, and the service is exemplary."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Airport Planet Lodge

Airport Planet Lodge

"Comfortable and close to airport"

1 night Arrived 20 Jul 2019
"This lodge is very close to the airport and is perfectly comfortable.

The grounds are pretty and the service was very good.

There wasn't anything extraordinary about the place and I wouldn't stay there other than the fact that it's close to the airport — but as a place to stay that is convenient to the Kilimanjaro airport it's great."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Good

An extraordinary and fantastic adventure!

Rwanda and 1 other country between 12 Aug 2016 and 27 Aug 2016

Trip rating: Excellent
"This trip was truly awesome. We loved every minute of every part of it.

The opportunity to stand face-to-face with a family of gorillas in the middle of the jungle in Rwanda is other worldly – straight out of a movie (literally!) and I couldn't recommend more highly.

Same goes for the Sausage Tree camp in Zambia. Wow what a fabulous place! Having our own guide is key, and their facilities are top, top notch – from the rooms to the main lodge to the cars and boats they use, all of which makes a difference in making the experience truly extraordinary.

Expert Africa did a terrific job setting everything up for us – we had nothing to worry about at any point of the trip. Thanks!"

Hotel des Mille Collines

Hotel des Mille Collines

"Clean. Modern. Lovely."

1 night Arrived 13 Aug 2016
"The hotel is clean, modern and generally lovely, and has quite a bit of character.

The lobby and common areas, including the pool and restaurant, are very nice and modern. The room we stayed in was perfectly adequate but not extraordinary.

The hotel has an historical charm that adds to its character."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Mountain Gorilla View Lodge

Mountain Gorilla View Lodge

"Rustic and charming."

4 nights Arrived 14 Aug 2016
"This place is conveniently situated close to the national park headquarters and to the activities in the area, so you don't have to drive nearly as far as you would if you were staying in a number of other locations. It's a very charming place with huge rooms and a nice main lodge.

It gets cold at night, and each room has a fireplace that the staff comes and lights for you, and they give you a surprisingly effective hot water bottle under the covers at night. Everyone who works there is very enthusiastic about serving the guests.

The shower left something to be desired, as the water pressure was very weak, but at least the water that did come out was hot."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Hotel des Mille Collines

Hotel des Mille Collines

"Clean. Modern. Lovely."

1 night Arrived 18 Aug 2016
"The hotel is clean, modern and generally lovely, and has quite a bit of character. The lobby and common areas, including the pool and restaurant, are very nice and modern. The room we stayed in was perfectly adequate but not extraordinary. The hotel has an historical charm that adds to its character."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Latitude 15

Latitude 15

"Beautiful hotel."

1 night Arrived 19 Aug 2016
"We only had a night at Latitude15, but we enjoyed every minute we were there.

It's a beautiful place with great food and a fun lounge.

It seems to be a hangout spot for the affluent Lusaka crowd, which was a nice contrast from many of the places we've stayed in Africa that are generally only frequented by travelers and expats."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Sausage Tree Camp

Sausage Tree Camp

"Extraordinary. Sublime. Perfect."

5 nights Arrived 20 Aug 2016
"Everything about our stay at Sausage Tree was extraordinary. The facilities – both the rooms and the main lodge – are exquisite, with a particular attention to detail of finishings and accessories that give it a truly special feel.

The setting is beyond words, situated on the banks of the Zambezi with hippos in the river, elephants wading through, vervet monkeys in the camp, and opportunities to see a huge variety of animals without even going anywhere. There are lots of activities – day and evening game drives, power boat and canoe trips, fishing and walking safaris.

The guides are knowledgable and the entire staff are extraordinarily friendly. The food was great. The staff also surprised us with meals in different locations and other things that made it a once-in-a-lifetime, remarkable experience.

If I could give it 8 stars, I would still not think that was enough."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Stanley Safari Lodge

Stanley Safari Lodge

"Elegant and refined."

2 nights Arrived 25 Aug 2016
"We very much enjoyed our stay at Stanley Safari Lodge.

The main building and the grounds are very elegant, superbly manicured and well laid out. Each room is very private. Our room was cute, with a stunning view, although the lodge might update some of the accessories and details given the price point. The staff and management could not have been more welcoming, friendly and helpful, and catered to us at every step.

The only real issue we experienced, which is why we did not give this property 5 stars, was a mosquito infestation that was highly distracting and annoying. Apparently there is a water treatment facilities a few kilometers away that has become a breeding ground for mosquitos – and there were truly extraordinary numbers of them in our room and throughout the property. The staff did the best they could with insect spray, mosquito coils and mosquito netting, but it was a hopeless battle. As we were leaving they had brought in an exterminator to work on it, and hopefully they'll be successful. It's a beautiful place with a great team. It would be very peaceful and relaxing without the mosquito swarms – and we would have happily given it 5 stars but for the mosquitos."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team