This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Sausage Tree Camp
Sausage Tree Camp
Sausage Tree Camp
Sausage Tree Camp
Sausage Tree Camp
Sausage Tree Camp

Reviews of Sausage Tree Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

33 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Sausage Tree Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jul-2018, 4 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Sausage Tree Camp.
Lion

75% success

Leopard

100% success

Cheetah

0% success

Wild dog

0% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Spotted Hyena

50% success

Aardvark

0% success

Eland

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Zebra

0% success

Showing 21-30 of 33
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs P
Derbyshire

"A great Zambezi side Camp"

3 nights Arrived 9 Oct 2010
"An otherwise excellent impression was marred by a river cruise which had been specifically organised for us to go birdwatching and adding two more people who were interested in river views and elephants and a third person who was only interested in the sound of her own voice. No attempt was made to advise us of the new arrangements.

The manageress, Nikkie, accepted that we had been badly dealt with and apologised unreservedly and the following day was back to normal. The fact remains that one daylight part of the evening game drive was lost.

Specific congratulations are due for the best lighting on the holiday; it was high enough to be useful." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs & Mr H
San Fran

"Sausage Tree Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 1 Aug 2010
"We loved Sausage Tree.

Nicci and Alan were great hosts.

Our room was very luxurious and our muchidja took good care of us.

Charles was a great guide." See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs E
Birmingham

"a warm welcome back to Sausage Tree"

6 nights Arrived 3 Jul 2010
"Undoubtedly the best camp we've visited anywhere in the world. While the range of game may be better in other parts of Africa, we see a good & varied amount here. What makes Sausage Tree so special is the location on the Zambezi River, with all the hippos, elephants, etc visiting and the opportunity to canoe or go on boat cruises. The tents are lovely -- well-planned and luxurious and full of lovely touches. But the highlight are the amazing people running it.

All the guides are engaging and pleased to chat, Alan and Nicci run the camp flawlessly -- nothing fazes them and their knowledge of Africa, wildlife, hospitality profession, mechanics, etc just boggle. They were head & shoulders above any camp managers we met.

Our guide Chris was not only knowledgable, but could sense what interested us and was a good judge at how long to stay at a site, what sort of information to give. He also explained a lot of his approach so we better understood the guide's job and because of that, we built a strong relationship.

The attention to detail -- be it in the rooms, or dining area/bar are amazing. Everything Sausage Tree does is to the highest standard. Perhaps the only point that lets them down was the food -- quality was good, but needs more variety and less emphasis on red meat (we had steak-lamb-steak on three consecutive nights). That has been changed now to a menu where you have choices of starters & mains, etc. That will help.

This was our second time at Sausage Tree, and I think it holds a more special place in our hearts than before. They certainly are the most professional and comprehensive safari camp we've been with." See all these reviews: 14n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr & Mrs B
Herts

"Sausage Tree"

3 nights Arrived 12 Oct 2009
"True elegance on the banks of the Zambezi. We were lucky enough to share this camp with just one other (honeymoon) couple after the first night. The location can't be beaten, and a constant stream of elephants crossing the river provide for regular entertainment.

Superb chalets, with a lot of storage space and places to lay out of the camera gear. Nicci and Alan were superb and attentive hosts - and we loved the story about the honey badger and the box of wine! Real Africa hands with a wealth of experience and anecdotes and a pleasure to be with. Hastings was an excellent guide bringing a lifetime of experience to the drives, while Victor shared a wealth of knowledge during a morning walk in the bush. James was a great spotter.

Claver (? spelling) was the most attentive "muchinda" you could ever ask for. His wry smile when we told him "10 minutes" for an evening collection from the chalet for dinner didn't give away the candlelit path through our bedroom to the bathroom when we opened the chalet door, nor the already prepared bubble bath - he knew we'd be more than 10 minutes! Highlights - sitting in the middle of the huge buffalo herd; the leopard sightings, and the lion bellowing as the sun went down.

But for pure experience, lunch on one of the reed covered snadbanks, with our feet dangling in the Zambezi river, would take a lot of beating. Even in October, the area seemed greener than South Luanga, and the bush was definitely denser. Personally, we would have liked to have spent a little more time just sitting out at the water holes and lagoons watching what appeared, but this is a minor comment, based on nearly two weeks bouncing about in a Land Cruiser, on what was an excellent finale to our Zambian excursion." See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr T & Ms G
Kent

"Sausage Tree Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 12 Oct 2009
"Sausage Tree was a brilliant way to end our honeymoon and the honeymoon suite was fabulous (the pool much appreciated in the midday heat!). Nickki and Allan made great hosts and everyone involved was very friendly and helpful.

This is a great camp for water based activities as well as the usual game drives. One highlight was a morning canoe trip with Marshall as our guide - it gave a very different perspective on the wildlife and was wonderfully peaceful. They also do a wonderful lunch in the river itself." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia; 3n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr G & Dr E
UK

"Sausage Tree Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 8 Sep 2009
"friendly knowledgable staff, beautiful location, care and attention, fabulous room" See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs AL
France

"Sausage Tree Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 27 Sep 2008
"Out of Africa with luxury, elephants holding us hostage, canoeing on the Zambezi, great birding, superb guiding and an unbelievable experience of dining in the river.

Small moan about quality of equipment and staffing of fishing trip which were not good." See all these reviews: 14n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr H
Kent

"Sausage Tree Camp review"

7 nights Arrived 20 Sep 2008
"Sausage Tree Camp was just fantastic and I could not in anyway fault the accommodation, food, entertainment, Game Drives and accommodation. It was pure perfection.

There were four hosts being David and Tash, who are leaving at the end of the season and Alan and Nikki who are taking over from them. They were all excellent hosts and nothing was too much trouble.

We just had the most wonderful time and regret that we were only there for a week.

Again no postcards!

I am concerned to hear that there are plans to develop the camp further and the room that I had is to be converted into a two story room. I fear that there is a risk that Sausage Tree could become over developed and the luxury that would be offered in the future could bring it out of the price range of its current clientele. Only the very wealthy could then afford to stay there and the whole atmosphere of the camp would change. This was a general concern of all of us who were staying there and was also shared by a number of the staff and guides.

The whole palace was perfection, although I do understand the necessity to keep up to the competition of other camps in the area. What I am saying it would be a terrible shame to see this place change in any way. It is pure perfection.

If I do have just one concern that is that there is a very old Land Rover that takes one from the plane to the river to join the boat for the majority of the journey to camp. There was no problem as far as we were concerned, but one day the Land Rover did break down and the guests were delayed in reaching the camp. If this were to happen on the final journey from camp the guests were to miss their connecting flights, and as you know there is only a short time between the arrival from camp into Lusaka airport and the connecting flight to London Heathrow. If guests missed the flight to London because the old land Rover broke down then this could be a problem for everyone involved.

I can't wait to go back there as it is the best location that I have ever stayed at andwas just out of this world." See all these reviews: 14n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
The K family
London

"Sausage Tree Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 15 Jul 2008
"Rather OTT and I feel rather over priced and over rated. The guides were not as good as they were in Tafika and we saw nowhere near as much wildlife.The food was nowhere near as good as at Tfika we always had cheese and biscuits for lunch dessert and soup for evening starter. Mostly coleslaw salads with everything else.

We had to have safety talks before every activity. This may well change when Nikki and her husband take over and were given an indemnity card to fill in. Reading the back of the cards tells us that once we have signed them we cannot claim any damages to our person or property as a result of the camps negligent acts or omissions. For example I assume that if the driver of the boat didn't check for leaks, it sunk and we were eaten by crocodiles this is not the camps responsibilty? I think it is.

We did not sign these forms and did not give them in. We have never before been asked to fill in forms like this before and I would advice anyone else visiting the camp not to fill them in." See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Woodpeckers
Kingston

"Sausage Tree Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 12 Jun 2008
"When we first pitched up at Sausage Tree we knew that they would have to be something special to match Nwakli so on the first evening outing when we didn't see many animals we were regretting our decision to move on. However, the staff were so friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them. anything you wanted they would arrange. they arranged two superb meal suprises for us and the other guests - one a bush dinner and the other lunch in the Zambezi (Yes in the Zambezi).

We had two canoe rides and met lots and lots of hippos which was a bit scarey but the guides were so professional and we never felt threatened even though we did have a bit of a stand off with one Hippo who did not want to let us past. A great time had by both of us." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Showing 21-30 of 33
97%
33 reviews of Sausage Tree Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
29
3
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Lower Zambezi National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Chongwe River Camp

Chongwe River Camp

A blend of the stylish and traditional in a most picturesque site in the Zambezi Valley, Chongwe River Camp offers an excellent safari experience and real value for money.


96% (116 reviews)
Old Mondoro Bushcamp

Old Mondoro Bushcamp

For an intimate safari in the Lower Zambezi, with superb guiding, Old Mondoro is up there with the best.


99% (103 reviews)
Chiawa Camp

Chiawa Camp

One of Zambia's top safari camps, Chiawa is family owned and run, offering superb service and a flexible approach from a location well inside the Lower Zambezi National Park.


98% (73 reviews)
Potato Bush Camp

Potato Bush Camp

Potato Bush is located right in the heart of the Lower Zambezi National Park, with privately guided activities taking you on game drives, walks, boat trips and canoeing.


98% (11 reviews)
Amanzi

Amanzi

Opened in 2015, Amanzi is an intimate and rustic yet luxury camp in a very quiet area of the Lower Zambezi, with plenty of wildlife and good birding.


96% (10 reviews)
Chongwe River House

Chongwe River House

Chongwe River House is a stylish four-bedroom house designed for the exclusive use of families and small groups, affording the ultimate in flexibility on safari.


100% (8 reviews)
Anabezi Luxury Tented Camp

Anabezi Luxury Camp

Anabezi Luxury Tented Camp offers a high degree of understated luxury in a very lovely, quiet part of the Lower Zambezi with outstanding wildlife.


100% (8 reviews)
Tsika Island Camp

Tsika Island Camp

Tsika Island Camp is a remote bushcamp in the middle of the Zambezi, with links to the local village of Mgugrumenu.


97% (7 reviews)
Kasaka River Lodge

Kasaka River Lodge

Kasaka River Lodge is a relatively simple, family-friendly camp. It's outside the Lower Zambezi National Park and, with a recent change of ownership for the better, it offers a great-value safari destination.


93% (6 reviews)
Kutali Camp

Kutali Camp

Kutali Fly-Camp offers the opportunity to experience the wilderness of Zambia’s Lower Zambezi National Park, in this simple fly-camp located on Kulefu Island.


100% (3 reviews)
Chula Island Camp

Chula Island Camp

Chula Island Camp offers the opportunity to experience the wilderness of Zambia’s Lower Zambezi National Park, in this simple fly-camp located in a natal mahogany grove on a small island on the Zambezi River.


No reviews yet
Tafara Springs Bushcamp

Tafara Springs

Tarafa Springs offers the opportunity to experience the wilderness of the Lower Zambezi National Park, in this rustic bushcamp located next to the main Zambezi escarpment.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa