This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Sausage Tree Camp
Sausage Tree Camp
Sausage Tree Camp
Sausage Tree Camp
Sausage Tree Camp
Sausage Tree Camp

Reviews of Sausage Tree Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

37 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Sausage Tree Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jul-2018, 7 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Sausage Tree Camp.
Lion

86% success

Leopard

100% success

Cheetah

0% success

Wild dog

17% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Spotted Hyena

57% success

Zebra

17% success

Aardvark

0% success

Eland

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Showing 31-37 of 37
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs AL
France

"Sausage Tree Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 27 Sep 2008
"Out of Africa with luxury, elephants holding us hostage, canoeing on the Zambezi, great birding, superb guiding and an unbelievable experience of dining in the river.

Small moan about quality of equipment and staffing of fishing trip which were not good." See all these reviews: 14n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr H
Kent

"Sausage Tree Camp review"

7 nights Arrived 20 Sep 2008
"Sausage Tree Camp was just fantastic and I could not in anyway fault the accommodation, food, entertainment, Game Drives and accommodation. It was pure perfection.

There were four hosts being David and Tash, who are leaving at the end of the season and Alan and Nikki who are taking over from them. They were all excellent hosts and nothing was too much trouble.

We just had the most wonderful time and regret that we were only there for a week.

Again no postcards!

I am concerned to hear that there are plans to develop the camp further and the room that I had is to be converted into a two story room. I fear that there is a risk that Sausage Tree could become over developed and the luxury that would be offered in the future could bring it out of the price range of its current clientele. Only the very wealthy could then afford to stay there and the whole atmosphere of the camp would change. This was a general concern of all of us who were staying there and was also shared by a number of the staff and guides.

The whole palace was perfection, although I do understand the necessity to keep up to the competition of other camps in the area. What I am saying it would be a terrible shame to see this place change in any way. It is pure perfection.

If I do have just one concern that is that there is a very old Land Rover that takes one from the plane to the river to join the boat for the majority of the journey to camp. There was no problem as far as we were concerned, but one day the Land Rover did break down and the guests were delayed in reaching the camp. If this were to happen on the final journey from camp the guests were to miss their connecting flights, and as you know there is only a short time between the arrival from camp into Lusaka airport and the connecting flight to London Heathrow. If guests missed the flight to London because the old land Rover broke down then this could be a problem for everyone involved.

I can't wait to go back there as it is the best location that I have ever stayed at andwas just out of this world." See all these reviews: 14n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
The K family
London

"Sausage Tree Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 15 Jul 2008
"Rather OTT and I feel rather over priced and over rated. The guides were not as good as they were in Tafika and we saw nowhere near as much wildlife.The food was nowhere near as good as at Tfika we always had cheese and biscuits for lunch dessert and soup for evening starter. Mostly coleslaw salads with everything else.

We had to have safety talks before every activity. This may well change when Nikki and her husband take over and were given an indemnity card to fill in. Reading the back of the cards tells us that once we have signed them we cannot claim any damages to our person or property as a result of the camps negligent acts or omissions. For example I assume that if the driver of the boat didn't check for leaks, it sunk and we were eaten by crocodiles this is not the camps responsibilty? I think it is.

We did not sign these forms and did not give them in. We have never before been asked to fill in forms like this before and I would advice anyone else visiting the camp not to fill them in." See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Woodpeckers
Kingston

"Sausage Tree Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 12 Jun 2008
"When we first pitched up at Sausage Tree we knew that they would have to be something special to match Nwakli so on the first evening outing when we didn't see many animals we were regretting our decision to move on. However, the staff were so friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them. anything you wanted they would arrange. they arranged two superb meal suprises for us and the other guests - one a bush dinner and the other lunch in the Zambezi (Yes in the Zambezi).

We had two canoe rides and met lots and lots of hippos which was a bit scarey but the guides were so professional and we never felt threatened even though we did have a bit of a stand off with one Hippo who did not want to let us past. A great time had by both of us." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs R
W Sussex

"Excellent accommodation with personal touches"

5 nights Arrived 29 May 2008
"The location was superb and both Dave and Tash took extra care with all their guests. Dinner in the bush, lunch in the river (yes in it!) were both excellent and different.

We were fortunate enough to be upgraded to the Honeymoon suite on our last night, which was beautiflly decorated with candles, a hoit bubble bath prepared after our game drive and a private candle lit dinner for us on our suite. We were completely overwhelmed and it was the perfect end to a perfect trip.

We tried canoeing, which was a new experience for us - an excellent way to view the wildlife and so peaceful. We were a little nervous about being in a cnoe, but the guides were very good and we felt very safe.

Our personal butle, Shepherd was very attentive throughout our stay and we have passed on our personal feedback direct tothe camp about him - he was so good.

Tash did an excellent job taking care of my dietary needs - the food at the camp was superb." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs M Glasgow
UK

"Sausage Tree Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 4 Nov 2007
"We loved our experience at Sausage Tree Camp. Our tent was fantastic with great views and a fantastic bath. We really felt like we were close to nature and could just sit in our tent and watch the Zambezi.

The food was great and varied and we felt the place was very welcoming. There was also a great range of activities, we went on game drives during the evening, a canoeing trip, boat rides and went fishing for Tiger Fish. We encountered loads of animals including a leopard and lots of lions.

The guides were increadiby friendly and very knowledgable. We felt very spoiled at Sausage Tree Camp, a romantic dinner was planned for us as a surprise in our tent and everyone in the camp had a special lunch with our feet dangling in the river. The camp was so relaxed and we felt really at home." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr & Mrs S
Cheshire

"Absolutely first rate"

4 nights Arrived 2 Oct 2007
"We have known about Sausage Tree for quite a while (this is our sixth time in Zambia).

Our first visit, and honestly couldn't fault it

Very highly recommended" See all these reviews: 14n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 31-37 of 37
97%
37 reviews of Sausage Tree Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
33
3
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Lower Zambezi National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Chongwe River Camp

Chongwe River Camp

A blend of the stylish and traditional in a most picturesque site in the Zambezi Valley, Chongwe River Camp offers an excellent safari experience and real value for money.


96% (117 reviews)
Old Mondoro Bushcamp

Old Mondoro Bushcamp

For an intimate safari in the Lower Zambezi, with superb guiding, Old Mondoro is up there with the best.


99% (104 reviews)
Chiawa Camp

Chiawa Camp

One of Zambia's top safari camps, Chiawa is family owned and run, offering superb service and a flexible approach from a location well inside the Lower Zambezi National Park.


98% (75 reviews)
Potato Bush Camp

Potato Bush Camp

Potato Bush is located right in the heart of the Lower Zambezi National Park, with privately guided activities taking you on game drives, walks, boat trips and canoeing.


98% (12 reviews)
Amanzi

Amanzi

Opened in 2015, Amanzi is an intimate and rustic yet luxury camp in a very quiet area of the Lower Zambezi, with plenty of wildlife and good birding.


96% (10 reviews)
Chongwe River House

Chongwe River House

Chongwe River House is a stylish four-bedroom house designed for the exclusive use of families and small groups, affording the ultimate in flexibility on safari.


100% (8 reviews)
Anabezi Luxury Tented Camp

Anabezi Luxury Camp

Anabezi Luxury Tented Camp offers a high degree of understated luxury in a very lovely, quiet part of the Lower Zambezi with outstanding wildlife.


100% (8 reviews)
Kasaka River Lodge

Kasaka River Lodge

Kasaka River Lodge is a relatively simple, family-friendly camp. It's outside the Lower Zambezi National Park and, with a recent change of ownership for the better, it offers a great-value safari destination.


93% (6 reviews)
Kutali Camp

Kutali Camp

Kutali Fly-Camp offers the opportunity to experience the wilderness of Zambia’s Lower Zambezi National Park, in this simple fly-camp located on Kulefu Island.


100% (3 reviews)
Chula Island Camp

Chula Island Camp

Chula Island Camp offers the opportunity to experience the wilderness of Zambia’s Lower Zambezi National Park, in this simple fly-camp located in a natal mahogany grove on a small island on the Zambezi River.


No reviews yet
Tafara Springs Bushcamp

Tafara Springs

Tarafa Springs offers the opportunity to experience the wilderness of the Lower Zambezi National Park, in this rustic bushcamp located next to the main Zambezi escarpment.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa