This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr T & Ms G from Kent

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

3

Countries visited

4

Lodges stayed in

13

Excursions taken

0

My Feb 2013 trip

Kenya between 16 Feb 2013 and 24 Feb 2013

Trip rating: Excellent
"We thoroughly enjoyed this trip and woud recommend it. The advice we were given both over the telephone and through the brochure was very good and really helped us to choose lodges that were right for us.

Thank you Ellie.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

Not currently"

Macushla House

Macushla House

"Macushla House"

1 night Arrived 16 Feb 2013
"We only stayed here overnight on the way out and had a day room on the way back but Macushla had a lovely feel about it and the staff could not have been nicer.

The food was good and freshly cooked to order. The pool looked very inviting."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Lewa Safari Camp

Lewa Safari Camp

"Lewa Safari Camp"

3 nights Arrived 17 Feb 2013
"This was a lovely camp and we felt at home here straight away. The staff were all lovely and our guide, Laban, was fantastic and seemed to have amazing abilities to spot animals, including cheetahs, from some distance away.

The tents were spacious and comfortable and the main lodge building was really nicely done. We came here to see rhinos and were not disappointed and there was a huge diversity (and numbers) of other animals and birds too.

We would throoughly recommend this camp."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Sosian

Sosian

"Sosian Lodge"

4 nights Arrived 20 Feb 2013
"This was a very different style of camp from Lewa but fantastic with much more of a country house party type feel. Both our room (the Italian Cottage) and the main house were beautiful. Simon and Rosie could not have been better hosts and we once again had a fantastic guide in Ambrose.

We picked Sosian because we really wanted to see wild dogs which we did several times but this camp is also great for other activities and we thoroughly enjoyed a night sleeping out under the stairs and also a camel ride. Lunches down by the river were another highlight.

We would happily recommend this lodge."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Macushla House

Macushla House

"Macushla House review"

1 night Arrived 24 Feb 2013
"See previous review. [Ed: See below!]"
Excellent

Rwanda

Rwanda between 21 Aug 2011 and 1 Sep 2011

Trip rating: Excellent
"Absolutely fantastic. Rwanda is a beautiful country.

Our guide Theo was wonderful and we saw so much more than the gorillas (which were amazing). We would strongly encourage anyone to visit Rwanda and to see as much of the country as possible.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

the only small improvement would be to have one night at Kibuye and then a second night either at Gisenyi (FCO permitting) or back in Kigali. That would still leave time for a boat trip on the lake but would provide nicer accomodation."

Arranged By Elizabeth Chapman


Hotel des Mille Collines

Hotel des Mille Collines

"Hotel des Mille Collines review"

1 night Arrived 22 Aug 2011
"Refurbished common parts look smart.

Poolside bar area is lovely. The pool was about to reopen after refurbishment. Great location.

Good food and service in the Panorama restaurant."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Nyungwe House

Nyungwe House

"Nyungwe Forest Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 23 Aug 2011
"A beautiful lodge in a stunning location. Great food and lovely staff.

Fantastic view from the infinity pool. Highly recommended."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Moriah Hill Resort

Moriah Hill Resort

"Moriah Hill Resort review"

2 nights Arrived 26 Aug 2011
"Friendly and helpful staff but service for main meals sometimes really slow.

For a hotel which is under ten years old maintenance is a real problem as is lack of ventilation in the bathrooms which leads to them smelling damp even though they and all other areas in the hotel are spotlessly clean."
Poor
Location
Good
Service
Average
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Poor
Food
Average
Mountain Gorilla View Lodge

Mountain Gorilla View Lodge

"Gorilla Mountain View Lodge review"

4 nights Arrived 28 Aug 2011
"Wonderful location, friendly helpful staff. Buffet meals made good use of fairly limited ingredients and meant you could refuel quickly before and after activities.

Good sized rooms. Fires in rooms and hot water bottles lovely but much needed as it gets really quite cold at night.

Electricity supplied by generator so only available at fixed times."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Good

A great trip

Zambia and 1 other country between 28 Sep 2009 and 15 Oct 2009

Trip rating: Excellent
"We really loved our trip and would not hesitate to use Expert Africa again or to recommend you. We really appreciate the extra advice you gave us when planning our trip.

It would be handy on the itinerary if more details could be given on transfers for example that the flight from Livingstone to Luangwa was via Lusaka and the approximate length of the onward transfer by jeep - it is good to know what to expect!"

Arranged By Lucy Copson


Birkenhead House

Birkenhead House

"Birkinhead House Review"

3 nights Arrived 29 Sep 2009
"Birkinhead House was a fabulous start to our honeymoon. A beautiful position on the clifftops, wonderful food, friendly and helpful staff and lots of whales! Our room, no.3, had a wonderful bathroom and a seaview balcony for early morning coffee.

We would highly recommend both the whale watching boat excursion and walking along the stunning clifftop path that runs right by the hotel."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Image alt

Bishops' Court, South Africa (this camp has since closed)

"Bishops' Court review"

3 nights Arrived 2 Oct 2009
"We really enjoyed Bishop's Court, our room was extremely comfortable, spacious and very newly refurbished with a huge open plan bathroom and a nice balcony with a view of table mountain.

Tessa could not have done more to make us feel welcome and provided some top tips on restaurants and sorted out our hire car company for us!

Having a driver available in the evenings is really nice if you want to leave the hire car behind."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Islands of Siankaba

Islands of Siankaba

"Islands of Siankaba review"

3 nights Arrived 5 Oct 2009
"We loved Islands of Siankaba - it really is a magical place. Activities at the Falls are very easily arranged from here but they also do an excellent guided village walk as well as sunset boat trips.

The staff were all lovely and the food good - we did not want to leave."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp

"Kaingo Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 8 Oct 2009
"Kaingo is a fantastic camp in an amazing location. Derek and Jules Shenton are very involved with the running of the camp and it really shows. Tom and Ali kept us very well looked after. The guides, Patrick and Freya, were brilliant and we saw an amazing amount of game including several leopards.

The hippo and carmine bee eater hides are a great way to see them up close.

This is a camp for people who really like being on safari rather than lots of luxurious frills."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Sausage Tree Camp

Sausage Tree Camp

"Sausage Tree Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 12 Oct 2009
"Sausage Tree was a brilliant way to end our honeymoon and the honeymoon suite was fabulous (the pool much appreciated in the midday heat!). Nickki and Allan made great hosts and everyone involved was very friendly and helpful.

This is a great camp for water based activities as well as the usual game drives. One highlight was a morning canoe trip with Marshall as our guide - it gave a very different perspective on the wildlife and was wonderfully peaceful. They also do a wonderful lunch in the river itself."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team