This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by The K family from London

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

3

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

8

Excursions taken

0

My August/September safari to Zambia

Zambia between 29 Aug 2014 and 6 Sep 2014

Trip rating: Good
"There were more administrative errors than in previous years Including send the final information and tickets to the wrong address.

Luckily they were passed onto us as the person you sent them to knew where we lived."

Arranged By Claire Scott


Tafika

Tafika

"Tafika is one of our most favourite camps"

3 nights Arrived 30 Aug 2014
"It may not be as luxurious as some but does give a real taste of Africa and was our favourite in Zambia when we visited 6 years ago.

It is the only camp we have now stayed at twice and it is still our favourite. The owners are very friendly and love talking to all the guests as are all the rest of the staff. The food is wonderful and the guides are one of the best we have ever had in all the African countries we have visited.

I always do and still will highly recommend Tafika."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Chinzombo

Chinzombo

"Chinzombo"

2 nights Arrived 2 Sep 2014
"It was highly luxuries and rather too modern for our needs.

Guiding was excellent but our guides effectiveness was handicapped by the sheer number of other vehicles, especially at night. Traffic is something we normally avoid."
Good
Location
Average
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Chiawa Camp

Chiawa Camp

"Chiawa another nice camp"

2 nights Arrived 4 Sep 2014
"Both managers and staff of Chiawa are friendly and the food was excellent.

Guiding was good though we did not see much on our night drives as we did at Tafika and the red light used does mean that taking photographs was tricky, though we do understand why it was used.

The canoe trip was excellent and I highly recommend taking the longer canoe trip. Having a meal on the boat as it travelled down the river was also a lovely surprise, though I wish we had known a little in advance as we would have taken our binoculars and cameras with us."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent

My Sep 2012 trip

Mozambique between 1 Sep 2012 and 10 Sep 2012

Trip rating: Excellent
"Enjoyable"

Image alt

Explore Gorongosa, Mozambique (this camp has since closed)

"Explore Gorongosa review"

4 nights Arrived 2 Sep 2012
"Food was good and guiding was good and although we did not see any lions or other large mammal predators this was more than made up for my the shear number of different antelope so of which we had never seen before.

My only complaint was that in our tent, when it rained in the night, you could not go to the toilet without getting soaking wet, this does not appy to the girls tent since their toilet was undercover."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Average
Nuarro Mozambique

Nuarro Mozambique

"Nuarro Mozambique review"

4 nights Arrived 6 Sep 2012
"A lovely place to stay.

My only complaint which may have been a miss understanding was that when we wanted to go whale watching we were told that we were the only people who had requested the boat so we were to wait until we saw a whale then go to the boat. What happened was that when we saw a whale we did go the boat but someone else whose room was nearer to the boats than ours go to them first and they had taken the boat which meant that we had to wait until it came back and them go out the heat of the day."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good

Zambia trip

Zambia between 7 Jul 2008 and 19 Jul 2008

Trip rating: Good
"See individual comments for each of the camps"

Tafika

Tafika

"Tafika review"

4 nights Arrived 8 Jul 2008
"A wonderful camp with excellent guides fantastic wildlife, lovely hospitality and very attentive service.

However, why did we have to drive back to Mafue when Tafika has an air strip?

We lost 1.5 hours + 20 minutes from our holiday and had to pay airport tax. The driver spent 3 hours driving us to Mafue and then driving himself back (1.5 hours each way) and The pilot had to fly an extra 40 minutes since he had flown over Tafika to get to Mafue and then flew us back over it on our way out.

Niether we,Tafika and the pilot to understand why."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Shiwa Ng'andu

Shiwa Ng'andu

"Shiwa Ng'andu review"

3 nights Arrived 12 Jul 2008
"Jo and Charlie made us feel at home and we would love to hear how their plans are progressing and visit again in a few years time.

The house, garden, farm etc and its history were fascinating and it made a lovely and unusual break from safari lodges. The girls loved the horses and loved riding twice a day everyday."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Sausage Tree Camp

Sausage Tree Camp

"Sausage Tree Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 15 Jul 2008
"Rather OTT and I feel rather over priced and over rated. The guides were not as good as they were in Tafika and we saw nowhere near as much wildlife.The food was nowhere near as good as at Tfika we always had cheese and biscuits for lunch dessert and soup for evening starter. Mostly coleslaw salads with everything else.

We had to have safety talks before every activity. This may well change when Nikki and her husband take over and were given an indemnity card to fill in. Reading the back of the cards tells us that once we have signed them we cannot claim any damages to our person or property as a result of the camps negligent acts or omissions. For example I assume that if the driver of the boat didn't check for leaks, it sunk and we were eaten by crocodiles this is not the camps responsibilty? I think it is.

We did not sign these forms and did not give them in. We have never before been asked to fill in forms like this before and I would advice anyone else visiting the camp not to fill them in."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Facilities
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team