This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr C from EBMATINGEN

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

6

Excursions taken

0

Fantastic Zambia safari trip

Zambia between 12 Jul 2022 and 24 Jul 2022

Trip rating: Excellent
"Start to finish the help and support we received from Lucy Copson was excellent.

We made several changes to our original idea, but Lucy was quick to advise and respond on each occasion.

The quality of process, confirmation and despatch of documents was very good.

Fortunately we never needed on the ground support, but with all the information we received, I always felt that EA was there in the background if we needed them.

All round excellent service."

Arranged By Lucy Copson


Chongwe River Camp

Chongwe River Camp

"Chongwe - Great stay at a great camp"

4 nights Arrived 13 Jul 2022
"Our second visit to Chongwe and very happy we made the decision to go back to this excellent camp. Location is perfect and this gives a range of activity options outside of the game drive.

Tent was very well laid out and facilities were all spot on. Clean, tidy, well stocked and nothing to fault.

Being critical, the food was somewhat basic compared to other camps, but it was all extremely well prepared and presented, tasted excellent, and there was plenty of it. Getting a menu choice and having somewhat flexible eating times made the whole food experience very good indeed.

Perhaps the very best part of the camp is the wonderful staff, from the managers to the night guard and gardener, they were all friendly, helpful, efficient and made this a wonderful stay.

A special mention to our guide Sam - nothing was too much for him, no question too small, and his knowledge is widespread."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Kakuli Bushcamp

Kakuli Bushcamp

"Kakuli Bushcamp"

3 nights Arrived 17 Jul 2022
"Kakuli has a great situation and outlook and the whole camp has a really nice feel to it. The recently renovated tents are very nice, although I do feel there has been a loss of authenticity to them with some of the upgrades.

The communal area is a little cramped for my liking , especially at meal times where the serving area is too close to the dining tables. However, the food was excellent, well presented and well prepared.

On our first night at the camp, we met the other guests at a communal sundowner spot, then had drinks with them at the camp, only to find we had been put on a separate dining table for 2 while everyone else sat together. We felt a little excluded and uncomfortable.

The staff at Kakuli are all very efficient and friendly, but I could not help but think they were a little on edge in their efforts to please the guest, where a little light hearted contact would have been perfect.

In all, I think that Kakuli has tried to elevate itself to an elite camp level and has certainly lost the genuine bushcamp feel we experienced on a previous visit.
Guiding and game viewing was excellent."
Good
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Mchenja Bushcamp

Mchenja Bushcamp

"Majestic Mchenja "

3 nights Arrived 20 Jul 2022
"Our return to Mchenja was everything we hoped it would be and more. Fantastic location and a beautiful layout to the camp makes this a perfect spot to spend time in the bush.

Our tent was excellent, and the bed especially comfortable. No faulting any of the amenities. We love the communal area, the dining set up ( although communal dining could be an option if asked?) and the facilities it all has to offer. Given the location, the quality and delivery of food is outstanding.

Game viewing was excellent and our guides were extremely knowledgable and sensitive to what we wanted to see. Walking safari was brilliant.

In general, the staff at the camp seem a really happy team, and this shows through in their ability to provide a first class service with a laugh and a smile. Special mention to John who took care of us on the game drives as well as running a great team.

A small note of negative. When we last visited Mchenja we loved the breakfast bar canoe, the chairs under the natural shade, the old photos on the wall of the hall and the well used guide and bird books. Sadly, these have all disappeared and I personally don't see the addition of large ultra modern umbrellas and fancy lamps and lampshades, amongst other modern equipment, as being an enhancement to the aesthetics of the camp. Please don't turn this beautiful place into a 5 star hotel in the bush."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Amazing experience all round

Zambia between 20 Jun 2018 and 2 Jul 2018

Trip rating: Excellent
"If we did it again, we would have gone to Chongwe River Camp first, it was good there, but Kakuli and especially Mchenja were simply amazing and hard to match.

Apart from that, this was a wonderful trip, really well organised by EA, staying at 3 excellent camps where we really felt comfortable and at home.

Game and bird viewing in this region is fantastic, and the guides have a first class knowledge of the wild.

Simply an amazing holiday which will stay in the memory for a long time."

Arranged By Lucy Copson


Kakuli Bushcamp

Kakuli Bushcamp

"Excellent camp"

3 nights Arrived 21 Jun 2018
"Fantastic accommodation , complete with tree frog hosts, which offered luxury and a rustic feel in one. Comfortable, clean and in a good setting, the rooms really were very good.

Staff at Kakuli were excellent, friendly and helpful and with a great sense of humour. Food was excellent given the location and facilities. Watching these guys cook breakfast over a small fire was a sight, but the other inventive ways they cooked and presented the food was very good.

Guides and scouts were readily available to easily cover the small number of guests, and amazed with their keen eyesight and enthusiasm and knowledge."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Mchenja Bushcamp

Mchenja Bushcamp

"Fantastic safari camp"

3 nights Arrived 24 Jun 2018
"Fantastic accommodation in a really lovely setting and set up.

Lovely rooms with plenty of functionality and a smashing view to the river.We often had night time visits to our garden which really added to the atmosphere and excitement. Staff at Mchenja were excellent being friendly and helpful, as well as very efficient.

Food at Mchenja was always something to look forward to with inventive ways to cook and present a very varied menu. Cannot fault this aspect one bit.

Guides and scouts were readily available to easily cover the small number of guests, and amazed with their keen eyesight and enthusiasm and knowledge. We saw everything we wanted and expected to see, and possibly more."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Chongwe River Camp

Chongwe River Camp

"Great location with super facilities"

4 nights Arrived 27 Jun 2018
"Really good accommodation which offered luxury and a rustic feel in one being comfortable, clean and in a good setting, with plenty of space and facilities. Lots of staff who were extremely efficient, friendly and helpful and this was a very well run camp. A special thanks to the management who were proactive in helping to get our luggage delivered and outbound flights reconfirmed after a mix up on the inbound flight.

Food at Chongwe was slightly disappointing. What we ate was well cooked and well presented, but very uninventive and sometimes a little bland. Yes they are in the bush, but having been to Kakuli and Mchenja previously, i know what these camps are capable of.

Chongwe is set up to offer alternative activities, which was just as well as our big game sightings were not frequent, if at all. I also think their ratios of scouts to customers is not efficient. having said that, our guide Sam was excellent and his knowledge and understanding of the bush fantastic. Given he was also driving the vehicle, his ability to spot animals and bird was amazing.

Canoeing on the river, the boat cruise were both a great way to spend the afternoon and evening and offered a really good alternative to the game drives.

A real bonus is their hide at the water hole close by. For an after dinner short trip, this is a must. We managed to see the very illusive Aardvark and some porcupine from the hide in the same evening."
Good
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team