This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs M from Northumber

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

10

Excursions taken

0

Zambia 2014

Zambia between 23 Jul 2014 and 7 Aug 2014

Trip rating: Excellent
"Excellent which came up to and at times exceeded expectations.

All the camps had excellent staff who went out of their way to make our stay comfortable for all abilities. They were kind, helpful, good fun and determined to give us the best holiday possible. After requesting bottled water this was always provided and the request to be near the bar/dining because of mobility problems was provided at each camp.

Eleanor fixed this and the disabled assistance at all airports which worked well.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

Feedback form impossible to access from our PC. This sent from iPad. We have had three holidays through Expert Africa.
They are expensive but fabulous holidays. It is the people at the camps that make them so special."

Radisson Blu Hotel

Radisson Blu Hotel

"Radisson Blu fine"

1 night Arrived 24 Jul 2014
"Two very brief visits. No full meals taken. very comfortable and helpful staff"
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Nsefu

Nsefu

"Nsefu -great first camp"

3 nights Arrived 25 Jul 2014
"Very welcoming staff and excellent guides. Management efficient. Very good food."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Tafika

Tafika

"Tafika camp"

3 nights Arrived 28 Jul 2014
"John and Carole very welcoming and knowledgeable. Particularly good buffet lunches.

Unpretentious and relaxing. Very interesting cycle ride. Excellent guides."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Chiawa Camp

Chiawa Camp

"Chiawa 2014"

4 nights Arrived 31 Jul 2014
"Excellent camp with wide choice of activities. Less intimate than other camps. Management excellent.

Lots of treats! Lunch on river and secluded dinner for two (50th wedding anniversary) on river at night. Everyone very friendly, helpful and flexible with activities. Felt quantity of food a bit too much for us with fairly heavy lunch and 4 courses at night."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Old Mondoro Bushcamp

Old Mondoro Bushcamp

"Old Mondoro Bushcamp review"

3 nights Arrived 4 Aug 2014
"Beautiful quiet secluded authentic bush camp. Agreed with Grant Cummins that it is good for the soul!

All staff friendly, welcoming, helpful and always prepared to put themselves out for you. Excellent food."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Overall view of holiday.

Zambia between 8 Jul 2009 and 24 Jul 2009

Trip rating: Excellent
"This trip should have been superb, but DSM's illness restricted our enjoyment.

The aftermath of the gastro-enteritis, which included a broken ankle bone and a thrombosis, will continue to Feb 2010 at least. The gastro-enteritis bug was never identified as DSM was admitted to the Infectious Diseases Unit at Newcastle General Hospital only three weeks after the incident and ten days after we returned home."

Arranged By Lucy Copson


Nkwali

Nkwali

"Nkwali review"

2 nights Arrived 9 Jul 2009
"Good welcome at Mfuwe airport and transfer to camp. Accomodation excellent. Food excellent.

Melissa and team very friendly and looked after us very well. Good wildlife viewing."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Robin Pope Safaris walking safari

Robin Pope Safaris walking safari

"Robin Pope Safaris walking safari mobile camp review"

4 nights Arrived 11 Jul 2009
"Very interesting getting a varied and detailed picture of the whole ecosystem from Robin. A bit disappointed not to see more large wildlife. DSM had severe gastro-enteritis so missed last full day walking. Michelle and her very impressive team looked after us well for food and accommodation.

We appreciated very much the arrangements Robin made to see doctor at Flatdogs Camp. Dr. recommended the next night be spent in Nkwali which Robin organised and we were very well looked after."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Tena Tena

Tena Tena

"Tena Tena review"

3 nights Arrived 15 Jul 2009
"We missed the first night here due to DSM's illness (see previous page) but were very grateful for the special transport laid on to take us to Tena Tena for nights 2 and 3.

Everyone very welcoming and helpful as always."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village

"Kawaza Village review"

1 night Arrived 18 Jul 2009
"Overnight visit was cancelled due to DSM illness on recommendation of doctor but we made a morning visit which was very interesting.

We found the visit to the village, the school and the local clinic of great interest. We were well looked after by Lawrence.

Because of cancellation overnight we were returned to Nkwali and given accommodtion there. Melissa welcomed us back and we had another good night in Nkwali. As the aspects below do not apply I have just completed the 'good' column."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Chongwe River Camp

Chongwe River Camp

"Chongwe River Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 19 Jul 2009
"We enjoyed the variety of activities including boat and canoe trips as well as game drives and walking. Lots of interest with interaction between the different animals and very lucky with our sightings.

Very pleased to be recognised by Daniel (guide) from our visit to Chiawa 5 years earlier!

Location superb and all in all an excellent few days to complete our trip in spite of DSM still being unwell."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team