This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr W & Ms W from Worcs

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

6

Excursions taken

0

Faultless.

Zambia and 1 other country between 17 Aug 2011 and 31 Aug 2011

Trip rating: Excellent
"Robin Pope Safaris run a very very good operation and they set the standards of exellence without ever feeling the need to shout about it or shove it in one's face. We asked to go 'back stage' at Tena Tena and found a whole city of people working on our behalf - all smiling and just as happy as front of house. RPS deserve great credit for not jumping on the bandwagon and charging a single room supplement to the many people who choose (or have no choice) to travel independently.

The guiding and game viewing were excellent and it was so nice to enjoy the company of wildlife without, in most instances, anyone else around to spoil the perfect experience.

South Luangwa is a very beautiful place with a surprisingly varied landscape. It is a great destination for those who really want to appreciate an African safari rather than simply ticking the boxes and going back home.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

Although we recieved a large bundle of vouchers, these were only required in Zimbabwe.

Zimbabwe is a much better place to view Victoria Falls during the dry season and it really should be suggested as an option when putting together itineraries for visits to Zambia .

We recommend pre booking some activities at the Falls. We did this for the Flight of Angels but not for the sunset cruise and we only managed to get on one of the smaller more exclusive boats owing to a last minute cancellation. There is no point in going all that way to be disappointed"

Arranged By Claire Scott


Nkwali

Nkwali

"Nkwali review"

2 nights Arrived 18 Aug 2011
"This was our first visit to Zambia and our first experience of Robin Pope Safaris.

Both can be summed up in two simple words: "quite exceptional"."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village

"Kawaza Village review"

1 night Arrived 20 Aug 2011
"Kawaza is not a place where the emphasis is on the tourist - it is unspoilt and provides a true insight into village life. This was a wonderful addition to our trip and a great way to learn a little about the real Zambia. Half a day is for those who simply want to tick the box - stay overnight to really complete the experience.

The 'grading' given below is clearly not a comparison with any of the safari lodges. This is a no frills experience and for 'simple living' the standard is very good indeed."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Tena Tena

Tena Tena

"Tena Tena review"

3 nights Arrived 21 Aug 2011
"A fantastically run camp which provides a wonderful 'old style' safari experience.

Sadly, the course of the river has changed which meant that during our visit the view from the main camp was largely of a dry river bed and, in comparison with Nkwali and Nsefu, the location was therfore marginally less good. However, the view from the tents over a small lagoon to the rear more than compensated for this.

Due to erosion of the river bank we understand that the camp will be moving to a new location for the 2012 season."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Robin Pope Safaris bush-camp

Robin Pope Safaris bush-camp

"Robin Pope Safaris bush-camp review"

2 nights Arrived 24 Aug 2011
"Worth in spades the (small) effort and it made our safari a much more rounded experience.

We were amazed, and quite humbled, by the attention to detail in the camps."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Nsefu

Nsefu

"Nsefu review"

3 nights Arrived 26 Aug 2011
"Nsefu has it all.

A really splendid location, great guiding, lovely accommodation and excellent service delivered without fanfare or fuss. Anyone who finds reason to complain should be fed to the lions! This is a top drawer camp."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Ilala Lodge

Ilala Lodge

"Ilala Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 29 Aug 2011
"Perfect for a short stay at Victoria Falls. Uncomplicated with helpful and polite staff.

If a little pampering is required then visit the Victoria Falls Hotel for tea and cakes."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team