This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Sayari Camp
Sayari Camp
Sayari Camp
Sayari Camp
Sayari Camp
Sayari Camp
Sayari Camp
Sayari Camp
Sayari Camp

Reviews of Sayari Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

58 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Sayari Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jul-2018, 5 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Sayari Camp.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

75% success

Cheetah

50% success

Wild dog

0% success

Elephant

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Buffalo

80% success

Eland

80% success

Giraffe

80% success

Spotted Hyena

80% success

Oryx

67% success

Roan antelope

50% success

Striped Hyena

40% success

Black Rhino

25% success

Aardvark

20% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 21-30 of 58
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs A
Boca Raton

"Great Experience"

3 nights Arrived 6 Sep 2014
"At first things did not go so well... but after our initial mess up with our driver and room mix up... it turned out to be an incredible and memorable experience" See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania; 3n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs S
Florida

"Wonderful Safari"

3 nights Arrived 6 Sep 2014
"We weren't met at the airstrip! Our guide was still with previous clients. One room wasn't ready when we arrived. However, after a disconcerting start, the next few days on safari were excellent.

Our new guide/driver, Albert, was excellent. He knew just where the best viewing spots were. We saw many, many animals, as well as the wildebeests crossing the river.

We have already discussed the initial problems with Expert Africa and they are being addressed." See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania; 3n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Family of 4
UK

"Spectacular Sayari"

4 nights Arrived 6 Feb 2014
"Sayari provided us with a wonderful few days of luxurious living, personalised care and outstanding wildlife-watching. We really liked our guide Oredi, and it was great that he was made available to us for the whole stay - he really got to know our personal interests and responded accordingly. It felt to us a great time to visit Sayari; although the migration is elsewhere, the richness of the wildlife is hugely impressive, and we saw hardly any other vehicles. It was also a great benefit to be there in the breeding season (which we have never experienced before, on August trips to Africa). This meant that not only did we see, amongst many other things, the Big 5 (in a single day) but we saw all of them them with young, which was amazing - and the displaying birds were spectacular, including widow birds, black-bellied bustards, etc. doing dramatic display flights.

The level of service at the camp was quite outstanding, and Alex in particular went beyond the call of duty in delivering our recovered sick member of the party to us in the middle of the day, as well as finding us rhinos and helping with eagle identification - a wide range of skills, and an exceptional level of care. In fact the whole staff were the most cheerfully friendly and kind one could ask for.

It was also a great bonus to be able to have a walking safari as part of the visit - that gave a sense of closeness to the nature in a quite different way.

(The only slight surprise was the lack of good and relevant wildlife postcards in the otherwise pleasing shop.)" See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
John
Australia

"Sayari Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 15 Jan 2014
"Really wonderful camp. Our guide (Albert) was knowledgeable, a lovely man, and just made everything perfect.

This was the highlight place in the Serengeti!" See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania; 4n in Rwanda; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs W
Texas

"Sayari Mara Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 1 Sep 2013
"We felt Sayari and Unbutu were too close together and the game areas overlapped.

Had we known this I believe we would have booke one camp in the Tarangire area and the other at Sayari as Sayari is over the moon and quite an exceptional camp." See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania; 6n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs C
New York

"Fantastic experience at Sayari!"

3 nights Arrived 13 Jul 2013
"Staying at Sayari was the highlight of our honeymoon! We had a fantastic 3 days here, and were so lucky to see so many animals including all of the big 5!

The staff are super friendly, the food was always great and the place couldn't be more picturesque. This is the perfect place to stay to be surrounded by animals in luxurious accommodations - there was an elephant drinking from the pool one morning, and animals around our tent every night. Since it was my first trip on Safari, I did wish that on arrival we were given a better talk on safety and how to act around the animals (just to feel more prepared) as I was rather worried whenever I needed to walk to my tent from the dining areas (around 5mins).

The camp offers daily laundry service, however I don't recommend it If you have good clothes, as I was extremely disappointed when all of my white clothes were returned with blue patches that don't come out!

Overall however, this was a fantastic experience all round, that I would recommend to anyone!" See all these reviews: 6n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
TV & Family
Portugal

"A very special place"

3 nights Arrived 5 Feb 2013
"This was a great camp to finish at. Yes, it was a tented camp, but that's putting it mildly. The rooms did have canvas walls and roofs, but the wooden floors oozed class and we loved the sliding walls that made up the bathroom and wardrobe area. We also had the luxury of a bath and 200 litres of water instead of the 20 litre bucket showers! We just loved it here!

The staff here were incredible and special mention must go to Clare, the camp manager who really was an excellent host. We were treated to a memorable lunch set out under a shady tree once day and then had our own private bar for the 3 of us set up by the Mara river on our last night to watch the sun go down whilst listening to the hippos grunting. I'll never forget it as it was very special.

The pool area too was just jaw dropping simply because it was so cleverly landscaped into the surrounding rocks. I'd love one of those at home!

One day we crossed the river to the plains bordering Kenya and that was when we really felt the Serengeti get into our blood. The sheer volume and variety of wildlife was amazing, and we were lucky enough to see cheetah here as well for the last time on this trip. We had some great encounters with elephant here as well, when we had to just stop and wait for them to feed and cross the road. What a hardship!" See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs B & Ms W
Surbiton

"Out of season Sayari"

2 nights Arrived 4 Feb 2013
"A beautiful, peaceful camp. John and Carol were the perfect hosts, welcoming and great company.

The wildlife out of the wildebeest season was superb, we saw plenty of big cats, zebra, elephants and even rhino and had the perfect sundowner watching a leopard in a tree with a kill then moving on to a lioness with cubs playing on a boulder.

We really didn't want to leave this place!" See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs S
Ilkley

"Serene Sayari"

4 nights Arrived 21 Nov 2012
"This was the highlight of our trip to Tanzania. Four nights here so plenty of time to relax and unwind at the wonderful Sayari Mara Camp.

Its a big camp but certainly didn't feel like it. We had asked for - and got - a tent near the main reception areas, but it was still quiet and peaceful and not overlooked. The scenery may not have the drama of the Ngorongoro Crater but it is still beautiful and surprisingly varied. We hardly ever saw any other vehicles.

Tents are huge, and very stylish, with plenty of storage, and also have huge bathrooms with a bathtub (one of the reasons we had picked this camp - we do like a bath - & we never used the shower, although getting enough hot water to fill it proved quite a challenge!). Extra socket near the writing desk for charging things. Big private verandas with sofa and chairs.

A wonderful open, light & airy main area with bar and plenty of seating, coffee table books. At times maybe a bit too open, as during a thunderstorm, John (the manager) was left hanging on to one of the guy ropes to try to stop it getting blown away - had to do a few repairs the following morning. Separate dining tent. Swimming pool. Shop. Only a short drive from Kogatende airstrip.

Phil's request for no carrots, and mine for no cheese were well catered for and separate meals prepared as necessary! Lunch was a buffet arrangements - good idea - and served at separate tables. Dining was communal but separate tables were available if asked for.

Again, our dining companions made for entertaining evenings. On the last day we were on our own - the migration had recently left the area so the camp was quieter We were asked where we would like our lunch & dinner .. and it was served at a table specially laid for us, with a Maasai cloth at the edge of the lovely open and airy lounge area, as they thought we would be rattling round in the dining room on our own. A lovely way to end our stay.

The managers are fairly new to this camp (John and Clare) and looked after us very well - nothing was too much trouble.

Our young guide ('JB' - another John) was not in Alfred's league (but a good friend of his, he said!), but was still very good. We had another couple with us to begin with, but were then on our own in the safari vehicle. This made it easier for Phil, as he could then pick the best place to sit to accommodate his long legs (he is 6'6" tall), as one outing sitting at the back was uncomfortable.

Highly recommended for a longer stay.











" See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs D
Caymans

"Sayari Mara Camp"

3 nights Arrived 30 Sep 2012
"Sayari was a lovely lodge, modern and very open.

The manager was lovely, both helpful and attentive. We loved the dinners, which were varied and sitting at a long table, where we were able to move around, was a wonderful way to meet other guests. As we were ground level in our cabin, which was closest to the main cabin, we could see the animals on the plains during the day and early morning from our bed. The facilities were very good. It was a beautiful open camp.

We loved our guide and saw much of the Serengeti, especially "The Crossing" and our first Cheeta and Leopard. We so enjoyed this lodge and our guide." See all these reviews: 34n in Tanzania; 5n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 21-30 of 58
98%
58 reviews of Sayari Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
51
7
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Tanzania

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Tanzania.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Serengeti Migration Area

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Olakira

Olakira Camp

Comfortable, friendly and relaxed, Olakira Camp moves between the Mara River and the southern Ndutu area, in line with the wildebeest migration.


96% (60 reviews)
Nomad Serengeti Safari Camp

Nomad Serengeti Camp

Serengeti Safari Camp is a well-appointed tented camp that moves several times a year to follow the predicted path of the migration.


97% (48 reviews)
Dunia Camp

Dunia Camp

Dunia Camp is well located for the migration from December to March, and has excellent game viewing for the rest of the year.


93% (44 reviews)
Lamai Serengeti

Lamai Serengeti

Set high in the kopjes with fantastic views, Lamai Serengeti offers top service and guiding and good migration sightings from Jul-Oct.


99% (32 reviews)
Namiri Plains Camp

Namiri Plains Camp

Namiri Plains is one of the best camps in the Serengeti and its remoteness ensures a fantastic wildlife experience away from the crowds.


97% (31 reviews)
Ubuntu Camp

Ubuntu Camp

Ubuntu Camp has several locations in the Serengeti, following the wildebeest migration, so it is often in a great location to see the herds.


99% (22 reviews)
Kati Kati Camp

Kati Kati Camp

Kati Kati is a small, simple camp, which is well-positioned to explore the wildlife-rich Seronera area.


91% (20 reviews)
Kimondo Camp

Kimondo Camp

Kimondo Camp is based in the remote Lamai Wedge in the northern Serengeti from Jul–Oct, and on the southern Kusini plains from Nov–Mar.


98% (11 reviews)
Ndutu Safari Lodge

Ndutu Safari Lodge

Large and economical, but not luxurious, Ndutu Safari Lodge is well located in the southern Serengeti, so book early to get space.


93% (11 reviews)
Serengeti under Canvas

Serengeti under Canvas

Two of the three Serengeti under Canvas camps move through the Serengeti National Park every few months to follow the wildebeest migration.


100% (10 reviews)
Kleins Camp

Klein's Camp

Klein's Camp, in a private area of the northern Serengeti, sets high standards. Activities include walks, nights drives and Maasai village visits.


98% (10 reviews)
Grumeti River Camp

Grumeti River Camp

Grumeti River Camp offers a laid-back atmosphere combined with top service, first-rate food, expert guiding and an excellent location.


93% (9 reviews)
Alex Walker's Serian Serengeti

Serian Serengeti

Serian Serengeti is a mobile tented operation run by Alex Walker which moves between two locations following the wildebeest migration.


98% (8 reviews)
Lobo Wildlife Lodge

Lobo Wildlife Lodge

The large Lobo Wildlife Lodge has simple, functional rooms in a stunning location. It's a good base for exploring the north-eastern Serengeti.


72% (5 reviews)
Lemala Ewanjan

Lemala Ewanjan

Lemala Ewanjan is a comfortable and stylish tented camp in the Seronera area of the central Serengeti National Park.


100% (4 reviews)
Kubu Kubu

Kubu Kubu

Kubu Kubu is a contemporary, tented lodge, well located in the central Seronera area of the Serengeti National Park.


100% (4 reviews)
Mbalageti Lodge

Mbalageti Lodge

Mbalageti is a well-run lodge in a quiet part of the Serengeti's western corridor – an ideal location during the Apr-Jun migration.


80% (4 reviews)
Lemala Kuria Hills

Lemala Kuria Hills

Lemala Kuria Hills is a luxury permanent camp that is ideally located for wildlife all year around, but especially during the wildebeest migration.


100% (4 reviews)
Kusini Camp

Kusini Camp

Kusini Camp is permanent, luxury camp located on a beautiful kopje in a quiet, wildlife-rich corner of the south-west Serengeti.


65% (4 reviews)
Serengeti Sopa Lodge

Serengeti Sopa Lodge

Serengeti Sopa Lodge is an international-style hotel offering good-value accommodation in the central Serengeti, with lovely views of the plains.


100% (3 reviews)
Serengeti Green Camp

Serengeti Green Camp

Serengeti Green Camp is a comfortable camping experience, in your own private safari camp and at the heart of a great wildlife area.


93% (3 reviews)
Singita Mara River Tented Camp

Singita Mara River

Singita Mara River Tented Camp is a luxurious camp in the isolated and rewarding Lamai wedge region of the northern Serengeti.


87% (3 reviews)
Serengeti Walking Mobile Camp

Serengeti Walking Mobile

This fairly simple camp offers only walking activities, but it's very well done and combines well with more conventional camps or lodges.


87% (3 reviews)
Faru Faru Lodge

Faru Faru Lodge

On the north bank of the Grumeti River, Faru Faru is a small, chic hideaway in this exclusive corner of the Serengeti.


100% (3 reviews)
Serengeti Migration Camp

Migration Camp

Serengeti Migration Camp is a smart tented camp, good for the wildebeest migration from Jul–Aug, or to explore the Lobo Kopjes any time.


93% (3 reviews)
Sasakwa Lodge

Sasakwa Lodge

On a hill looking over the Serengeti plains, Sasakwa Lodge is grand, luxurious safari camp, one of the most opulent properties in Tanzania.


100% (2 reviews)
Sabora Tented Camp

Sabora Tented Camp

Sabora Tented Camp is a smart tented camp – one of the most luxurious, professional and stylish properties to be found in Tanzania.


100% (2 reviews)
Lemala Mara-Ndutu

Lemala Mara-Ndutu

Lemala Mara-Ndutu is a semi-permanent camp that moves between the north and south of the Serengeti to witness the wildebeest migration.


100% (2 reviews)
Ndutu Kati Kati

Ndutu Kati Kati

Ndutu Kati Kati is a seasonal tented camp, based in the southern Serenget from Dec-Mar, ideal for the migration as it passes through.


80% (1 review)
Lake Masek Tented Camp

Lake Masek Tented Camp

Ideally located for the wildebeest migration from Dec–Apr, Lake Masek Tented Camp is a good, mid-market safari camp.


100% (1 review)
Olduvai Camp

Olduvai Camp

Olduvai Camp lies between Ngorongoro and the southern Serengeti plains. It's a good base for the southern plains during the rainy season.


60% (1 review)
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Serengeti

Four Seasons Serengeti

The Four Seasons Safari Lodge is the only hotel in the Serengeti offering international facilities such as a gym, spa and children’s club.


100% (1 review)
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge

Serengeti Serena

The Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge is a large, hotel-style lodge and a good family-friendly base from which to explore the central Serengeti.


100% (1 review)
Seronera Wildlife Lodge

Seronera Wildlife Lodge

Seronera Wildlife Lodge is large hotel-style safari lodge in the heart of the Serengeti, offering good value and a great location.


80% (1 review)
Lemala Nanyukie

Lemala Nanyukie

Lemala Nanyukie is a comfortable and stylish tented camp that opened in 2018 in the central Serengeti.


100% (1 review)
Serengeti Bushtops

Bushtops

Serengeti Bushtops is a permanent luxury camp in the northern Serengeti, with spacious and private tents with their own hot tubs.


100% (1 review)
Mkombe's House Lamai

Mkombe's House Lamai

Mkombe's House Lamai is a fully staffed private house in the Wogakuria Kopjes district of Serengeti National Park.


100% (1 review)
Nimali Mara

Nimali Mara

Nimali Mara is a luxurious safari lodge in a quiet region of the northern Serengeti with good access to the wildebeest migration.


No reviews yet
Kirurumu Migration Camp

Kirurumu Migration Camp

Kirurumu is a rustic tented camp which moves around the Serengeti twice a year to follow the wildebeest migration.


No reviews yet
Mara Mara

Mara Mara

Mara Mara is a smart tented camp in the northern Serengeti, situated on a small hill close to the Mara River.


No reviews yet
Mara Kati Kati

Mara Kati Kati

Mara Kati Kati is a simple bush camp in the northern Serengeti, based from Jul-Oct near the Mara River for the wildebeest migration.


No reviews yet
Nimali Serengeti

Nimali Serengeti

Opened in July 2017, Nimali Serengeti is a smart, permanent tented camp located in the Seronera area of the central Serengeti.


No reviews yet
Taasa Lodge

Taasa Lodge

Taasa Lodge is a slightly quirky option offering guided walks and night game drives, which are not permitted in Serengeti National Park.


No reviews yet
Kirawira Camp

Kirawira Camp

Set high on a hill, in the Serengeti's western corridor, Kirawira is a relatively large tented camp in the Serena group.


No reviews yet
Mbuzi Mawe

Mbuzi Mawe

Mbuze Mawe is a comfortable tented camp in a convenient, central-north location when driving through the Serengeti.


No reviews yet
Serengeti Pioneer Camp

Serengeti Pioneer Camp

Serengeti Pioneer Camp is a luxurious tented camp in the central Serengeti, styled on African explorers' camps of the early 20th century.


No reviews yet
Mwiba Lodge

Mwiba Lodge

Mwiba Lodge is a luxurious property located on a private concession on the edge of the southern Serengeti.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa