This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs C from Hants

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

5

Excursions taken

0

My Sep 2014 trip

Tanzania and 1 other country between 27 Sep 2014 and 13 Oct 2014

Trip rating: Excellent
"The trip was fantastic and a trip of a lifetime. We will have so many memories of the wildlife and Tanzania. Many thanks to Ellie for arranging the trip and giving guidance and recommendations as to the Camps and itinerary.

We should also like to recommend our guide Albert who we had for 8 days, who was very personable and extremely knowledgeable and made the trip so enjoyable.

We were probably slightly disappointed with Zanzibar as a place to visit and if we were arranging the trip again might go for the mainland coast or go for one of the other islands."

Oliver's Camp

Oliver's Camp

"Oliver's Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 28 Sep 2014
"We had a fantastic time at Oliver's Camp. The camp is superbly sited in Tarangire National Park and we had so many wildlife sightings whilst we were there, we were amazed at the number of elephants.

the camp is very well organized and efficiently run, staff are very friendly. The relief manager Michelle when we were there was excellent and ran a very tight operation. The food and facilities were equally good. The outside shower was fantastic, far better than the indoor one. We were in tent 7.

We went on a morning's walking safari when we were there and it proved most worthwhile and informative, Milton the walking guide was very knowledgeable."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Gibb's Farm

Gibb's Farm

"Gibb's Farm review"

2 nights Arrived 1 Oct 2014
"Gibbs Farm was an excellent base for the visit to the Crater, despite the early start.

It was a complete contrast to the safari camps. Our cottage (room 2) was palatial with all the facilities.. The grounds and gardens were lovely and very well maintained.

The food was as you would expect very good making use of many of the home grown fruits and vegetables.

We can thoroughly recommend the laundry service.

We were lucky to have a very close encounter with a rhino during our visit to the Crater"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Dunia Camp

Dunia Camp

"Dunia Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 3 Oct 2014
"We were unfortunate to experience heavy rains on the two afternoons we were at the camp and were amazed how Angel and her staff coped in such conditions. The umbrellas and wellingtons provided were very welcome.

We saw superb wildlife at the camp when it was not raining as the early rains meant that the herds had already migrated to the area.

The bucket showers worked surprisingly efficiently and we were amazed hot they got the water in the circumstances.

The food was very good and we had a fantastic experience at the camp, as it was different from Oliver's and Sayari Camp."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Sayari Camp

Sayari Camp

"Sayari Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 5 Oct 2014
"We had a great stay at Sayari. Obviously it was more luxurious than Oliver's Camp and Dunia Camp.

The facilities and food were very good. Katherine and Ross the camp mangers were excellent hosts and very helpful.

All the staff were very friendly.

The camp guides and vehicles were excellent and we had very good companions in our camp vehicle for our safari drives. The camp were able to rustle up and deliver a very impressive lunch at short notice whist we were able to stay in position to watch a crossing."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Matemwe Lodge

Matemwe Lodge

"Matemwe Lodge review"

5 nights Arrived 8 Oct 2014
"Matemwe Lodge has a superb location by the coast. It was magical for our room to be so close to the sea and hear the waves crashing on the reef whist we were in our room.

The staff and managers were all very helpful and friendly and provided excellent service.

We felt that our room 12 was very good, but on first impressions was a little tired. .

The Lodge was very quiet when we were there probably under half full which detracted from the atmosphere.

We were slightly disappointed with the food, and enjoyed the food more at the safari camps. The range was slightly limited and we expected more variety in the seafood, this may be due to the low number of guests. However, the barbeque night was excellent.

we went on a trip to Stone Town and a Spice Tour organised by the hotel which worked well."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team