This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Marilyn & Duane from CA

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

7

Excursions taken

3

Excellent trip, well organized, great guide

Tanzania and 1 other country between 26 Jul 2019 and 16 Aug 2019

Trip rating: Excellent
"A long trip, which cover. Overall key to success was our driver/guide Felix. An excellent spotter with terrific knowledge of the parks. We were very lucky to be with Felix for 10 days.
We thought all our lodges and camps were fine. Tarangire Safari Lodge was our overall favorite with great location and comfortable basic room. Nomad Serengeti Camp was the best camp, but also quite expensive. You do get great service for the money.
Animals and a sense of central Africa are why we went. Our hopes were well met. Every day was a new adventure.
There were no logistical problems, everything happened as planned. We simply had to be ready to get up and going early every day to see as much as we could.
Thanks for arranging such a great trip.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service: One suggestion about dinners. Only Nomad Serengeti Camp offered a communal dining table for dinner. We would have like that option at every camp. Our fellow travelers seemed to be a folks we would have like to get to know a bit better."

Arranged By Maruska Adye-Rowe


Airport Planet Lodge

Airport Planet Lodge

"Fine place"

1 night Arrived 27 Jul 2019
"We used Airport Planet Lodge to get through jet lag. In retrospect we should have gone directly to Rivertrees, a much nicer place with ore to see and do. No knock on Airport Planet. The room was fine, people were great, food was fine. Just nothing really to do there."
Good
Location
Average
Service
Excellent
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Rivertrees Country Inn

Rivertrees Country Inn

"Great intro to Tanzania"

2 nights Arrived 28 Jul 2019
"Rivertrees is a lovely lodge with expansive grounds that attract monkeys. Simply wandering around the grounds to see monkeys was fun. We daytripped into Arusha to see the sights. The Art Museum and crafts cente are fabulous. The rest of Arusha not so much. We also booked a one day grame drive in Arusha National Park that was excellent, quite a good variety of animals and terrain, including a canoe paddle on a lake with some hippos."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Tarangire Safari Lodge

Tarangire Safari Lodge

"Great location"

2 nights Arrived 30 Jul 2019
"We were in one of the built cottages but thought we were to stay in a tent cottages. Our cottage was just fine, but a tent would have also been just fine. Tarangire Park is terrific, lots of animals with interesting terrain. It felt like a ore condensed and manageable Serengeti. The view from the Lodge on the rift edge overlooking a big area of the Park is great.

Food and service were fine. But here we started to miss having a communal table to meet and share the day with others. We wish all the lodges could have offered a communal table option at dinner.

I am not going to do animals by lodge, we were 11 days on safari, the details by lodge blur"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Rhino Lodge

Rhino Lodge

"Interesting Place"

2 nights Arrived 1 Aug 2019
"Decent room, lodge and food. Nothing great, nothing bad. The weather was pretty chilly and foggy in the mornings, and chilly at night. The lodge had Waterbucks come right up to our room deck, fun, with a view into the forest. Based on weather there would have been no benefit to a pricier lodge overlooking the crater, nothing would have been seen.
It was nice having a fire in the wood stove each night, that helped."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Lake Manyara Safari

Lake Manyara Safari

"A quick look."

1 Aug 2019 • All-day excursion

We spent a few hours driving through Lake Manyara. It felt more grounded than our other game drives.. Interesting place, but not a highlight
Safari in Ngorongoro Crater

Safari in Ngorongoro Crater

"Safari in Ngorongoro Crater review Great wild"

2 Aug 2019 • All-day excursion

The Crater is justifiabl famous for its profusion of wildlife. We saw lions eating not far from the road, both fascinating and kind of gross. Lots of other critters, never far apart. A hint of a rhino, which remained elusive for us the entire trip. One full day is right for the Crater. An early start, picnic breakfast and lunch, then out as it starts to get dark. A long and full day.
Excellent
Kati Kati Camp

Kati Kati Camp

"Very nice"

2 nights Arrived 3 Aug 2019
"We enjoyed the Kati Kati tented camp. Hyenas in in or on the edge of camp both nights, we liked that. Being able to do fame drives from right outside your tent is great. Hot water delivered for showers was easy and adequate. Tents are big and comfortable. It took us no time to feel fine with hearing lions and hyenas close by at night.
Sitting around a big bonfire before dinner every night was very nice."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Olduvai Gorge visit

Olduvai Gorge visit

"Very interesting hislory"

3 Aug 2019 • All-day excursion

Olduvai Gorge is famous for its research. The museum part was a bit disappointing, some good stuff but a lot more words than displays. I think it could be more engaging given the work the Leakey’s did. I am glad we saw it, an iconic place in the world.
Good
Nomad Serengeti Safari Camp

Nomad Serengeti Safari Camp

"Superb camp"

3 nights Arrived 5 Aug 2019
"Nomad Serengeti Safari Camp was our favorite stay. Tents were a step up from Kati Kati, no know on their’s. Dining tent was our favorite setup with a standard communal table for dinner with always interesting people to chat with about their experiences.
Service was excellent, food was fine. Food is never going to be great given the logistics of getting food into any of these camps and lodges.
But, the price was very high. When I look back at the rack rate prices for Kati Kati and Nomad I don’t think Nomad offers that much more value than Kati Kati.
Location is great. We had zebras grazing right on the edge of our tent one late afternoon, oblivious as I sat in a chair outside the tent less than 2m from them. Wildebeests at times were within sight, and smell, of the tent. Loved all that."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Hotel des Mille Collines

Hotel des Mille Collines

"Excellent hotel"

2 nights Arrived 8 Aug 2019
"The famous “Hotel Rwanda” of movie fame. This part of Kigali and the hotel feel pretty upscale. Good live music in an outside bar every night.
We were here to rest, clean up and get a city vibe after two weeks in Tanzania on safari.
Our style in cities is to walk. This clearly was not what hotel or safari companies wanted, they all wanted us to buy a city tour. We were very glad we went on our own. A big hit from our trip was walking to the Nyamirambo neighborhood and women’s center. The women there offer a fantastic local tour of he neighborhood and their work to economically empower local women. Inspirational, no hype, all local and a wonderful lunch of local foods prepared and served in the house of one of the women. We spent the better part of one day doing this and thoroughly enjoyed it.
The mandatory thing to do in Kigali is visit the Genocide Memorial. That tragedy is well documented, no holds barred, but ultimately uplifting. Rwanda has done a remarkable job of reconciliation and healing. The leadership of the country and its people have managed to accomplish something I would have never thought possible. Memorial is a fairly short cab drive, great audio guides inside, free but please leave a generous donation to help keep sending this message of forgiveness and healing."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team