This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Dalys from London

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

5

Excursions taken

2

Holiday of a lifetime

Tanzania between 23 Jun 2019 and 6 Jul 2019

Trip rating: Excellent
"Expert Africa put together the most wonderful holiday ever. We were lucky to have two weeks - so spent 8 days doing the classic northern circuit where to see the wild animals so close was just breathtaking.

The Asila guides - Fazo in particular - are worth their weight in gold to show you a real authentic experience and not a tick-box encounter with animals. We saw so much and learnt so much.

All the accommodation was very good and we particularly liked the more authentic canvas tent experience that Kati Kati gave us as we really felt on safari then. Don't just opt for the big lodges!

Tanzania is so beautiful and the wildlife sublime. I was born there and had never been back but was overwhelmed by the positivity and humour of the Tanzanians.

The holiday exceeded all my expectations as I really felt that we had had a more authentic genuine trip and seen so much. it was very nice to finish down in Selous by the lakes and chill out a bit more while still going on game drives and boat trips.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

I think you are all brilliant and don't know how you could improve.

The booking of the flights is complicated and we really appreciated Clare's imput as it is so difficult to understand distances/ times etc.

I have recommended your company to many of my friends - and Fazo our guide who was amazing - so thank you for making this special trip so amazing."

Arranged By Jessica Plumb


Rivertrees Country Inn

Rivertrees Country Inn

"comfortable "

1 night Arrived 23 Jun 2019
"We only stayed one night but everything was very pleasant. The dining room is lovely.

We were entertained by the monkeys trying to get into the lodges!"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Maramboi Tented Camp

Maramboi Tented Camp

"Very friendly and fun"

3 nights Arrived 24 Jun 2019
"Breakfast and lunch on the terrace was great. The noodles were great in particular. We really liked sundowners by the pool and the amazing vegetarian samoas that were provided as snacks. The lodges were really nice and we had great views of lake Manyara. The staff were outstanding - very friendly, remembered everyone's names and were genuinely warm and helpful.

We really liked the walk and talk by Doma down to the lake but would strongly recommend that no drones are allowed to fly in a mixed group. It really spoilt the tranquillity of the lake and sunset. The Americans concerned just did not appreciate how intrusive and outrageous this was.

Overall, however, this was a great camp and I although there were quite a few guests - the service and experience was really good and individual"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Ngorongoro Farmhouse Lodge

Ngorongoro Farmhouse Lodge

"Tranquil and very convenient"

2 nights Arrived 27 Jun 2019
"It is really well situated for a swift drive to the Crater and avoids all the mist that some of the lodges on the rim can experience. I really liked the very colonial feel to it with the coffee plantation and extensive and delicious vegetable garden which provides such wonderful produce.

The rooms are huge and we really appreciated the offer of a fire and hot water bottles in the bed as it was not that warm when we were there at the end of June.

The dining room and buffet was excellent and the quality of the food very high."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Lake Manyara Safari

Lake Manyara Safari

"Delightful drive with amazing lion siting"

27 Jun 2019 • All-day excursion

We drove the whole length of the park which was actually really interesting.

The landscape is varied and as well as the extensive birdlife we saw the blue monkey playing and feeding and a beautiful female lion lounging on a tree at one of the campsites. one of the best photos I have!

Fazo our guide is absolutely wonderful and as well as that wildlife we also so various elephants at close range.
Excellent
Safari in Ngorongoro Crater

Safari in Ngorongoro Crater

"Stunning and riveting lion-fest"

28 Jun 2019 • All-day excursion

Stunningly beautiful place.

We were captivated by the site of lions, hyenas and jackals all jostling for their share of the unfortunate buffalo. Just like a David Attenborough documentary.

Great adventure trying to spot the lions and a close encounter with an enormous beautiful bull elephant.
Excellent
Kati Kati Camp

Kati Kati Camp

"Best safari experience"

3 nights Arrived 29 Jun 2019
"We absolutely loved this camp! unbelieveably comfortable with superb food and the best wifi on the trip!

It felt so authentic and romantic to be in this camp in the Serengeti with animals moving through and around the temporary camp. Sitting by the fire with a sundowner watching the sunset is a moment we will all treasure. It is fabulous to just drive out in the morning looking for animals.

The service was excellent and the bucket showers brilliant. I was a little nervous about taking my family there - but we all adored it and felt that it was a really special experience that you just don't get with the more permanent lodges."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Siwandu

Siwandu

"Luxurious and restful"

4 nights Arrived 2 Jul 2019
"Siwandu was a haven of luxury and rest after the long drives of the Northern safari. The rooms with views of the lake - elephants, hippos and crocodiles was wonderful and showering under the stars so memerable. The pool and lounge area was very nice and the food was London restaurant quality - imaginative and delicious.

We appreciated having lunch on the boat and adored the fly fishing with the crocodiles keeping an eye on us. The walking safari with Allan was magical - I loved all the details of the tracks, birds and animals.

There is not as much big five wildlife as on the northern circuit - but plenty of hippos, crocodiles, lions and hyenas and birds of course. The game drives - two a day always with a sundowner at the end were interesting.

The service - especially from our amazing butler Matthew was superb and so much fun.

If you want a more luxurious time and not be in a jeep all day then this is the perfect place. We were lucky enough to have both experiences and I loved the northern circuit which we did in 8 days and see different parts of Tanzania - which is such a beautiful country with happy, positive and fun people."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team