This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs D from Caymans

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

10

Excursions taken

0

My Sep 2012 trip

Tanzania and 1 other country between 19 Sep 2012 and 28 Oct 2012

Trip rating: Excellent
"Our trip was a once in a lifetime experience. One that will never be forgotten.

All the camps and lodges were different, as were the national parks and animal reserves. And we loved them all. We saw all the animals and birds in their natural habitat. Our guides were wonderful and very knowledgeable. WE were lucky that we had our own guide and jeep all the time, except for Lamai Serengeti. It made it easy for us to see all the animals in comfort. We have more Camps and Lodges to see in Tanzania.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

None, you have done a marvelous safari tour for us."

Arranged By Claire Scott


Hatari Lodge

Hatari Lodge

"Hatari Lodge"

3 nights Arrived 19 Sep 2012
"WE enjoyed Hatari and were thrilled with our room under the main building, as it overlooked a watering hole about 100 ft. from our room.

We could sit in our room and watch the animals come to drink, which we did on more than one occasion. The location was especially nice, as with my knees short even walks are best. The guides were careful and considerate of my knees. The food was good and the one long table allowed you to meet the guests easily. Our room was decorated beautifully. It was a friendly lodge."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Tarangire Safari Lodge

Tarangire Safari Lodge

"Treetops at Tarangire"

4 nights Arrived 22 Sep 2012
"We stayed at Treetops Tarangire. It was super, attention could have not been better, food excellent.

We were given the closest cabin with a ramp, so I did not have to climb stairs. It was wonderful to watch the animals at their water hole below the pool. They had a wonderful Massai BBQ dinner with singing and dancing one evening.

Here we got a guide, who would be with us here and at The Manor. Everyone was so friendly and helpful. We loved Treetops."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
The Manor

The Manor

"The Manor"

4 nights Arrived 26 Sep 2012
"The Manor reminded us of Cape Dutch South Africa. The buildings were beautiful and the gardens were gorgeous. Everything was pristine white with manicured lawns. The service was one of the best.

It was lovely to sit in the living room in front of a fire in the cool of the evening, hearing soft music. You felt like you were in another era. The attention we received in the Manor and in our room was fantastic......we were very pampered. The food was European with Tanzanian accents. Every dinner was different and superb. They a wonderful assortment of African wines that were delicious. The Manager, Mr. Rogers and the staff were excellent.

We would definitely return here."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Sayari Camp

Sayari Camp

"Sayari Mara Camp"

3 nights Arrived 30 Sep 2012
"Sayari was a lovely lodge, modern and very open.

The manager was lovely, both helpful and attentive. We loved the dinners, which were varied and sitting at a long table, where we were able to move around, was a wonderful way to meet other guests. As we were ground level in our cabin, which was closest to the main cabin, we could see the animals on the plains during the day and early morning from our bed. The facilities were very good. It was a beautiful open camp.

We loved our guide and saw much of the Serengeti, especially "The Crossing" and our first Cheeta and Leopard. We so enjoyed this lodge and our guide."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Lamai Serengeti

Lamai Serengeti

"Lamai Serengeti"

4 nights Arrived 3 Oct 2012
"This lodge was different from Sayari Mara, as it is located in the hills and blends with it's surroundings. Here you see the cats and we concentrated on them. We had another superb guide and got close ups of a Cheetah finishing her dinner. We saw a different part of the Serengeti and had a wonderful time.

Our Banda was close to the Main House and it was nice to have our guides join us for drinks before dinner to talk about what we had seen and to plan for tomorrow. The food was delicious and varied with every meal. We had breakfast on the Lamai Wedge every morning, lunch back in camp, and a delicious dinner in the main house every evening. The managers Sacha and Tamilyn, were excellent and made everyone feel like part of a family. They had the ability to mix the guests, and were very knowledgeable about Tanzania. We loved the feel of the open bandas and the views down onto the plains. We also loved the decor of our open banda.

We would love to return again."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Oyster Bay

Oyster Bay

"Oyster Bay"

2 nights Arrived 7 Oct 2012
"Oyster Bay in Dar es Salaam is a small boutique hotel done in white with African woods and unusual art work. It is clean and
plush with many open areas onto the lovely gardens and Lap pool in the back.

The food was superb and served perfectly with delicious african wines. The staff and manager, Maretha, were fantastic. We could not wish for better care. All the rooms have a lovely view onto Oyster Bay. We took two breaks here during our Safari and it was very relaxing. It is the place to stay in Dar es Salaam.

We will definitely return again."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Mwagusi Safari Camp

Mwagusi Safari Camp

"Mwagusi Safari Camp"

4 nights Arrived 9 Oct 2012
"Of all the camps and lodges we stayed in, this was our least memorable. It is known for the ability to see the cats, Lions, Cheetah, and Leopard along with the other wild animals. We also saw a Caracol, which is very rare. Our guide was fantastic and we had a wonderful time with him. WE went out early, had breakfast in the bush, returned for lunch, went out in the later part of the afternoon when it was cool, returning to camp by 6:30. The camp is located on a river, which while we were there was dry. Dinner is served in a different place in the river bed each evening. Many times the food was cold and was not very imaginative.

Our banda was located close to the main house, which was good for me, as the ground was lumpy and sandy and not easy for me to walk in. Our guides and the Massai, who always took us to our banda in the early evening when we returned from our drive and back after our dinner was very careful and cautious of me. The location was pretty and the screened bandas blended with the surroundings, but they only use lights when you ARE IN your banda, turning them off when you leave. You are in complete darkness with a flash light or kerosene lamp to guide you over rough ground to dinner, This was very unsettling as you could hear the animals hunting for food and they sounded very close.

The male manager was too young and did not know how to blend the guests and for most of our stay was absent. His counterpart was a girl from Germany, who was very good, but just had too much to do with meeting, greeting, accounts and running a school for prospective guides where they learn about the birds, animals, and English. We will definitely not return."
Average
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Terrible
Facilities
Average
Beho Beho

Beho Beho

"Beho Beho"

8 nights Arrived 13 Oct 2012
"Beho Beho is heaven !!!!

It is located on a hill overlooking the plains and the Msimi River, which is now a dried riverbed. Tho it is the dry season and they needed rain badly, it was greener than the other camps we have been in. The bandas are located on the hill and blending with their surroundings. These bandas, which have been built by the manager and guides using local stones and wood, are completely open at the front with an electric wire below the porch floor. You have all the amenities of home with a view. We saw all the animals from our porch, including a leopard.

The managers, Walter and Karin, are fantastic at mixing the guests and organizing anything you desire. Everyone feels like family soon after you arrive. The staff have been there for years and the The Two Brothers Laundry makes the clothes look like new. The food is superb, varied and too plentiful. The Barman, Simba, makes a wicked drink before dinner and a rousting game of Snooker on a table brought from England is played most nights after dinner. All the staff are attentive and cannot be more helpful.

The guides are some of the best we have had with Walter and Ono being the guides with the riffles for the walking safaris. Beho Beho has anything you might want from Internet to a swimming pool. We were able to see all the animals and many lovely and rare birds. Located on the Selous, one of the largest game reserves in the world, the largest being Greenland.

The Baileys, the owners for many many years have given Beho Beho it's essence. It is a place one must visit, and one that you will never forget.

We will definitely return."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Baraza Resort & Spa

Baraza Resort & Spa

"Baraza Resort and Spa"

5 nights Arrived 21 Oct 2012
"Baraza is located on the west side of Zanzibar, which is a part of Tanzania. It is a very lovely, lush hotel on the Indian Ocean with a white sand beach, one of the 30 best beaches in the world.

The food is varied and served in different areas. It has a very definite Arab/Indian flavor, and it is delicious. The staff are excellent and very attentive. Most of the people we met were going to Zanzibar at the finish of their safari, and you know why when you arrive. It is the perfect place to relax and let the world go by. I would say that Baraza is one of their finest hotels.

It is a place to visit again."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Oyster Bay

Oyster Bay

"Oyster Bay review"

2 nights Arrived 26 Oct 2012
"I have written about Oyster Bay Hotel previously. [Ed: see below]"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team