This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
DumaTau Camp
DumaTau Camp
DumaTau Camp

Reviews of DumaTau

Wildlife sightings and reviews

47 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited DumaTau and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 21-30 of 47
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs & Mr P
Essex

"Duma Tau was wonderful"

3 nights Arrived 28 Jul 2013
"The new Duma Tau is a delight. The tents are lovely and the main building is magical at night.

We saw a huge range of animals and birds.

Excellent guide, Mocks, seemed to be able to find things to order. We even saw a cheetah, the only sighting in our last two visits to Botswana (they used to be a lot easier to find). Difficult to pick out highlights. We saw the wild dogs returning to their den and the puppies all coming out to suckle. Lunch on the boat while watching an enormous herd of elephants swimming across the Linyanti River was also something very special. We saw a leopard lounging in a tree then making a rapid descent to make an attempt at passing impala. Huge variety of birds and animals in the beautiful scenery along the Savute Channel.

'Roads' in this area are deep sand making for very bumpy drives, may not be an ideal area for anyone with back problems." See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana; 5n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs J
Australia

"Our family loved Duma Tau"

3 nights Arrived 29 Jun 2013
"As our first ever Safari Camp we sure struck it lucky at Duma Tau. Not only were the tents at the new camp absolutely beautiful, the lounge area open and sunny but Johann, Anya, and all the staff were marvelous. Sitting at either the bar chatting to Mr. B or at the dining table, looking over the river was Idyllic. With such a setting we did not object at all to being woken early, given a variety of yummy breakfast options, and put in a Safari vehicle with hot water bottles to head off on Safari. Our guide Tank with his wonderful knowledge, great driving skills and wonderful sense of humour made our stay there hard to beat. Our sunset fishing trip on the big boat was also a lot of fun.

Being next to the river and having a variety of animals wandering between the tents at any time day or night, does add to the experience. Although despite insisting she was fine on her own, our adult daughter did get a fright and I would recommend nervous people, especially children sharing tents." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs D
Wiltshire

"Duma Tau"

3 nights Arrived 22 May 2013
"When we left Chitabe we gave the feedback that is repeated in the overall trip comments. By the time we reached Duma Tau 2 hours later they had received that feedback and went to great lengths to make up for our concerns.

The camp is amazing - indeed its probably a bit too slick for my tastes - and the service was truly outstanding. There was also more wildlife in camp than in any of the others - including dozens of elephants plus a black Mamba!

The drives were good and in particular there were fantastic different lion sightings every day including very young cubs and also wild dogs.



" See all these reviews: 16n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs & Mr M
Florida

"DumaTau review"

3 nights Arrived 25 Apr 2013
"Upon arrival here we trekked on the way to the camp along the Linyati River and saw a great variety of animals and beautiful scenery. We were able to observe several prides of lions and again a good variety of animals. One morning we found a pride breakfasting on a juvenile elephant between bouts of resting/sleeping.

Animal viewing was very good here and social activities such as having lunch on a barge in a Linyati channel was fun. The staff was fun to be with and very proud of the camp and allowed us to tour the facility behind scenes which was incredibly interesting. Our guide, Moses, was excellent. The food was also very good.

The manager of training guides even arranged for us to see a guide we had had on our safari the previous year when we were at Savute." See all these reviews: 15n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr L & Mr K
London

"Duma Tau - atmospheric new camp"

3 nights Arrived 17 Nov 2012
"Food (especially breakfast and brunch) was suprisingly good.

Personally not keen on the habit of 'introducing' each dinner/wines - it is very unnatural. A note on the table would be perfectly OK.

Very much liked the style and atmosphere of the camp/rooms. During the day the rooms got very hot and the overhead fan could definitely be more effective.

Excellent guide (Moses) who took plenty of opportunities to highlight smaller/less noticeable plants/animlas which gave a much more varied understanding of the area and ecosystem.

There seems to be a ring around the camp where it is unlikely to see anything - each game drive we had to travel 15-20mins beofre we saw anything of interest. Having said that, a pride of lions were all in and around the camp the day before we arrived.

One evening we had an influx of mosquito/bugs but fortunately the following 2 nights the wind blew them away.

General landscape of hte concession very attractive down by Linyanti River + Savuti Chanel.

The promotional material indicated there was a swimming pool - there is not." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr N
Harefield

"Lion's country"

3 nights Arrived 20 Oct 2012
"The new Duma Tau camp is only a couple of months old and had a slightly different feel to the 3 other camps i stayed at. It felt slightly new in places. Some people will love that but i felt it was just lacking the rustic feel of the other camps.

All the staff were great and the the food was of the same high standard as the other camps.

My guide was Bobby and he was great throughout the trip. He spent a lot more time than other guides explaining the ecology and history of the Delta, though he knew how to put his foot down when there was action we needed to see. He also took us out on a boat one afternoon (between drives) to watch the Elephants crossing the lagoon, and took me fishing the other afternoon i had in camp.

Game viewing was spectacular with numerous Lion Sightings which included watching a pride of Lions steal a Leopards kill. We also saw plenty of Leopards and lots of other game.

The Elephants regularly cross the lagoon near camp and this is a truly amazing sight to watch." See all these reviews: 12n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Miss RK
USA

"The new Duma Tau is a gorgeous camp"

3 nights Arrived 3 Oct 2012
"We visited Duma Tua the first week in October 2012 shortly after they re-opened in their new location. The camp is a classic camp but in my opinion should be a Premier camp for their decor alone. I was amazed at how well decorated the tents were.

If you are from the US, the decor is very Restoration Hardware and the rooms are gorgeous. Amazingly, I did not see one bug in our room the entire time. The Linyanti area was extremely hot and dry during our stay and supposedly were having a bit of a heat wave as one of the days reach 44C. This area this time of year is very dry so you may not see much greenery. The camp is located right on the water (surprisingly hardly any mosquitoes) and at night, we would constantly hear the hippos and the elephants swimming across the water. Noises that I will miss forever and that I found quite comforting.

We saw all the Big 5 except the Rhino as the do not have any in this area. Many hippos, giraffes, hyenas, wild dogs, many african eagles and owls, impalas, kudus, baboons, vultures, ostrichs, etc. A couple of the highlights were watching the elephants swim across the chanel. It was done so elegantly with their snorkels out of the water. Another highlight was taking their pontoon boat and watching a mother elephant tyring to teach her baby how to swim across the channel. The baby was so naughty that he was going in the opposite direction but quite a sight to see as the mother would swim half way and have to come back because her baby was not following.

Another highlight was watching the wild dogs chase a rabbit. The entire scene was so fast that it was like a cartoon. Wild dogs were also chasing the impalas. The impalas won. Another major highlight was tracking a leopard and watch it stalk an injured impala. The other impalas sent out a warning and the leopard lost its element of surprise. Another highlight was seeing a hippo graze while out of the water which I guess is not very common. Because there is more water in this area, the animals were easier to spot by the water. We did also see a couple of shy male lions but they were new to the area so were in hiding most of the time. Overall, it was a great area. We spent 3 nights at this camp but I feel that 2 would have been sufficient. Two nights per camp is enough as you will have plenty of drives and it is great to see other areas.

Our Guide was very good and the service was excellent. I would highly recommend this camp

" See all these reviews: 5n in Botswana; 2n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Prof & Mrs H
Bristol

"Dum,a Tau is great"

3 nights Arrived 13 Jun 2011
"Fabulous. Excellent friendly staff who were very attentive and helpful.

The small nature of the camp and the limitations of numbers in the land rovers and the rule of no more than three land rovers around game at any one time made this a great game viewing experience. Our guide, Ron, was an outstanding tracker and found us leopard on three days!" See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Dr L
Maryland

"Lovely camp at Duma Tau"

2 nights Arrived 9 Jun 2011
"Our guide, Ron, was terrific. It was VERY cold both nights - food was OK, a lot but not terrific" See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr R
Paris

"DumaTau review"

2 nights Arrived 1 Jun 2011
"We liked this place very much. Staff was very warm and friendly, we liked our guide and saw an amazing amount of wildlife and they were serious about showing it to us.

Only positive things to say." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Showing 21-30 of 47
95%
47 reviews of DumaTau by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
40
3
4
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Kwando-Linyanti area

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Lagoon Camp

Lagoon Camp

Within the vast Kwando Reserve, renowned for its wild dogs, Lagoon Camp offers excellent game viewing that focuses on predators.


94% (229 reviews)
Lebala Camp

Lebala Camp

With enthusiastic guides and trackers, Lebala – in a vast private reserve – is a particularly good camp for seeking wild dogs..


95% (174 reviews)
Selinda Camp

Selinda Camp

In an attractive area that is particularly rich in game between June and November, the luxurious Selinda Camp caters particularly well for photographers.


96% (66 reviews)
Linyanti Bush Camp

Linyanti Bush Camp

An increasingly rare find in Botswana, Linyanti Bush Camp blends relative simplicity with numerous activities and very good guiding.


89% (38 reviews)
Savuti Camp

Savuti Camp

For years the Savuti Channel ran dry, but it's now flowing again and this newly refurbished, 7-room lodge has pride of place to witness the spectacle.


97% (26 reviews)
Selinda Explorers Camp

Selinda Explorers Camp

The luxurious, traditional tented Selinda Explorers Camp offers a mix of walking, canoeing and game drives led by really top notch guides in a game-rich area.


96% (17 reviews)
Motswiri Camp

Motswiri Camp

Motswiri is a super little camp with just five tents, each overlooking the Selinda Spillway. Come especially for walking, birdwatching, canoeing and horseriding safaris.


99% (16 reviews)
Zarafa Camp

Zarafa Camp

Zarafa is an exclusive camp overlooking the scenic Zibadianja Lagoon within the Selinda Reserve, a particularly game-rich area between June and early November.


100% (13 reviews)
Kings Pool

Kings Pool

King’s Pool is a top-end luxury safari camp with a price tag to match; the game viewing can be very good during the dry season.


71% (7 reviews)
Linyanti Ebony

Linyanti Ebony

Independently owned and run, the small Linyanti Ebony sits on the same site as Linyanti Bush Camp, with similarly high standards of guiding, and a strong emphasis on the wildlife experience.


100% (6 reviews)
Selinda Adventure Trail

Selinda Adventure Trail

The Selinda Adventure Trail offers a novel and tranquil way to travel through part of Botswana's pristine wilderness whilst staying in comfortable fly-camps and led by a knowledgeable guide.


100% (4 reviews)
Little Motswiri

Little Motswiri

A simple and remote satellite camp, Little Motswiri focuses on non-motorised activities, particularly walking and horseriding. It enables guests to explore 120,000 acres of private wilderness around the Selinda Spillway.


100% (1 review)
Footsteps across the Linyanti

Footsteps across Linyanti

Footsteps Across the Linyanti is the only true mobile walking safari we know of in Botswana. Explore a wild and remote wilderness on foot with a knowledgeable guide.


40% (1 review)
Linyanti Expeditions
No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa