This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
DumaTau Camp
DumaTau Camp
DumaTau Camp

Reviews of DumaTau

Wildlife sightings and reviews

47 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited DumaTau and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 31-40 of 47
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs P
W Yorks

"DumaTau review"

2 nights Arrived 21 May 2011
"Our final camp and perhaps the one we felt was less welcoming than the other ones that we had stayed at. The staff were professional and eficient but similar to Chitbae there was a less homely feel than the Kwando camps.

The camp was, roughly the same size of lagoon camp, connected by boardwalks and was perfectly located adjacent to a watercourse which improved the sightings around camp compared to Chitabe.

The room provided similar faciliites to the other camps we visited but was showing signs of wear (including numerous tears in the mosquito net) and the size of the room was a slight issue in that the toilet was seperated from the bed by a curtain whereas in previous camps had been a seperate room. The outside area was cramped with the space for only one sun bed and had privacy issues (a window of room 2 looked straight onto the outdoor shower of our room)

However, the facilities around camp were good and it has an amazing pool area with swing beds that overlooks the watercourse and can provide nice views of the local wildlife whilst lazing around during the day. Food was of similar standard to Chitabe and a bush dinner on the first night added welcome variety. Activities to our knowledge consists only of game drives but were well thought out, with all the guides working as a team to improve the chances of good sightings and included a nice scenic drive to see the Savute Channel.

Ron, our guide was very friendly and conscientious and made for a good atmosphere on game drives. Our first sighting was a leopard in a tree which we have now seen on the wilderness website. To see a photograph on the site and know we were there was fantastic and brings back our good memories. A nice relaxing end to a brilliant trip." See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs MJ
SW London

"DumaTau review"

2 nights Arrived 20 May 2011
"This camp turned out to be our least favorite although the animal sitings were quite good. It is a larger camp and we found it too big. As a consequence it was more regimented in its activities. For example they did not offer when requested to let us stay out the whole day as we did in Kwetsani.

Being a dry camp we had to spend a lot of time in a car looking for game which is more difficult to find given the type of terrain of this camp. This said we had our only close encounter with a huge bull elephant at our tents front entrance which was made more exciting by a group of quarrelous baboons who were showering us their leftover hard fruit from the canopy of trees above us.

The hides mentioned in your writeup create an incorrect expectation. The two hides have to reached by car and were not offered by the camp. One apprently no longer is useful due to water movement in the Savuti channel." See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs G
Dartmouth

"Amazing tracker ar Dumatau"

3 nights Arrived 24 Oct 2010
"Dissapointing that the lion pride has been decimated in recent years (only 3 left) but the amazing tracking by our guide found leopards and wild dogs galore. Fantastic offroad dashes through the bush in pursuit of both leopards and following the dogs on their hunts.

Troublesome elphants in camp disrupted the water supply briefly but gave some great eye-to-eye encounters!" See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs H
Avon

"Saved the best till last"

3 nights Arrived 29 Jul 2010
"Duma Tau turned out to be our favourite camp on many counts. The management Anton & Martin were extremely friendly & helpful. (How can you leave beautiful Botswana to move to Leeds Anton?) After initial formalities Martin escorted us to our chalet (the honeymoon suite - rather wasted on a couple of senior citizens like us - especially as a couple of genuine honeymooners arrived the next day). Here we were introduced to George the camps resident elephant.

Accommodation & food were excellent & the staff friendly & efficient. In general the area, especially near the Savuti Channel & Linyanti Swamp was extremely scenic.

On our first game drive with our guide Ron we watched a herd of red lechwe bounding through shallow water & later tracked lion, finding a female & her two 2 year old male cubs beside the channel. The two boys engaged in lengthy stalking & play fighting rough & tumble beside our vehicle & mum actually joined in for a while - a joy to watch.

The following morning as we were finishing breakfast Ron rushed in & informed us that he had heard alarm calls nearby & suspected a leopard was the cause. Sure enough we were soon following a large male (well known at camp for being very tolerant of vehicles). When we stopped he approached & rolled around in the grass like a playful kitten.

With Ron's expert guidance we saw usual game in beautiful surroundings. Special moments were - elephants at a mud bath, the male lion & two lionesses at a giraffe kill (with one lioness heavily pregnant & a birth imminent) an African wildcat, an eagle owl in the spotlight, a hunting party of 10 wild dogs along the channel, four species of mongoose (dwarf, slender,yellow & banded) another leopard ( son of the first one) in the spotlight, a second sighting of the lioness & her two sons wading & dashing across a river channel & an hour or so fishing with Ron at his favourite spot.

On our last brief morning drive before departure we intercepted 3 wild dogs bellies bulging with food from a warthog kill, running along the banks of the channel looking for a safe place (no crocs) to swim across to the far bank & their cubs waiting at the den. Then it was off to the airfield & our last memory - chasing a herd of zebra off the strip to allow the plane to land." See all these reviews: 15n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Nick & Kate
London

"Fabulous game"

3 nights Arrived 29 Oct 2009
"Another nice camp, set in the jungle, with long walkways to the room. Some game viewing from the public areas, including kudu, giraffe and a hippo grazing at night. Food was average, with afternoon tea once again being the culinary high-light. Staff as friendly and kind as ever, and a good management pair in charge, Vasco and Miriam (so good in fact that they have since been promoted to a premier camp).

Game here was frankly amazing. We began with a lovely sighting of 10 lions baskng in the late afternoon sun, including 3 playful juveniles, and getting up to drink water, and generally being a bit more active than these inert but fine beasts usually are. The park was exceptionally beautiful, with the ability to drive for a long time alongside the river. There were simply hundreds and hundreds of elephant crossing the river, drinking, bathng, and generally taking their usual healthy interest in the game vehicles in their midst - lots of trumpeting, ear flapping, mock charges - a good time was had by all.

We saw roan antelope drinking at the river, a lioness in a bush looking after 3 tiny new-born cubs, 2 giant eagle owls, a leopard right out in the open in the late daylight, as he began hunting impala, lions at a kudu kill, cheetah walking at dusk, a lone wild dog eyeing up an impala which the pack had chased onto an island in the middle of the river - unreachable, it turned out.

Perhaps the most awe-inspring sight was a day-time viewing (on a cool and overcast morning) of the rarely seen pangolin. It crossed the road ahead of us while we were enjoying ourselves at an elephant convention, and we followed it as it walked off through the bush on its hind legs. It then curled up into a ball, and we were allowed down from the vehicle for a close encounter. Mind-blowing! Staff from the camp came out to see it, it was such a rarity.

This was the only camp to set out clearly what the different activity options were, and to arrange them with you in advance. So, we did our one and only 'proper' night drive, going out for 2 hours after dinner. We saw lion too, with one male wandering along the road and roaring to his companions.

Our guide was delightful and made a lot of effort to give us a good time.

The management team made it clear that we could opt for private dining if we wished - the only team to make this offer - and gave us a fabulous last night private table with a view, and complimentary champagne. How's that for service?!

Once more, a triumph for Botswana and the game!" See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr G & Ms N
London

"A Top Botswana Camp"

3 nights Arrived 28 Oct 2009
"Whilst a little larger than most Botswana Camps it did not feel that way - even with a full camp and a large tour group. Our experience at Duma Tau was nothing less than exceptional

The management team lead by Miriam and Vasco are very very good indeed - not only in what you see them do - but what you do not see them do - and even with a big tour group in camp - who demanded a lot of attention - they were well prepared for individual arriving couples and very alive to the preferences and requests of those couples.Karen and Keke completed the management set-up and were also great fun as well as very good at their jobs.The camp is currently so obviously a happy one and it shows.

If you want it - the enthusiasm and can do attitude of the management and guiding team to maximise your time out in the bush or to set out early for a particular interest was exceptional and was much appreciated by us and will be well remembered by us.

We were priveleged to have the legendary and remarkable Thebe ( Mr T ) as our guide - Thebo s knowledge of the area his sheer enthusiasm as well as patience and skill in reading the wildlife resulted in 3 days of superb game sightings and experiences. Excellent Cheetah lion leopard and wild dog sightings - plus spectacular elephant herds .Thebe - Thank you.We will be back for more as soon as we can.

The savuti channel area has undergone a complete transformation which is quite remarkable in such a short period of time and the game patterns accordingly are adapting - but there is a lot of game as ever and now in truly stunning scenery.There is a rich diversity of terrain to be explored from duma tau and this makes it particularly interesting. The short boat trips into the lagoon also offer a different perspective of your immediate environment.

The camp itelf is wilderness quality throughout and the rooms are large very comfortable and well positioned with good views over the lagoon.

The public areas are likewise v. comfortable - great little plunge pool right by the lagoon.The food is to typically excellent wilderness standard." See all these reviews: 12n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs K
Virginia

"DumaTau review"

3 nights Arrived 1 Jul 2009
"This was a great camp, and we were lucky to have an extremely experienced guide.

We particularly enjoyed the elephants who wander through the camp every day and animal sightings were very good, including leopard and lion.

Food was decent as were the tents which had a great view out over the river from the deck. They also offered the chance for a short walk, which we did." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs H
Wroughton

"DumaTau review"

3 nights Arrived 18 Jun 2009
"We loved this camp the best, the management team were great - enthusiastic, friendly, young lively and made everything so homely. The staff went out of their way to involve and engage everyone. Congratulations! The little personal touches made the excellent exceptional.

Guide - Mocks was a character! Not always sure of the ethics of his driving but the rush from one site to another was really his enthusiasm to get us to the action. We did more off road driving at Duma Tau than anywhere else though. Game viewing amazing.

Bush babies, private lunch by the pool on day of departure - so many little touches here said this camp and its staff were one of the happiest." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr L
Bishopston

"too short a time in Duma Tau"

2 nights Arrived 3 May 2009
"I did unfortunately arrive at Duma Tau during a very unseasonal thunderstorm which lasted all night and wiped out the first game drive. The next day it all cleared away and i was able to appreciate this very varied area on the border with Namibia.The Savuti channel was full for the first time in more than 20 years which added an interesting dimension to the viewing but also prevented us from getting closer to some magnificent Cheetahs on the other bank. They actually swam across, so yes Cheetahs swim which I didnt realise! We saw a good number of birds here , vultures , tawny and bateleur eagles , secretary birds and kori bustards and some magnificent giant eagle owls. We also saw a big pride of lions lounging on the road, so we drove around them!

The most unfortunate sighting we had was a badly injured wild dog, the only one of the pack that we came across, the others had long gone. I would like to think that it found the rest of the pack before dark, as its chances were slim I think otherwise.

We also saw plenty of Reedbuck, Steinbuck and even a Waterbuck which are rare, and lots of Lechwe in the marshes. my regret is that I didnt have more time here as there are a lot of varied areas to explore.

The camp is large with excellent management. I was reunited with Karen who had moved from Little Vumbura , my first camp. The staff were all cheerful and helpful. Our guide Thebo ( Mr T ) is a real veteran whose knowledge is second to none, but I did not have quite the same rapport that I had had with the guides at some of the other camps, but he certainly found us plenty of game.

The camp is quite large and though fine not quite as well appointed as others. The food here was again first class and served in an impressive dining room with very long table of solid wood." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs P
Flaunden

"Fabulous big cats and staff at Duma Tau"

3 nights Arrived 21 Apr 2009
"Our favourite camp overall. Staff particularly welcoming, friendly and attentive. Customer satisfaction was obviously their overwhelming priority.

Ambience was very relaxed and view from room superb. Game viewing was excellent with Mocks our guide - pride of 12 lion now in the area, now that Savuti channel is filled with water for the first time in 26 years. Regular sightings of leopard and 4 cheetah in one day!

We were chilly on morning drives and only discovered that we coud have been offered a warm poncho on the last day!" See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 31-40 of 47
95%
47 reviews of DumaTau by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
40
3
4
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Kwando-Linyanti area

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Lagoon Camp

Lagoon Camp

Within the vast Kwando Reserve, renowned for its wild dogs, Lagoon Camp offers excellent game viewing that focuses on predators.


94% (229 reviews)
Lebala Camp

Lebala Camp

With enthusiastic guides and trackers, Lebala – in a vast private reserve – is a particularly good camp for seeking wild dogs..


95% (174 reviews)
Selinda Camp

Selinda Camp

In an attractive area that is particularly rich in game between June and November, the luxurious Selinda Camp caters particularly well for photographers.


96% (66 reviews)
Linyanti Bush Camp

Linyanti Bush Camp

An increasingly rare find in Botswana, Linyanti Bush Camp blends relative simplicity with numerous activities and very good guiding.


89% (38 reviews)
Savuti Camp

Savuti Camp

For years the Savuti Channel ran dry, but it's now flowing again and this newly refurbished, 7-room lodge has pride of place to witness the spectacle.


97% (26 reviews)
Selinda Explorers Camp

Selinda Explorers Camp

The luxurious, traditional tented Selinda Explorers Camp offers a mix of walking, canoeing and game drives led by really top notch guides in a game-rich area.


96% (17 reviews)
Motswiri Camp

Motswiri Camp

Motswiri is a super little camp with just five tents, each overlooking the Selinda Spillway. Come especially for walking, birdwatching, canoeing and horseriding safaris.


99% (16 reviews)
Zarafa Camp

Zarafa Camp

Zarafa is an exclusive camp overlooking the scenic Zibadianja Lagoon within the Selinda Reserve, a particularly game-rich area between June and early November.


100% (13 reviews)
Kings Pool

Kings Pool

King’s Pool is a top-end luxury safari camp with a price tag to match; the game viewing can be very good during the dry season.


71% (7 reviews)
Linyanti Ebony

Linyanti Ebony

Independently owned and run, the small Linyanti Ebony sits on the same site as Linyanti Bush Camp, with similarly high standards of guiding, and a strong emphasis on the wildlife experience.


100% (6 reviews)
Selinda Adventure Trail

Selinda Adventure Trail

The Selinda Adventure Trail offers a novel and tranquil way to travel through part of Botswana's pristine wilderness whilst staying in comfortable fly-camps and led by a knowledgeable guide.


100% (4 reviews)
Little Motswiri

Little Motswiri

A simple and remote satellite camp, Little Motswiri focuses on non-motorised activities, particularly walking and horseriding. It enables guests to explore 120,000 acres of private wilderness around the Selinda Spillway.


100% (1 review)
Footsteps across the Linyanti

Footsteps across Linyanti

Footsteps Across the Linyanti is the only true mobile walking safari we know of in Botswana. Explore a wild and remote wilderness on foot with a knowledgeable guide.


40% (1 review)
Linyanti Expeditions
No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa