This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
DumaTau Camp
DumaTau Camp
DumaTau Camp

Reviews of DumaTau

Wildlife sightings and reviews

47 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited DumaTau and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 41-47 of 47
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs M
Newcastle

"DumaTau review"

3 nights Arrived 2 Nov 2008
"A slightly larger camp resulting in more vehicles around when out on game drives. However, this is offset by more vehicles able to find game and direct other vehicles.

As we found a number of interesting animals, and situations with animals, some of the drives ended up being quite long (eg. 0600 to 1130) but the camp was sufficiently flexible to deal with this when it happened and food was waiting on return!

Once again very friendly staff and guides." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr G & Ms M
UK

"DumaTau review"

3 nights Arrived 1 Nov 2008
"We had an excellent start to our Botswana safari at Duma Tau.

The camp staff and management were all very friendly and helpful and couldn't do anough for us. Food and accomodation also excellent.

Wildlife experiences were probably the best of our holiday with excellent sightings in particular of Wild Dogs, Cheetah, Leopards, Lions and Honey Badger. Knowledge, communication and enthusiasm of our guide (Mocks) was superb." See all these reviews: 15n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Drs
Washington, USA

"DumaTau review"

3 nights Arrived 12 Oct 2008
"We really enjoyed Duma Tau. Our guide, Lazi, was excellent. The area along the Selinda channel was full of wildlife. We had great viewings of leopard, lions, cheetah, and hyena. We also saw hippo, crocodile, monitor lizards, and various types of antelope.

The late-night drives offered at this camp were quite interesting - we got to see lots of hippo out of the water grazing, and we also spotted nocturnal creatures such as the genet and the african wild cat!

The camp itself also offered fantastic wildlife viewing -- just sitting by the pool at siesta time we observed a herd of nearly 50 elephants walk past, as well as 2 hippo, several warthog, and a large monitor lizard!" See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs IS
USA

"DumaTau review"

3 nights Arrived 8 Sep 2008
"Duma Tau was the most upscale and "ritzy" of the camps we visited. It was larger and more "social." Fellow guests were mostly wealthy-ish tourists from the U.S. Food was fancier than other camps.

The staff was extremely knowledgeable and courteous. The managers seemed to have been educated in the U.S. or England.
The approach to Duma Tau from the air strip is like a moonscape--endless dry terrain & dead-looking trees. but the camp itself is in a green patch on a river, with tons of wildlife. Wildlife frequently came right into the camp! (elephants & hippos & owls). Luxury tent has a wall of windows overlooking a huge marshy plain often filled with herds of game, and at night we heard baboons, elephants etc.
Animals we especially appreciated seeing here: wild dog, leopard, & lion.

Our guide, whose name is Name, was fantastic...very knowledgeable and a good teacher.
On one night, the staff performed an amazing song and dance routine for the entertainment of guests--this was one of our best experiences in Africa!

Nice touch: Each guest has a full set of towels in a unique color, so husband & wife can tell their towels apart, a minor but much appreciated and rarely experienced convenience. Also, guests are always greeted at the camp entrance with hot towels by the managers upon returning to camp.

Each room has a full set of plug adapters and a charging strip---a very nice convenience for recharging camera batteries etc.
We would especially recommend this camp to people who like upscale service and who care about food, wine and comfort as much as wildlife." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 1n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs Delta
Spain

"Wonderful"

2 nights Arrived 21 Aug 2008
"Duma Tau was our favorite of the 5 camps/lodges we visited In Botswana. It scores very high in all the “key categories”: food, service, accommodation, staff attitude, game viewing focus, guiding skills, etc and we didn't find any major flaw worth mentioning.

The camp has 9 tents, accessible by elevated wooden walkways. The tents are spacious and comfortable, very clean and nicely decorated, and there is a combination safe. The bed is huge, king size. The bathroom is en-suite, quite big, has indoor and outdoor shower and very nice toiletries. The tents have a thatched roof and canvass walls; the front of the tent is open (no walls: sliding doors with just a net) so you can see the lagoon from bed and hear the noises of the bush at night. We were awoken by hippos a couple of times in the middle of the night. The tents are a bit too close to each other, but not too much.

The main activity here is game drives, which happen in the morning (6:30 to 10:30) and afteronn ( 4 to 7:30). You can have nightdrives upon request (we did one from 10pm to 12am). They also do boat rides around the lagoon in front of camp (ours was 1hr long, right after lunch) and bush walks, which I strongly recommend.

The staff & managers are well trained, very friendly and take good care of the guests. One of the nights they prepared BBQ dinner outside, in an enclosure they use for this, it was very pleasant and the meat really good. Another day they surprised us serving lunch in the bush, right by the water under the shade of several huge african mangosteens.

The landscape in this area is outstandingly beautiful and feels very remote. The Savuti channel was flowing (it hadn't since like 1985) and had an eerie feel about it, like it doesn't belong there, with its banks full of wildlife in contrast to the dry and deserted interior.

We saw plenty of wildlife: 12 lions, a leopard, 5 hyenas, in addition to elephants, hippos, crocs, all sorts of antelopes, dozens of exotic birds, etc" See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Slender mongooses
UK

"DumaTau review"

4 nights Arrived 21 May 2008
"Our whole experience at Duma Tau was superb.The camp was beautiful and the staff were wonderfully friendly and attentive ....the best "customer service" we have ever experienced and that was because it was all so natural and unforced .

Our guide Ron ( Masule) with his trusty LandRover "Captain" was inspirational and tremendous fun too .He provided us with both sensational sightings and great friendship .We were very sorry indeed to leave there .

In 4 nights we saw Leopard, Wild Dogs ,Honey Badger , Civet , Wild Cat ,Dwarf, Selous and Slender Mongoose , Giraffe , a large herd of Buffalo , 5 types of antelope, Spotted Hyaena, Lions , herd of 300 Zebra and several large Elephant groups as well as around 70 different species of birds ." See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
B & J
California

"DumaTau review"

3 nights Arrived 8 Oct 2007
"Duma Tau being our last camp is probably getting a tougher rating than it deserves, but there are a couple of concerns that I would rather not print.

Overall, our stay at DT was fine. Our last evening drive was very enjoyable. The manager in training (I cannot remember his name) and our pilot, Pedro, joined us. I believe their presence really helped make our last drive the best one we had during our stay at DT.

I had the pleasure of purchasing a couple of baskets from Judith. She was a stand-out staff member -- very sweet and a talented basket weaver. The managers were very professional and courteous.

I will admit, DT was the only place we were able to view a few rare animals-- wild dogs, monitor lizard, roan. It was very exciting to see the wild dogs. I feel like our trip was complete after getting to see them." See all these reviews: 13n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Showing 41-47 of 47
95%
47 reviews of DumaTau by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
40
3
4
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Kwando-Linyanti area

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Lagoon Camp

Lagoon Camp

Within the vast Kwando Reserve, renowned for its wild dogs, Lagoon Camp offers excellent game viewing that focuses on predators.


94% (229 reviews)
Lebala Camp

Lebala Camp

With enthusiastic guides and trackers, Lebala – in a vast private reserve – is a particularly good camp for seeking wild dogs..


95% (174 reviews)
Selinda Camp

Selinda Camp

In an attractive area that is particularly rich in game between June and November, the luxurious Selinda Camp caters particularly well for photographers.


96% (66 reviews)
Linyanti Bush Camp

Linyanti Bush Camp

An increasingly rare find in Botswana, Linyanti Bush Camp blends relative simplicity with numerous activities and very good guiding.


89% (38 reviews)
Savuti Camp

Savuti Camp

For years the Savuti Channel ran dry, but it's now flowing again and this newly refurbished, 7-room lodge has pride of place to witness the spectacle.


97% (26 reviews)
Selinda Explorers Camp

Selinda Explorers Camp

The luxurious, traditional tented Selinda Explorers Camp offers a mix of walking, canoeing and game drives led by really top notch guides in a game-rich area.


96% (17 reviews)
Motswiri Camp

Motswiri Camp

Motswiri is a super little camp with just five tents, each overlooking the Selinda Spillway. Come especially for walking, birdwatching, canoeing and horseriding safaris.


99% (16 reviews)
Zarafa Camp

Zarafa Camp

Zarafa is an exclusive camp overlooking the scenic Zibadianja Lagoon within the Selinda Reserve, a particularly game-rich area between June and early November.


100% (13 reviews)
Kings Pool

Kings Pool

King’s Pool is a top-end luxury safari camp with a price tag to match; the game viewing can be very good during the dry season.


71% (7 reviews)
Linyanti Ebony

Linyanti Ebony

Independently owned and run, the small Linyanti Ebony sits on the same site as Linyanti Bush Camp, with similarly high standards of guiding, and a strong emphasis on the wildlife experience.


100% (6 reviews)
Selinda Adventure Trail

Selinda Adventure Trail

The Selinda Adventure Trail offers a novel and tranquil way to travel through part of Botswana's pristine wilderness whilst staying in comfortable fly-camps and led by a knowledgeable guide.


100% (4 reviews)
Little Motswiri

Little Motswiri

A simple and remote satellite camp, Little Motswiri focuses on non-motorised activities, particularly walking and horseriding. It enables guests to explore 120,000 acres of private wilderness around the Selinda Spillway.


100% (1 review)
Footsteps across the Linyanti

Footsteps across Linyanti

Footsteps Across the Linyanti is the only true mobile walking safari we know of in Botswana. Explore a wild and remote wilderness on foot with a knowledgeable guide.


40% (1 review)
Linyanti Expeditions
No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa