This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr G & Ms M from UK

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

5

Excursions taken

0

Botswana Nov 2008

Botswana between 31 Oct 2008 and 17 Nov 2008

Trip rating: Excellent
"Absolutely excellent ! The wildlife experience and quality of accomodation were superb.

Expert Africa were extremely helpful and knowledgable in getting the itinerary we wanted and dealing with all the questions we had.

Suggestions for improvement:

On your website I would suggest you try and give more details on the wildlife a visitor might expect to see with a bit of luck at each camp."

DumaTau Camp

DumaTau Camp

"DumaTau review"

3 nights Arrived 1 Nov 2008
"We had an excellent start to our Botswana safari at Duma Tau.

The camp staff and management were all very friendly and helpful and couldn't do anough for us. Food and accomodation also excellent.

Wildlife experiences were probably the best of our holiday with excellent sightings in particular of Wild Dogs, Cheetah, Leopards, Lions and Honey Badger. Knowledge, communication and enthusiasm of our guide (Mocks) was superb."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Chitabe Camp

Chitabe Camp

"Chitabe Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 4 Nov 2008
"The camp facilities, accomodation, food, management and staff were all good and we very much enjoyed our stay at Chitabe.

The weather at times was not great which no doubt affected the wildlife but we still managed good sightings of leopard, lions, buffalo and hyenas mopping up the remnants of a hippo.

Notably spent plenty of time observing various storks and herons feeding in a small pool where evaporation meant the prey was concentrated and also spent time just watching baboons and impala interacting with interpretation from our guide Phinley."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Little Kwara

Little Kwara

"Little Kwara review"

3 nights Arrived 7 Nov 2008
"We were lucky to have Kwando Safaris head guide, Charles, with us for our stay and he was absolutely superb as was our tracker, Name.

The weather was mixed and therefore some drives were not great or had to be curtailed curtailed but they were flexible enough to change plans to take advantage of good weather and give us the opportunity to get out and see what was around. We spent a large part of an extended morning drive trying to track 3 male cheetahs without success and, as we were keen to try and see them, Charles agreed to an extra early start on our last day to try again this time with excellent views for about an hour.

Another example was arranging an extended night drive after rain had curtailed our afternoon drive. Highlights were the boat trip to the heronry (although would recommend an earlier start to this trip to allow more relaxed bird viewing en route), the 3 male cheetahs and 2 male lions with a buffalo kill and interacting with encroaching hyenas. Birdlife was also excellent.

The accomodation and food were not as good as the other camps but still of an acceptable standard. The management and staff were as usual very friendly and helpful."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Facilities
Average
Little Vumbura

Little Vumbura

"Little Vumbura review"

3 nights Arrived 10 Nov 2008
"Fantastic location and probably the best accomodation on our holiday. Staff, management and food all excellent.

Wildlife viewing was slow to start with the main interest being 3 male lions and the boat trip. Again weather was mixed with one drive being curtailed. Things really picked up though for our last 2 game drives as we saw Sable antelope and a large herd of elephants with young.

The real highlight on both drives though was spending large amounts of time with a pack of 20 Wild Dogs including 2 kills in 5 minutes. Our guide, Rain, really pulled out all the stops to get us in the right place at the right time and allowed us unforgettable views of these wonderful animals."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Jack's Camp

Jack's Camp

"Jack's Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 13 Nov 2008
"We were a bit wary of Jack's Camp after reading other reviews but we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Maybe it was the time of year (early rainy season) but there were no "surprises" and our guide, Chabba, was flexible in accomodating what we wanted to do. In particular he took us out to meet the oncoming migration of large numbers of zebra, wildebeest and springbok which was an incredible experience and also allowed us a second trip to the meerkats !

Spending time with the meerkat family was the highlight but we also enjoyed excellent views of Brown Hyenas at 2 dens as well as numerous other mammal, bird and reptile sightings. The landscape is completely different to the Okovango etc and it was a nice contrast to visit the Kalahari.

We also enjoyed our time with the Kalahari bushmen and it was a real experience to see and understand a bit about their way of life and how they survive in the Kalahari. We were also able to join and witness a "Trance Dance" by a group of bush people which was a real experience but a one off I'm afraid as specially arranged for a photographer.

The food was easily the best of our holiday and the accomodation is absolutely unique, period and atmospheric as trailed but very comfortable. I am not small and the dimensions of my bed were fine !"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team