This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Selinda Camp
Selinda Camp
Selinda Camp
Selinda Camp
Selinda Camp
Selinda Camp
Selinda Camp
Selinda Camp
Selinda Camp
Selinda Camp

Reviews of Selinda Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

66 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Selinda Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 3 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Selinda Camp.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

100% success

Cheetah

0% success

Wild dog

33% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Roan antelope

67% success

Spotted Hyena

67% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Showing 21-30 of 66
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs W
Kensington

"Hippo Heaven at Selinda"

3 nights Arrived 1 Jul 2014
"This camp is fabulously run by Lizzie and her Team. We stayed here 3 nights and the service from everyone was exemplary. It is not service by rote, the service experienced is both personal and flexible. We had a member of our party ill and they took care of her; we wanted a private dinner and they took care of that. Nothing it appeared was too much trouble!

Game viewing here was excellent especially of Leopard and Cheetah. However our favourite moment was that of the Honey Badger scuttling down the track in front of us, snarling as he went. Donald our guide was excellent and worked out the dynamics of our group, likes etc very quickly.

Food here was excellent and it is a lovely touch to be able to go to the cellar and choose your own wine for the evening.

Tents are comfortable and the hippos come up very close and personal at night, so close it feels like they are just about to come into your tent!" See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 6n in Mozambique; 2n in Zambia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms W & Ms T
Arizona

"Selinda Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 1 Jul 2014
"Lizzy at Selinda made everyone feel welcome and went out of her way while I was sick to help out!!

Great camp for photography." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Prof & Mrs S
Scotland

"Great stay at Selinda"

3 nights Arrived 23 May 2014
"Excellent management team who worked hard to keep all the guests happy.

Food was OK although not always hot. We had Donald as our guide - top class. Transfer from Maun took longer than expected as we stopped on the way at Duba Plains. We did a drive on the way from the airstrip which meant it was dark when we got to our tent; we woiuld have liked the option of brighter lighting in the tent. Heard but never saw the hippos.

No "big" game (no leopards, cheetahs, buffalo, rhino) but interesting "small" encounters - a troupe of baboons sharing the waterhole with a warthog; two male warthogs fighting (REALLY fighting); roan antelope; brief encounter with 4 wild dogs (disappointing not to see more given reports from Selinda earlier in the year); close encounter with a herd of about 50 eles." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Prof & Ms M
Santa Fe

"Selinda Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 23 May 2014
"On the edge of the Okavango Delta, so a different kind of experience, but still very interesting. Fewer animals." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia; 8n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs G
Hants

"Beautiful Selinda"

3 nights Arrived 13 Oct 2013
"This was our second stay at Selinda and we were not disappointed.

The camp itself is lovely and the staff are fantastic. They seemed the most genuine and friendly staff of all the camps we stayed at on our trip . Easy to talk to (and that wasn't just the managers), attentive but in a very unobtrusive way. Plus the food was excellent as on our previous trip.

We liked the fact that our activities were varied. Our guide was Joseph and he was knowledgeable and keen to answer questions. He wanted us to have a varied time in camp so as well as our game drives, we went out on a boat trip and did a walking safari. Both different but very interesting.

It was a very hot time of year to visit (which we were prepared for) which meant very early starts but a longer break in camp during the heat of the day. Getting up that early was a great time to see the game and we had some fantastic sightings. Masses of elephants, leopard, lions, hippos, lechwe, buffalo, kudu, giraffe, water hogs, impala of course. We also saw 2 new animals for us one evening - a serval and an aardwolf. Plus wild dog with 6 tiny pups who were a lot of fun to observe.

I think our favourite sighting was out on the boat very early one morning. We came across 4 lionesses who wanted to swim across the channel. A hippo came charging out of the water to scare them off but they were very determined. They moved further down the bank and then started swimming. It was a deep channel and a long swim - they were amazing swimmers and it was something our guide had only seen once himself before. It was a wonderful few minutes and we took a lot of photos." See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mrs S
Essex

"Selinda Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 18 Sep 2013
"This was our favourite camp. The right side of luxurious without being over the top. The view from our tent was utterly breathtaking. The management team, especially Lizzie and Dave, were very friendly and welcoming. The food was of a phenomenally high standard, as was the guiding. Koop, our guide, worked very hard and helped us to experience some terrific wildlife viewing.

For example, on our final morning we watched dogs with pups, hyenas fighting over a carcass, three buffalo crossing the spillway, a leopard eating a buffalo calf and also found a leopard up a tree.

A delightful experience." See all these reviews: 14n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs B
California

"Selinda Camp Experience touched our souls"

2 nights Arrived 6 Aug 2013
"We love Botswana, and on every level this was a fantastic beginning to tented camp experience & 1st trip to Africa. Couldn't believe how much wildlife we & our 2 friends saw--beginning within 2 minutes on the drive from airstrip to camp & in our 1st afternoon drive. By the end of our next morning drive, we had close up viewings of every animal I had hoped for & more -- Among other things, we were very fortunate to follow a pack of 5 wild dogs. Our guide, KB was terrific-- experienced, informative, & loads of fun.

Only stayed 2 days & were still experiencing jet lag--another day would have been perfect. (Megan advised us that stays should be no less than 3 days but our schedule didn't allow for that.) If we're ever so lucky as to return to Botswana, Selinda would be a must." See all these reviews: 12n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs SG
Cambridge

"Selinda Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 4 Oct 2012
"Our game drive guide Mots was also very good and found use a leopard and lots of good views of lion, antelope, birds and elephant.

Selinda Camp was very luxurious and the staff were excellent. The managers John and Liz anticipated our every want and were very thorough and kind.

We really enjoyed our stay" See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs T
Hants

"Selinda Camp review"

1 night Arrived 29 Sep 2012
"The camp is in a beautiful setting and we had the honeymoon suite which was extremely comfortable. It was nice to see a herd of elephants walking around and through the camp. Personally for us, we felt that the camp was slightly too big, and that eating as a large group of 17 guests plus staff around a huge circular table did not work. Unlike at Stanley's camp where you were very discretely asked what your dinner choice was, here you were asked in front of everyone.

Dinner could be served slightly earlier as soon as dessert had been served, there was a rush of people wanting to be escorted back to their rooms.

However it is difficult to judge a camp when you are there for only a day as they all have their own character. Our highlight was seeing the Selinda pride of lions feasting on a buffalo." See all these reviews: 12n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs M
Brussels

"Selinda - the roar of the lions."

3 nights Arrived 15 Sep 2012
"Fantastic low flight over swamps, rivers and spillway meant we could see herds of elephant and buffalo and birds below us. Beautiful contrasting scenery: dry grasslands, dead trees, brilliant green pastures and the blue water slipways: great for photography.

On our first afternoon drive we came on a family of lions with 3 cubs: when a lone and magnificent intruder lion arrived the family set up a roar to let him know that he was on their territory. To name a few other animals we saw: incredible herds of zebra, buffalo, wildebeest and red lechwe all together in the same grazing area! A pack of wild dogs drinking, hyaena bathing, red lechwe, tsessebe and herds of elephant. Red crested Korhaan (the suicide bird) and the Umbrella bird were just two that we saw.

Beautiful camp site set on waters edge and tents of wood and thatch. The all-local managers, staff and guides were fantastic and we had some great talks round the table and the campfire about life in Botswana. Food was magnificent -everything homemade including bread and cakes - don't know how they manage to do it with only one delivery a week! They also dance and sing very well!" See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia; 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 21-30 of 66
96%
66 reviews of Selinda Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
54
12
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Kwando-Linyanti area

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Lagoon Camp

Lagoon Camp

Within the vast Kwando Reserve, renowned for its wild dogs, Lagoon Camp offers excellent game viewing that focuses on predators.


94% (229 reviews)
Lebala Camp

Lebala Camp

With enthusiastic guides and trackers, Lebala – in a vast private reserve – is a particularly good camp for seeking wild dogs..


95% (174 reviews)
DumaTau Camp

DumaTau

DumaTau, in the private Linyanti Reserve, offers game drives, seasonal boat cruises and walks. Wildlife safaris here are quite seasonal, and are at their best during the height of the dry season, between June and October.


95% (47 reviews)
Linyanti Bush Camp

Linyanti Bush Camp

An increasingly rare find in Botswana, Linyanti Bush Camp blends relative simplicity with numerous activities and very good guiding.


89% (38 reviews)
Savuti Camp

Savuti Camp

For years the Savuti Channel ran dry, but it's now flowing again and this newly refurbished, 7-room lodge has pride of place to witness the spectacle.


97% (26 reviews)
Selinda Explorers Camp

Selinda Explorers Camp

The luxurious, traditional tented Selinda Explorers Camp offers a mix of walking, canoeing and game drives led by really top notch guides in a game-rich area.


96% (17 reviews)
Motswiri Camp

Motswiri Camp

Motswiri is a super little camp with just five tents, each overlooking the Selinda Spillway. Come especially for walking, birdwatching, canoeing and horseriding safaris.


99% (16 reviews)
Zarafa Camp

Zarafa Camp

Zarafa is an exclusive camp overlooking the scenic Zibadianja Lagoon within the Selinda Reserve, a particularly game-rich area between June and early November.


100% (13 reviews)
Kings Pool

Kings Pool

King’s Pool is a top-end luxury safari camp with a price tag to match; the game viewing can be very good during the dry season.


71% (7 reviews)
Linyanti Ebony

Linyanti Ebony

Independently owned and run, the small Linyanti Ebony sits on the same site as Linyanti Bush Camp, with similarly high standards of guiding, and a strong emphasis on the wildlife experience.


100% (6 reviews)
Selinda Adventure Trail

Selinda Adventure Trail

The Selinda Adventure Trail offers a novel and tranquil way to travel through part of Botswana's pristine wilderness whilst staying in comfortable fly-camps and led by a knowledgeable guide.


100% (4 reviews)
Little Motswiri

Little Motswiri

A simple and remote satellite camp, Little Motswiri focuses on non-motorised activities, particularly walking and horseriding. It enables guests to explore 120,000 acres of private wilderness around the Selinda Spillway.


100% (1 review)
Footsteps across the Linyanti

Footsteps across Linyanti

Footsteps Across the Linyanti is the only true mobile walking safari we know of in Botswana. Explore a wild and remote wilderness on foot with a knowledgeable guide.


40% (1 review)
Linyanti Expeditions
No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa