This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs LB from Alderney

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

5

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

16

Excursions taken

0

Fabulous

Botswana between 22 May 2016 and 2 Jun 2016

Trip rating: Excellent
"It was great, we saw a leopard up a tree which we have been wanting to see for 20 years of visiting Africa! All the camps were excellent and flights on time. (We had 11 flights in 14 days)

This is the 6th holiday that we have booked with Expert Africa and I must emphasise that you are the best. From the time I make my first enquiry to the final documents your staff are helpful, polite and kind enough to put up with me wanting more information, changing my mind and just giving us so much useful advice. I always recommend Expert Africa to our friends and other travellers.

We had decided that this was going to be our last holiday in Africa and indeed on our arrival at Joburg airport British Airways gave us wrong information for immigration/transit and we spent a long time in the wrong queue only to be directed to an even longer one. At this stage we said never again!

However the holiday was super and we have changed our minds and will probably be contacting you for another holiday in 2018 to celebrate our Golden Wedding.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

As I have said above you are the best.

A small point on the feedback form 'flights' is spelt incorrectly!"

Arranged By Megan Green


Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba

"A great time at Chitabe Lediba"

3 nights Arrived 23 May 2016
"A very friendly camp, accommodation was excellent and the guiding very good. We had a lot of sightings, lions with cubs, a hyena den with pups, a massive herd of Cape buffalo and a leopard as well as the 'usual', giraffes, elephants, zebra etc. We also enjoyed our lunch in the bush.

Our only criticism would be that whilst some of the food was excellent some was not so good. We would have preferred to have a roof on the vehicle as it did get hot late morning, but appreciated the ponchos in the morning when it was cold!

Overall we would certainly go to this camp again."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Little Vumbura

Little Vumbura

"Beautiful Little Vumbura"

3 nights Arrived 26 May 2016
"A wonderful location, the access to the camp by boat was lovely. Not so many game sightings but we did see our first leopard up a tree, tssebee, lechwe and and a glance of a honey badger.

The water excursions were great, especially the mokoro.

Food was excellent, the camp was very friendly and we enjoyed sitting around the fire before dinner and then having the staff singing that our dinner was ready..

Only problem was that it was very cold and windy in the mornings and evenings and the first night our accommodation was cold. The next day we did put up the external covering to the windows and this was much better."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Selinda Camp

Selinda Camp

"Selinda a great camp"

3 nights Arrived 29 May 2016
"Selinda was excellent and the sightings of animals was super, the highlight being a drive alongside a pack of wild dogs as they started out on their hunt.

A surprise special sundowner was a great way to finish our holiday.

Food and accommodation very good too, a choice of a main course at dinner was appreciated."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

My Holiday in Selous and Ruaha

Tanzania between 6 Feb 2014 and 17 Feb 2014

Trip rating: Excellent
"Just another wonderful holiday from Expert Africa.

Ellie was so helpful and her suggestions about where to stay excellent. She also helped so much with the many queries I had and was very patient in helping to sort out the itinerary.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

No suggestions as this is our 5th holiday that you have arranged and I can only say that we have always had excellent service and will certainly use Expert Africa for our next African holiday."

Image alt

Dar Serena

"Dar Serena review"

1 night Arrived 7 Feb 2014
"As we were only there for a few hours overnight difficult to give a full review but staff were helpful, bedrooms clean, and our early breakfast brought up to our room on time. We arrived 10 o c in the evening and it didn't take too long to get from airport."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Kwihala Camp

Kwihala Camp

"Kwilhala camp - a great experience"

4 nights Arrived 8 Feb 2014
"Our first visit to Ruaha and despite some rain at night which had made some areas wet and the grass high we still saw a lot of game.

Our guides, Festo and David were superb, very knowledgeable but also great fun as well. We got very close to elephants and a wonderful pride of lions. The highlight though were the two cheetah brothers that we followed.

Our tent was clean and comfortable, only slight criticism was that the bathroom fittings were rather 'tired'. All the staff were very friendly and helpful, food was good but lunch starters and desserts slightly repetitive."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Beho Beho

Beho Beho

"Beho Beho - Simply the Best!"

5 nights Arrived 12 Feb 2014
"Our third visit to Beho Beho and once again we had a fabulous time. Walter and Karin are fantastic hosts, all the guides well informed and fun as well.

The food is superb and served in different locations around the camp. Our banda was clean and very well furnished and Mr Simba still dispenses wonderful cocktails!

Oh yes and we also saw lots of game, including herds of elephants and the wild dogs. We are already looking forward to a return visit!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Another wonderful holiday

Tanzania between 19 Jan 2012 and 29 Jan 2012

Trip rating: Excellent
"Once again we have had a great trip to Africa. We knew that Beho Beho and Oyster Bay would be incredible and they didn't disappoint. Sand Rivers was good and we enjoyed seeing a different part of the Selous.

Our only problem, which was quite beyond your control, were the biting insects that had appeared after the 2 days of rain in the Selous before we arrived!

I would like to thank Ellie for all her help - as usual there were so many e mails between us and she was just so efficient and patient in answering and then organising our trip.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

We have used Expert Africa for several years now and always find your staff extremely pleasant and helpful. We have never had any problems with arrangements - drivers always there to collect us etc.

We have told many people to contact you and just wish that other travel companies could be like you.

Comments in your brochure are accurate - I can really find no faults at all with Expert Africa!"

Beho Beho

Beho Beho

"Beho Beho -The Very Best"

4 nights Arrived 20 Jan 2012
"This was our second visit to Beho Beho and it was just as wonderful as last year. Everyone made us feel so welcome, our banda was fabulous and we really enjoyed the bath! Karin's food was delicious - lobster, fillet steak, duck, prawns to name just a few of the fantastic meals we had in various locations in the camp and the Bush breakfasts and dinner were so exciting.

Onesmo, Heribert and Walter are superb guides, not only sharing their great knowledge but also making games drives and walks such fun.

Our very close encounter with a wonderfully peaceful elephant will never be forgotten, nor the swarm of Carmine Bee Eaters flying around us as we drove along and our sighting of a large pack of wild dogs. Only a small example of the incredible amount of wildlife we saw."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Sand Rivers Camp

Sand Rivers Camp

"A different perspective of Selous"

4 nights Arrived 24 Jan 2012
"We enjoyed being by the river and the motorboat trip to Steigler's Gorge was a highlight - as was the breakfast on the spit of sand!

Our guide Iyan was very informative and being a photographer was very good at positioning the vehicle to get the best light and shots. The Bush breakfasts in different locations were great surprises and fun. Matt and his staff were always friendly and helpful.

Our room was lovely and the only thing we were concerned about was the bad lighting in the lounge and dining area and indeed a fellow guest did trip over and fall as there are quite a few steps. Food was good and nicely presented but we thought there could have been more of a variety at lunch."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Oyster Bay

Oyster Bay

"A wonderful end to our holiday"

1 night Arrived 28 Jan 2012
"Oyster Bay is a great place to relax before boarding the plane back home and again this was our second visit. The rooms are beautifully decorated and food wonderful - we were the only guests and were able to chose just what we wanted.

Demitra, Khadija and Basil made us so welcome. Beho Beho and Oyster Bay have now spoilt us forever - they will be our yardstick for friendly staff, delicious food, great locations and fabulous rooms!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

One of our best holidays

Tanzania between 22 Jan 2011 and 1 Feb 2011

Trip rating: Excellent
"We love Africa and this holiday exceeded expectations.

We saw a lot of wildlife, lions every day, and without exception everyone we met was welcoming and eager to give us a good time. We thought we saw more wildlife at Selous Safari but at Beho Beho there were lots of new experiences for us. What was good was that we saw very few other vehicles when on our game drives, it was not like the Serengeti or Ngorongoro where there are often 20 vehicles around one lion!

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

We have now used Expert Africa 3 times - Namibia, Botswana and now Tanzania - and can't fault you for your efficiency and helpfulness. Am now looking at your new brochure for ideas for our next triop to Africa!"

Arranged By Elizabeth Chapman


Southern Sun Dar

Southern Sun Dar

"A short stay"

1 night Arrived 22 Jan 2011
"We only stayed a few hours as our plane did not land until 11.30 p.m and we left at 7 the next morning. However it was rather a long way to drive from the airport after we had had a long flight.

We did have a problem at the airport as one of our soft top bags, ( which we had to use to go on safari) had been ripped open which delayed us. We did not lose anything - it only contained T shirts, walking boots etc no valuables but was not a good start to the holiday. We think travellers should be aware that this can happen."
Average
Location
Poor
Service
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Siwandu

Siwandu

"A Great Camp"

4 nights Arrived 23 Jan 2011
"Jenny and her staff made our stay here a fantastic experience. The 'tent' was beautiful and very clean, with a glorious view. The food was really excellent (particularly the cold tomato soup!). There was a lot of game to see here and it was nice to be able to have an alternative lake 'safari' to the usual land game drives.

Our guide, Mashaka was well informed and had a good sense of humour. My only criticisms are that 8 oc. was rather late to start the morning game drive so it was very hot by the time we returned at nearly midday. The seating in the restaurant was at individual tables with our own 'butler' - which we enjoyed - although sometimes it may have been good to be able to join other guests at mealtimes - this of course depends on whether you want to dine with other guests! This is a matter of preference - sometimes it is nice to dine alone, other times it is good to chat with other guests."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Beho Beho

Beho Beho

"Another great camp"

4 nights Arrived 27 Jan 2011
"We received a very warm welcome from all at Beho Beho - this is one of the best camps we have ever stayed at.

The room was enormous, superb vista and it was great to have the front open to enjoy the breezes - even at night. Food was wonderful, Tamlyn has a great menu, lobster, prawns, steaks, swahli food etc etc and fantastic salads. We really enjoyed it all. Our guides, Onesma, Heribert and Sallum were great fun and the drive to the lake and the hot spings, with breakfast was memorable - it MUST be experienced (I will say no more so as not to spoil the surprises!).

We enjoyed our bush walks - something I thought I would never attempt! We really can't speak too highly of Beho Beho and I will be submitting photographs for the competition in the hope of winning a return visit."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Oyster Bay

Oyster Bay

"A great way to spend our last day"

1 night Arrived 31 Jan 2011
"After 8 days in 'camp' it was wonderful to see the sea again - our day room was enormous - food delicious and our hostess very warm and welcoming.

We were escourted to the local shops to do last minute shopping and although we didn't use the pool it did look very inviting. As our flight was at 00.35 it was really good to have a restful day and be able to have a bath/shower before we left for the airport."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent

A great holiday

Botswana between 12 Jun 2009 and 23 Jun 2009

Trip rating: Excellent
"We enjoyed the whole trip, everything went well, food and accommodation were extremely good and everyone we met was very kind and helpful.

Maybe it would have been good to see a cheetah and a lion but you can't have everything!!!!

Suggestions for improvement:

This is our second trip with Expert Africa (we went to Namibia last year), we have been very impressed with your services, we particularly appreciated having someone who took us right the way through from first enquiry to the ticketing and that you have 'experts' on each country who know 'their' countries so well.

Susannah was so helpful and answered my e mails immediately. I am sure that when we return to Africa we will be using you again."

Kanana

Kanana

"A great time at Kanana"

3 nights Arrived 13 Jun 2009
"Our experience at Kanana was most enjoyable, everyone was very friendly and helpful. The food was superb, our guide Wagu, showed us so much and nothing was too much trouble - we had a lot of fun.

Foster took us out on the makurus, both morning and evening and again he was great fun. Our first night was exciting as we were woken up at 1 a.m by a tremendous noise of splashing around our tent, a huge elephant then appeared right at the end of our veranda, about 20 feet away from our beds!

He continued to eat some leaves very noisily for 15 minutes and then went on his way. We soon got used to nightly interruptions here and at other camps from both elephants and hippos."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Shinde Camp

Shinde Camp

"More fun at Shinde"

3 nights Arrived 16 Jun 2009
"Adam, our guide/driver kept us laughing the whole time we were at Shinde, but he was also very knowledgable and we also learnt a lot about the animals and the countryside.

Julius and his staff were again very helpful and we very much enjoyed our meals in the fantastic dining room built into the trees.

We again went out on the makurus - it is just so peaceful gliding along the waterways. We also went fishing and caught some bream, which were cooked and served to us to share with other guests for dinner that evening."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Lebala Camp

Lebala Camp

"So many animals at Lebala"

3 nights Arrived 19 Jun 2009
"We did not think that the accommodation or food was as good as at Kanana and Shinde BUT the great advantage was the game drives having a driver and a spotter - in our case OC and Mister Moh.

We saw many more animals than at the other camps - including herds of buffalo, wildebeest, zebras, giraffes etc and 4 leopards, (2 at night, 2 during the day), AND a pangolin, which is extremely rare.

All the staff were very friendly and helpful. The only disadvantage was that there were no water based activities, so we bounced around in a jeep every morning and evening, but equally we did see more animals so this isn't really a criticism."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team