This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Prof J from Salt Lake City

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

4

Excursions taken

0

My Mar 2017 trip

Botswana and 1 other country between 12 Mar 2017 and 20 Mar 2017

Trip rating: Excellent
"The trip was a big success. Everything worked as planned. Expert Africa was shown to be knowledgeable and competent. I would now recommend them without hesitation, and will in fact do so to individuals who might be good prospects for something similar.

My only period of trepidation occurred after I had transferred a vast amount of money to Expert Africa prior to the trip, and had received no assurance or proof that everything was on the up and up. I don't know what the solution is, but maybe you might consider some sort of escrow or something to reassure new customers that they had not been scammed. I know that I was worried for a few days and actually made some telephone calls to your competitors to make sure that you were for real. You will be happy to know that you passed the test."

Feedback response

We’re really sorry that our lack of comms at one point caused any alarm.

We’ve got lots of travellers from around the world – and trust is a real issue that we understand.

That’s one reason why we never process any deposit, we never actually take any money, until we have a confirmed trip and both we, and travellers, are happy with the trip that we have confirmed.

Our work Fall’s under the UK’s Package Travel Regulations – which were designed to provide protection for travellers in the event of a travel company going bust, or acting fraudulently.

We not only adhere to these, but we go much further and provide financial protection to anyone who just books accommodation with us, without booking a package. And we always act as ‘principal’ in our contracts with travellers – which gives the traveller one clear point of contact for any complaints or claims.

A traveller can check our bonding for packages with the UK’s CAA – using their ‘Check an ATOL’ page. Our presence here means that your money was protected.

A further surety might be our membership of AITO (Association of Independent Tour Operators), and the large number of reviews from our travellers there. AITO has strict membership criteria, and is certainly the most discerning of the UK’s travel industry bodies when it comes to their selection of members.

You might also have been reassured that we have been trading successfully as a company since 1997, and our parent company, Sunvil Holidays, has been trading since 1973. At no point have we ever not treated our travellers fairly, or scammed them in any way.


Thamalakane River Lodge

Thamalakane River Lodge

"there were some problems"

1 night Arrived 12 Mar 2017
"There were some problems. The shower drain backed up causing the shower to be inoperative (or allowed to be used for very short times). This caused a flood in the bathroom area of the suite.

A mouse (or other visitor) made quite a racket during the night while it ate some chocolate bars that were in the room.

But we were very tired and the service was helpful."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Sandibe Safari Lodge

Sandibe Safari Lodge

"Sandibe Safari Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 13 Mar 2017
"Excellent in every respect. The guides and the staff were all great.

We would return in a heartbeat. We loved it."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Selinda Camp

Selinda Camp

"Selinda Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 16 Mar 2017
"Tough to compete with Sandbibe, but the people were great and we really enjoyed it."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Victoria Falls Hotel

Victoria Falls Hotel

"Victoria Falls Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 18 Mar 2017
"Just loved it. Super location, ambiance and service. There are few hotels like this left on the planet.

Those who know the E & O Hotel in Penang, or Las Mananitas in Cuernavaca will know what I mean.

Would love to return."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team