This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Chitabe Camp
Chitabe Camp
Chitabe Camp
Chitabe Camp
Chitabe Camp
Chitabe Camp
Chitabe Camp
Chitabe Camp
Chitabe Camp
Chitabe Camp

Reviews of Chitabe Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

63 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Chitabe Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2018, 4 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Chitabe Camp.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

100% success

Cheetah

50% success

Wild dog

25% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Spotted Hyena

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

White Rhino

50% success

Aardvark

25% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Eland

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Showing 11-20 of 63
Duration
Arrival date
Mr AJ & Mrs VA
UK

"Chitabe Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 24 Aug 2016
"As with all the camps, the staff were lovely.

A general comment applicable to all camps about the food. The presentation was first class and the choice remarkable given the difficult supply logistics. All meals were a delight and the temptation to over-indulge difficult to resist. Our only negative comment is that with one exception, the evening meal meat courses were almost always overcooked, or bordering on being so. And conversely, the vegetables had on some occasions merely been shown the water - we quickly learnt to avoid the french beans!" See all these reviews: 14n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms TG
London

"Chitabe: Possibly my favourites camp"

3 nights Arrived 8 Jun 2016
"I had a good feel about Chitabe.

Everything was perfect and the staff were so smiley and pleasant!

My guide Phin was very experienced and provided an excellent game viewing experience." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr M
Calgary

"Luxury in the Eastern Delta"

3 nights Arrived 27 Apr 2016
"Chitabe has luxurious "tents" with a somewhat modern design. (We preferred the slightly more rustic style of Tubu Tree, but this is only a matter of personal taste!). Camp management and staff were all local people and all extremely warm, outgoing and accommodating.

On our final night in camp, they set up a surprise cocktail reception for our group out in the bush, which was a very nice touch. Breakfast food not quite as varied as at Tubu Tree, however the other meals were comparable and of very good quality. We enjoyed the fire pit at Chitabe as it is close to the main lounge area and therefore gets more use by guests compared to Tubu Tree.

Wildlife here was further from the camp and sometimes required 30 to 45 minutes of driving on rough road before spotting much in the way of animals (other than birds and impala). Elephants, zebra and giraffe were in small groups compared to Tubu Tree. However, the long drives were worth it given the abundance of baby animals were saw: leopard cubs, lion cubs, hyena cubs, as well as baby elephants and zebra!

We also saw a large pack of wild dogs which we would never have found without the expert tracking skills of our guide, Phinley. Phinley was a man of relatively few words, and you needed to actively ask questions if you wanted to get information from him. Each guide has there only style and he was more reserved, but no less knowledgeable, than our guide at Tubu Tree." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr Bob
Montreal

"Chitabe Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 27 Apr 2016
"Beautiful camp. Luxurious accommodations with attention to detail in the decor. Entirely black management and staff that enhanced the Botswana experience.

Dry camp that made it more difficult to have an off-road experience because we had to drive over dead trees. But when we did - it was expertly handled by our driver and guide. He went out of the way to bring us to the hyena den and to find the wild dogs over difficult terrain.

But our guide did not engage us - the fact that I forget his name is evidence to this - although clearly an expert he did not include us when he spotted tracks, he habitually missed sunset when he finally stopped for drinks and when our vehicle would not start when we were parked by the hyena den he did not communicate this to us although we all noticed it.
" See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr&Mrs M & S
Germany

"Chitabe Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 22 Mar 2016
"Good Location, very good guide, great wildlife (elephants, giraffes, Zebras, Kudus, Impalas, wildebeasts, monkeys, wilddogs, hyenas (family with cubs: very nice), many hippos ...; we also saw two cheetahs, one leopard and two female lionsvultures; also eagles and various birds)

Friendly staff, one lunch was served outside in the field at a nice place." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mrs FP
London

"Chitabe Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 31 Jul 2015
"Lovely room (no. 3), very good hosting and good food (though not as good as Duba).

Our guide, Luke, was a very nice man, but not top notch - we were sorry we didn't get Dook or O.D. The best sightings of all 3 camps we visited." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs L
Mckinney

"Chitabe Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 12 Jul 2015
"Chitabe was an enjoyable camp. The staff was very helpful and the food was wonderful.

However, we felt our guide there was not as skilled as he could have been. He seemed to struggle to follow wildlife tracks.

Our best experience there was seeing Hyena cubs with there mother. However, these animals were discovered by another guide." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs R
Richmond

"The best overall safari experience"

3 nights Arrived 28 Jun 2015
"A great camp - slightly spoiled by the other guests - a group of orthodox jews that insisted on being segregated throughout and an odd set up with an advance team of 3 who were there to check out the camp for 3 days ahead of the arrival of V VIPs (Bill Gates' daughter plus nanny plus friend)." See all these reviews: 12n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs S
USA

"Loved Chitabe"

3 nights Arrived 3 May 2015
"We loved Chitabe. The camp staff was great and the wildlife was unbelievable.

Our guide, Anthony, was the best. The food was good too.

As we have told everyone, it was outstanding." See all these reviews: 5n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
R & M
Sydney

"Chitabe Camp excellent experience"

2 nights Arrived 16 Apr 2015
"The transfers to and from the camp were efficient and rapid. The accommodation was very comfortable and the food was good and plentiful. The staff were wonderful and couldn't do enough for us. Many had worked a long time at Chitabe and the pride they had in the camp and doing a good job was obvious.

As expected the game drives were the highlight. The morning drive went for about 5 hours and the evening about 3 hours which was fantastic. We saw a wide range of animals, the highlight being the wild dogs hunting which we saw twice. Plenty of leopards and some lions but no cheetah or hyena. Our guide Gordon was excellent and knowledgeable. The small number of game vehicles in the concession and the ability to go off road to follow animals made the experience much more personal.

I would also like to mention Thompson the Chitabe Camp Manager whose genuine friendliness and detailed knowledge of Botswana and the Delta increased our enjoyment. We felt two days was about the right length of time before moving to another camp.



" See all these reviews: 4n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 11-20 of 63
96%
63 reviews of Chitabe Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
51
10
2
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Okavango Delta Safari Reserves

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp's private reserve boasts land and water activities year round, with excellent game-viewing opportunities and access to permanent channels of the north-east Okavango Delta.


93% (184 reviews)
Little Kwara

Little Kwara

Little Kwara is an intimate camp offering enthusiastic guiding on both land- and water-based safaris in an area known for good densities of big game.


93% (177 reviews)
Little Vumbura

Little Vumbura

On a secluded island within a private reserve, Little Vumbura combines superb game viewing with a broad diversity of habitats in a truly picturesque setting.


96% (122 reviews)
Shinde Camp

Shinde Camp

With experienced staff and a wealth of activities, Shinde offers a traditional safari in an exceptionally varied and wildlife-rich environment.


93% (87 reviews)
Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba, in Botswana's southern Okavango Delta, is a small family friendly safari camp; it offers great dry-land safaris and in our experience consistently delivers good game sightings.


96% (78 reviews)
Sandibe Safari Lodge

Sandibe Safari Lodge

The luxurious Sandibe Okavango Safari Lodge lies in a private concession in the heart of the Okavango Delta, beside Moremi Game Reserve, with superb big-game viewing.


94% (71 reviews)
Kanana

Kanana

In a beautiful part of the Delta, Kanana focuses on fantastic water activities and birding – including exclusive access to an impressive heronry.


95% (67 reviews)
Footsteps across the Delta

Footsteps across the Delta

Small and very rustic, Footsteps across the Delta focuses on walking safaris; it also runs a special children’s programme so is particularly suitable for families.


99% (43 reviews)
Splash Camp

Splash Camp

Set in the Kwara Reserve, offering superb wildlife viewing year-round, Splash offers both land and water activities led by guides with a particular knack for tracking big game.


95% (38 reviews)
Tubu Tree Camp

Tubu Tree Camp

A traditional tented camp with a distinctive tree-house feel, Tubu Tree offers some of the best game viewing in the Jao Reserve.


98% (38 reviews)
Nxabega Okavango Tented Camp

Nxabega Tented Camp

Nxabega offers a selection of both land- and water-based activities, plus very good guiding, food and service, but game viewing can be somewhat erratic.


94% (35 reviews)
Vumbura Plains

Vumbura Plains

Indulgently stylish and luxurious, Vumbura Plains offers superb game viewing and birding on an exceptionally varied private reserve.


96% (34 reviews)
Gomoti Plains Camp

Gomoti Plains Camp

Overlooking a tributary of the Gomoti River, Gomoti Plains Camp is a classically designed camp with very comfortable tents in a good game- viewing area.


92% (30 reviews)
Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp is a small safari camp with an informal island feel; it is ideal for water-based activities in the Delta and offers excellent birdwatching.


98% (26 reviews)
Kwetsani Camp

Kwetsani Camp

Deep in the Delta, overlooking a floodplain, Kwetsani Camp is a small, high-end camp with good access to areas for land and water-based activities.


95% (22 reviews)
Mapula Lodge

Mapula Lodge

For an affordable yet varied safari encompassing a range of eco-systems, the traditional Mapula Lodge takes a lot of beating.


94% (19 reviews)
Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp is a well-run, intimate camp in a pretty part of the Okavango, offering a range of activities and the option to spend a morning walking with elephants.


92% (17 reviews)
Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp is a traditional safari camp, best known for the thrilling lion and buffalo interaction that is often found here in broad daylight.


94% (16 reviews)
Stanley's Camp

Stanley's Camp

In a private concession south of Moremi Game Reserve, Stanley's Camp offers 4WD game drives, seasonal water activities and a superb elephant interaction.


92% (15 reviews)
Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp lies amidst stunning Okavango Delta scenery. Come for idyllic mokoro trips and great birdwatching, and accept that big-game sightings here are a bonus.


93% (12 reviews)
Little Tubu

Little Tubu

Little Tubu is a new, traditional camp with just three tented chalets and a distinctive tree-house feel. The areas around it can be explored by water and land-based activities year round.


100% (12 reviews)
Xaranna Okavango Delta Lodge

Xaranna

Xaranna is a plush tented camp amongst the idyllic waterways and islands of the Delta. Each air-conditioned tent has a plunge pool. Water activities and pampering are the focus here.


90% (8 reviews)
Pelo Camp

Pelo Camp

In a pristine wilderness environment deep in the Okavango Delta, the seasonal Pelo Camp is tented yet comfortable, with activities focusing on excursions by mokoro.


97% (7 reviews)
Seba Camp

Seba Camp

Seba Camp is a luxury camp in a lovely location that offers the full range of water and land safari activities, depending on the time of year. This camp is particularly suitable for families.


90% (6 reviews)
Duba Explorers Camp

Duba Explorers Camp

Intimate and elegant, Duba Explorers Camp promises a firm safari focus in a remote corner of the Okavango, led by a team who value the highest guiding and hosting standards.


92% (5 reviews)
Jao Camp

Jao Camp

In a beautiful area with fantastic water activities, Jao combines an idyllic location with high levels of luxury and service, and a top-end spa.


80% (4 reviews)
Abu Camp

Abu Camp

Abu Camp is an exclusive safari camp on the western side of the Botswana's Okavango Delta - offering superb elephant-back safaris and opportunities to walk with them too.


70% (2 reviews)
Okavango Delta Walking Safari

Okavango Walking Safari

The Okavango Delta Walking Safari camps in a secluded Okavango Delta Reserve where there are few roads; the ideal location for a walking trail led by an expert guide.


100% (1 review)
Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge is a luxurious camp with international-style facilities including air conditioning and intercom in each room; offering water based activities in the Okavango Delta.


No reviews yet
Qorokwe Camp

Qorokwe Camp

Luxurious and contemporary, the relatively new Qorokwe Camp is a gem in the Okavango Delta, offering land- and occasionally water-based activities in a prime wildlife area.


No reviews yet
Xudum Okavango Delta Lodge

Xudum Delta Lodge

Xudum is a beautifully crafted lodge well situated to explore the Delta waterways. Each air-conditioned suite has a private plunge pool and a lofty viewing deck with a sala that doubles as a 'star bed'.


No reviews yet
Kiri Camp
No reviews yet
Setari Camp

Setari Camp

Setari Camp stands on an island dotted with palm trees, close to the base of the Okavango’s ‘Panhandle"


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa