This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Chobe Under Canvas
Chobe Under Canvas
Chobe Under Canvas
Chobe Under Canvas
Chobe Under Canvas

Reviews of Chobe Under Canvas

Wildlife sightings and reviews

19 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Chobe Under Canvas and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2019, 3 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Chobe Under Canvas.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

33% success

Cheetah

0% success

Wild dog

0% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Roan antelope

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Sable antelope

67% success

Aardvark

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Eland

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Sitatunga

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Wildebeest

0% success

Showing 11-19 of 19
Duration
Arrival date
Msrvp
harrow

"Great stay, good food"

2 nights Arrived 5 Jun 2016
"The staff were very welcoming and attentive. The food was some of the best of the trip. Simple but flavoursome.

The shower was however hardly a trickle. A few more holes might help.

The premises and tents were kept to a high level of cleanliness given the location." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana; 1n in Zambia; 1n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Average
Mrs K
Sydney

"What an amazing experience!"

2 nights Arrived 3 Sep 2015
"I can't speak highly enough of Chobe Under Canvas! The tents are comfortable (even with animals wandering past at night!) and the food was great - hard to believe it was cooked in a bush kitchen! The chef even prepared a birthday cake for me, which was a really lovely gesture.

The best part our stay at Chobe Under Canvas was our guide, Max. Max was knowledgeable, fun and passionate about wildlife. Highlights included a rally car style race to find a leopard, spending a morning with a group of lions, being surrounded by hundreds of elephants and cruising the Zambezi River alongside pods of hippos.

Thank you Max and team for an incredible stay!" See all these reviews: 6n in Namibia; 5n in Botswana; 1n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs C
Golden CO

"Wanted Another Day"

1 night Arrived 9 Jul 2015
"We originally were trying to book three nights at Savute Under Canvas, but could only secure two nights. Accordingly we filled the remaining night at the sister camp, Chobe Under Canvas. I regret only being able to spend one night as the game viewing and guiding were excellent.

Reading the reviews on Chobe National Park, I expected the northern Chobe River area to be busy. I had visions of ten land cruisers jostling to get a view of a lion sighting. While we did experience more traffic, including several private vehicles, the area was not nearly as crowded as I had feared. Furthermore, the additional activity did not impact the game viewing. We particularly enjoyed observing a couple of male lions challenging for a pride, the social interactions of chacma baboons, migrating elephants at the river, as well as herds of tsessebe antelope and majestic sable antelope at a watering hole.

The mobile camps have an advantage over the lodges located outside of the park with respect to time spent observing the wildlife. Chobe National Park regulations require all vehicles to be out of the park or back at camp by a designated time. This meant that all the vehicles operated by lodges based outside of the park started pulling out a good 30 minutes before us. This was especially appreciated when watching the lions, as they start becoming more active later in the evening.

The &Beyond mobile camps are very comfortable and the staff are extremely accommodating. I was very impressed with the ability of the staff to move the camp every five days, or even more frequently as bookings and park regulations mandate. The meals, served under an open sided tent, were fresh and delicious - quite a feat given the remote locations and the mobile nature of the camp." See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia; 7n in Tanzania; 6n in Botswana; 3n in Zanzibar; 2n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mrs M
Preston

"Thank you!"

3 nights Arrived 4 Jun 2014
"When I telephoned expert Africa it was to book the Chobe Game Lodge, following our conversation Megan suggested ‘Chobe under Canvas’ and I am so glad that she did. This was the highlight of our holiday in Botswana and Namibia.
We were in one of the five tents, each tent has a basic bathroom. You just ask and hot water is provided for your bucket shower. The beds were extremely comfortable, and warm despite the cold June weather. The food was good as was the open bar, but best of all was the company of the camp staff but especially our guides, Dishu and Chief. They kept us entertained from dawn to dusk and made our stay in Chobe unforgettable. Thank you to all the staff at &Beyond for a wonderful 3 days." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Scott & Sue
USA

"Rustic setting with tons of elephants!"

2 nights Arrived 3 Jun 2014
"The staff here was great. First class operation. Well organized game drives and boat cruise. Lots of wildlife viewing. Good food (Savute under canvas was better)." See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr H
Sheffield

"Chobe Under Canvas review"

3 nights Arrived 24 Oct 2012
"Fans in the tents would have been most welcome durung the 3-4 hour lunchtime break" See all these reviews: 5n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Dr T
Amersham

"Chobe Under Canvas review"

2 nights Arrived 7 Dec 2011
"Chef very good. Beautiful countryside - extremely varied. Things got pretty damp when storm hit camp and yet the staff managed to produce an excellent dinner!" See all these reviews: 4n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
The W family
Germany

"Chobe Under Canvas review"

3 nights Arrived 21 Jun 2011
"We had a wonderful time at this camp. The staff were very welcoming and friendly. The food was great. We saw a great many animals including lions and a leopard.We were there in June which was a good time of year to see game. I tink that staying in the park was winner!" See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 4n in Seychelles; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs R
Kent

"The best!!"

3 nights Arrived 5 Jul 2010
"Absolute luxury for a tent! A fantastic experience. Suggest packing torches as what electricity thre is is so limited we were in darkness in the tent much of the time in the evenings and early morning.

The staff were great and the guide superb. There are no activities at the camp itself but the drives and boat trip were excellent." See all these reviews: 5n in Botswana; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Showing 11-19 of 19
100%
19 reviews of Chobe Under Canvas by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
19
0
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Chobe National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Muchenje Safari Lodge

Muchenje Safari Lodge

One of our favourites in the area, Muchenje is a small, welcoming lodge outside the less busy western end of the Chobe Riverfront area.


95% (152 reviews)
Chobe Princesses

Chobe Princesses

The Chobe Princess houseboats offer a memorable way to explore the Chobe and Zambezi Rivers in Namibia's Caprivi. Perfect for a couple or for a group of family or friends.


96% (57 reviews)
Garden Lodge

Garden Lodge

Overlooking the Chobe River, the intimate Garden Lodge is a haven of tranquillity away from the bustle of Kasane.


96% (54 reviews)
Savute Safari Lodge

Savute Safari Lodge

Savute Safari Lodge sits on the banks of the Savuti Channel within Chobe National Park, and offers access to excellent game viewing, especially during the dry season.


94% (34 reviews)
Chobe Safari Lodge

Chobe Safari Lodge

Chobe Safari Lodge is a good value, hotel-style lodge in the heart of Kasane offering game drives, boat cruises and fishing trips.


84% (18 reviews)
Savute Under Canvas

Savute Under Canvas

A mobile camp with the comforts of a semi-permanent tented camp, Savute Under Canvas offers guided game drives within the Savuti region of Chobe National Park.


96% (18 reviews)
Chobe Elephant Camp

Chobe Elephant Camp

Located in one of our favorite areas of Chobe National Park, Chobe Elephant Camp is a simple but well-appointed camp with a strong bush feel.


97% (12 reviews)
Chobe Game Lodge

Chobe Game Lodge

Chobe Game Lodge occupies an enviable riverfront location within Chobe National Park and boasts well-earned 'eco' credentials, as well as an excellent all-female guiding team.


85% (12 reviews)
Zambezi Queen

Zambezi Queen

The Zambezi Queen offers luxurious two- and three-night cruises along the game-rich Chobe River, including game viewing by small boat and 4WD as well as catch-and-release fishing.


96% (9 reviews)
Ngoma Safari Lodge

Ngoma Safari Lodge

With sweeping views across the floodplains of the Chobe River, Ngoma offers superb food and flexible safari activities.


100% (6 reviews)
Chobe Chilwero

Chobe Chilwero

On the periphery of Chobe National Park, Chobe Chilwero offers luxurious surroundings and excellent food, which complement superb game viewing on game drives and boat trips.


100% (2 reviews)
Elephant Valley Lodge

Elephant Valley Lodge

Elephant Valley Lodge is a lovely camp in a beautiful setting – sit in its hide and watch the wildlife come to drink at the waterhole. Activities focus on boating and drives in Chobe which - although very busy, and a long drive from the lodge – is very rich in wildlife.


80% (1 review)
Savute Elephant Lodge

Savute Elephant Lodge

Savute Elephant Lodge is a luxurious camp on the banks of the now flowing Savuti Channel. This is a classic big-game area, although its location within Chobe National Park does limit the activities which are possible here.


100% (1 review)
Camp Kuzuma

Camp Kuzuma

Camp Kuzuma sits in the Kazuma Forest Reserve and is an excellent place to see elephant in particular. Away from the busier riverfront area of Chobe National Park this camp offers a luxurious base form which to explore this less visited region of northern Botswana.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa