This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr A from Saratoga Springs

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

3

Lodges stayed in

5

Excursions taken

0

My Jun 2016 trip

Botswana and 2 other countries between 15 Jun 2016 and 1 Jul 2016

Trip rating: Excellent
"Cannot say enough about Lucy's assistance, recommendations, and responsiveness. She proved to be an exceptional representative for Expert Africa and her knowledge of the area was extremely helpful. We want to thank her for making our travels truly memorable."

Arranged By Lucy Copson


City Lodge OR Tambo

City Lodge OR Tambo

"City Lodge OR Tambo review"

1 night Arrived 15 Jun 2016
"The City Lodge was easily accessible from the terminal although improved signage on the location would have made the stroll easier.

The room was very clean and functional. Although we only stayed one evening we would have been very comfortable remaining longer.

The staff who we interfaced were excellent - welcoming, accommodating, and attentive. The breakfast buffet was sumptuous, with sufficient variety to accommodate most any dietary need."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Chobe Under Canvas

Chobe Under Canvas

"Chobe Under Canvas review"

2 nights Arrived 20 Jun 2016
"Our first experience with the "Under Canvas" camping was superb. Our guide, Moses, was extremely knowledgeable, welcoming, very friendly, and an extremely enjoyable traveling companion. He is a true gift to visitors and a tremendous representative for &Beyond and Botswana.

Blue, the camp manager, clearly demonstrated an ability to maintain a camp and staff that were attentive to our needs; with the staff having our tents ready to welcome us following our afternoon tour, with very warm shower and wash water as well as the needed "bush babies" following dinner.

Food was exceptional with varied and plentiful meals. Also, the food provided during our morning break while touring was unexpected, hearty, and very much appreciated. The camp area was very well maintained and the location within the the Chobe Reserve provided us with earlier access and later tours than any tourist who was lodging outside of the park."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Savute Under Canvas

Savute Under Canvas

"Savute Under Canvas review"

2 nights Arrived 22 Jun 2016
"Having experienced "Chobe Under Canvas" the two prior days, the Savute experience was a bit of a disappointment. Our guide, Mork, was knowledgeable and provided us some exciting viewing opportunities. However we were uncomfortable when he chose to travel into the bush to provide us a view of a male lion.

The acting Manager was also the other guide, and the chef (who was very outgoing and talented in food preparation) the first night was apparently substituting for the full-time chef who was present the second night. The facilities were clean but the water provided for showers in the late afternoon was not very warm (making it very challenging to enjoy a shower with the air temperature fairly cold).

Also, the camp was being dismantled the morning of our departure so the dining tent had been removed for our dinner our final night at Savute."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Camp Kalahari

Camp Kalahari

"Camp Kalahari review"

3 nights Arrived 26 Jun 2016
"Mr. Bones - our guide, the MC and overall host was truly amazing. Although the camp was a bit worn, Bones made this stay memorable.

Staff were very attentive and ensured we were extremely well treated. Our activities - ATV drives in the salt pan, guided tours, the Bushmen Walk, meerkat bonding - each held surprises that were amazing.

Overall an experience we would not have wanted to miss."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Avani Victoria Falls

Avani Victoria Falls

"Avani Victoria Falls review"

2 nights Arrived 29 Jun 2016
"Fantastic location and very good service. Being inside the park and with the short walk to Victoria Falls, we were able to conduct multiple trips to the various trails within the Falls area. Staff were very attentive and welcoming.

As an example, when I realized I had left my fleece on the transport to the hotel a staff member - who assisted us with our bags - quickly called the transport driver who returned to the hotel and provided the fleece. The staff in both the restaurant and bar areas warmly greeted us and efficiently served our requested beverages and drinks.

Our only disappointment was the cost of the dinner buffet the one evening we chose to dine in the restaurant. Although there was an abundance and variety of foods, our appetites did not warrant such an expense. Overall a solid recommendation."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team