This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Savute Under Canvas
Savute Under Canvas
Savute Under Canvas
Savute Under Canvas

Reviews of Savute Under Canvas

Wildlife sightings and reviews

18 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Savute Under Canvas and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jul-2018, 3 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Savute Under Canvas.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

100% success

Cheetah

100% success

Wild dog

67% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Spotted Hyena

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Buffalo

67% success

Eland

50% success

Aardvark

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Sitatunga

0% success

Showing 11-18 of 18
Duration
Arrival date
Martin S,
London

"Excellent location, staff & wildlife"

3 nights Arrived 20 Sep 2015
"Savute Under Canvas is a small camp situated in the remote bush in a less visited part of Chobe NP. The staff were excellent and we had very good wildlife experiences. During our final breakfast at camp, we were treated to the sight of 100+ buffalo wandering close to camp.

The tents are large and comfortable, although they get very hot during the middle of the day, despite the shade offered by the surrounding acacia trees." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs C
Golden CO

"Perseverance and Persistence Pay Off"

2 nights Arrived 10 Jul 2015
"The Savuti Marsh, home to the BBC documentary “Giant Killers,” a pride of lions that hunts elephants, and the “Fishing Leopard,” a mother leopard that teaches her cubs to eat catfish. I was thrilled to be here and had high expectations for phenomenal game viewing. Unfortunately, the wildlife did not get the memo that we were coming. A dry cold front passed the day we arrived, and perhaps that kept the game in hiding.

I want to give our guide full credit for doing everything in his power to find game - extending the evening and morning game drives, taking advantage of his relationship with the BBC filming crews in the area, coordinating with other guides... Nobody was seeing anything. I got a new appreciation of just how exceptional the documentaries are. Countless days spent observing the game for that brief moment of special footage.

On our second and final evening game drive, our perseverance paid off. We spotted a Denham’s bustard, scarce in Botswana, especially during the time of year we visited. The highlight of the evening, though, was a pack of wild dogs hunting impala. The curse had been broken. Taking the long way to the airstrip the following morning, game was plentiful including elephants, kudu, wildebeest, buffalo, giraffe, and the fishing leopard (distinguishable by a notch on her left ear)!

The &Beyond mobile camps are very comfortable and the staff are extremely accommodating. I was very impressed with the ability of the staff to move the camp every five days, or even more frequently as bookings and park regulations mandate. The meals, served under an open sided tent, were fresh and delicious - quite a feat given the remote locations and the mobile nature of the camp." See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia; 7n in Tanzania; 6n in Botswana; 3n in Zanzibar; 2n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Stefy & Carlo
Italy

"Great bush experience in Savute Under Canvas"

4 nights Arrived 17 Aug 2014
"The camp was exactly what we were looking for: few tents, in-the-bush, low impact on the environment but very much looked after.

The camp staff was very nice and caring. Our guide Sam K showed a great experience and respect for the wilderness. He had a great knowledge of animals and plants and thanks to him we had excellent game viewing (leopard with cub, lion hunting warthog..).

They always used the 2 vehicles for game driving and this made it possible to better appreciate the experience (especially from the photographic point of view) without crowd vehicles." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Scott & Sue
USA

"Savute was phenomenal"

2 nights Arrived 5 Jun 2014
"Everything was great here! Our chef (Thebe) really bent over backwards to prepare gluten-free meals for us. They were delicious. I forgot one item in our tent and it magically appeared at the airstrip just before our flight came as well. Just shows how well organized and well run &Beyond is!

The game drives were great too. Saw several leopards, a large pride of lions and tons of other game all around. We were at Savute in June so it was quite cold, particularly the few days we were there. They provided blankets but those weren't windproof but the warm water bottles helped a lot! Bring layers!" See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr B
Miami Beach

"Tons of animals"

2 nights Arrived 26 Apr 2014
"This camp was my favorite of the 3 that I stayed in during this trip. The accommodations were excellent for a tent and the staff was very attentive.

After every afternoon game drive, there was a hot bucket shower waiting for me without having to request one. The food was very good too. Although there was only one activity option in this camp (game drive) and limitations restricting viewings to the main roads (park rules) I offered the best game viewing of the 3 camps. I saw about 70% of my animals here.

Our guide (Sam) was fantastic and extremely knowledgable. I would highly recommend this camp." See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms W
Austria

"Savute Under Canvas review"

3 nights Arrived 14 Apr 2013
"Savute under Canvas is a wonderful camp of &Beyond, which is moved every 6 days. It thus has a great bush feeling, even though it does not lack comfort and exquisite cuisine! The meals prepared by BK were amazing every day!

Samuel our guide created a very relaxed safari experience. Wildlife was very good, we even saw a klipspringer and a pack of wilddogs! It should be considered, however, that the camp is situated in the national park and therefore offroading and night drives are not allowed and (compared to the private concessions) quite a number of other cars is driving in the area.

Visiting the ancient rock paintings at sunrise while listening to the call of the giant eagle owl was stunning...

We'll definitely try one of the other &Beyond "Under Canvas"-camps on our next safari holiday." See all these reviews: 16n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs P
Netherlands

"Savute Under Canvas review"

3 nights Arrived 14 Jun 2012
"I really enjoyed staying with &Beyond again. They are really good in trying to make you feel like a princess, which they always manage to do.

The camp staff was wonderful (and lots of fun too), the guide KD very knowledgable and eager to share his knowledge patiently. And the food - considering the circumstances - was very good. Together with Kwando Lagoon I liked the people and atmosphere here most. The camp was very intimate, with only 4 tents. As the camp has to move every 6 days the tents and the camp as a whole is a bit more simple than the one I know in the Serengeti, but that is alright. I think camping in the bush in a tent gives an additional trill.

The area is really beautiful and pretty now the water has returned to the channel and the marsh. Lots of animals are staying around now or returning (pelicans!). It absolutely made up for the fact that this is a NP and not a concession (and therefore no off road driving allowed). I am very glad I decided to go here. And I am still a big fan of &Beyond....." See all these reviews: 14n in Botswana; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr P & Ms A
Oxon

"Savute Under Canvas review"

2 nights Arrived 29 May 2009
"Amazing leopard and lion sightings.

Brilliant food." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 11-18 of 18
96%
18 reviews of Savute Under Canvas by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
14
4
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Chobe National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Muchenje Safari Lodge

Muchenje Safari Lodge

One of our favourites in the area, Muchenje is a small, welcoming lodge outside the less busy western end of the Chobe Riverfront area.


95% (152 reviews)
Chobe Princesses

Chobe Princesses

The Chobe Princess houseboats offer a memorable way to explore the Chobe and Zambezi Rivers in Namibia's Caprivi. Perfect for a couple or for a group of family or friends.


96% (57 reviews)
Garden Lodge

Garden Lodge

Overlooking the Chobe River, the intimate Garden Lodge is a haven of tranquillity away from the bustle of Kasane.


96% (54 reviews)
Savute Safari Lodge

Savute Safari Lodge

Savute Safari Lodge sits on the banks of the Savuti Channel within Chobe National Park, and offers access to excellent game viewing, especially during the dry season.


94% (34 reviews)
Chobe Under Canvas

Chobe Under Canvas

This is a typical location for Chobe under Canvas, a small, semi-permanent camp in the Chobe Riverfront area that offers good value for money and high standards of care.


100% (20 reviews)
Chobe Safari Lodge

Chobe Safari Lodge

Chobe Safari Lodge is a good value, hotel-style lodge in the heart of Kasane offering game drives, boat cruises and fishing trips.


84% (18 reviews)
Chobe Game Lodge

Chobe Game Lodge

Chobe Game Lodge occupies an enviable riverfront location within Chobe National Park and boasts well-earned 'eco' credentials, as well as an excellent all-female guiding team.


85% (12 reviews)
Chobe Elephant Camp

Chobe Elephant Camp

Located in one of our favorite areas of Chobe National Park, Chobe Elephant Camp is a simple but well-appointed camp with a strong bush feel.


97% (12 reviews)
Zambezi Queen

Zambezi Queen

The Zambezi Queen offers luxurious two- and three-night cruises along the game-rich Chobe River, including game viewing by small boat and 4WD as well as catch-and-release fishing.


96% (9 reviews)
Ngoma Safari Lodge

Ngoma Safari Lodge

With sweeping views across the floodplains of the Chobe River, Ngoma offers superb food and flexible safari activities.


100% (6 reviews)
Chobe Chilwero

Chobe Chilwero

On the periphery of Chobe National Park, Chobe Chilwero offers luxurious surroundings and excellent food, which complement superb game viewing on game drives and boat trips.


100% (2 reviews)
Savute Elephant Lodge

Savute Elephant Lodge

Savute Elephant Lodge is a luxurious camp on the banks of the now flowing Savuti Channel. This is a classic big-game area, although its location within Chobe National Park does limit the activities which are possible here.


100% (1 review)
Elephant Valley Lodge

Elephant Valley Lodge

Elephant Valley Lodge is a lovely camp in a beautiful setting – sit in its hide and watch the wildlife come to drink at the waterhole. Activities focus on boating and drives in Chobe which - although very busy, and a long drive from the lodge – is very rich in wildlife.


80% (1 review)
Camp Kuzuma

Camp Kuzuma

Camp Kuzuma sits in the Kazuma Forest Reserve and is an excellent place to see elephant in particular. Away from the busier riverfront area of Chobe National Park this camp offers a luxurious base form which to explore this less visited region of northern Botswana.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa