This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Ms B from Australia

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

3

Lodges stayed in

8

Excursions taken

0

April 2022 trip to the Kalahari

Botswana and 1 other country between 16 Apr 2022 and 27 Apr 2022

Trip rating: Excellent
"Brilliant. I can’t imagine not using Expert Africa for a trip to Africa.

This is the second time we’ve travelled with Expert Africa and the whole experience has been amazing. I especially want to thank Megan Green - I have never experienced a travel consultant who is willing to call you (I live in Australia so considerable time difference) in order to find out about you and the type of trip that would best suit you, and respond so quickly to emails and follow up on every little query and concern with the utmost patience.

And thank you so much Megan, for recommending Andrew to us. I had never even heard of mobile safaris until you told us about Andrew’s and we are now truly hooked.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

Not that I can think of at present."

Arranged By Megan Green


City Lodge OR Tambo

City Lodge OR Tambo

"City Lodge OR Tambo review"

1 night Arrived 16 Apr 2022
"Perfect for what we needed, i.e. a place to sleep the night between flights.

Big bonus being able to walk there with all our luggage without having to leave the airport.

We didn’t eat that night - straight to bed, but breakfast the next day was great, and very friendly and accommodating staff."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
San Camp

San Camp

"San Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 17 Apr 2022
"A beautiful place to stay - the accommodation is unreal, the staff just lovely and any more food, I wouldn’t have been able to climb into the safari vehicle!

I really loved the friendliness of San Camp - from our guide to all the house staff. The location and views are stunning and we had the most amazing safaris, unbelievably coming across a lioness and her 3 juvenile cubs, and later on a female cheetah and her 2 juvenile cubs all on our first game drive!

Spending time with the meerkats was really special too."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Kalahari Private Mobile Camp

"The BEST safari experience ever"

7 nights Arrived 19 Apr 2022
"I love all the lodges I’ve stayed at in Botswana but nothing beats a mobile safari, and I can’t imagine any mobile safari beating Andrew's mobile safari. This is the 2nd safari we’ve done with Andrew and hopefully will not be the last.

So what makes it so good? Camping (but luxury camping - think Out of Africa - the mobile drinks cabinet is certainly reminiscent of the 1920s); a totally different experience to being in a lodge - you feel as if you are the only people for miles around; dinner under the stars (3 courses every night - not to mention the pre dinner canapés); sleeping under canvas listening to the sounds of the African night; leaving no footprint when you (well Andrew’s team actually), pack up to move to the next location - everything is set up sustainably without impinging on your comfort in any way.

And now for Andrew - well, apart from being an incredibly nice guy, what a great guide and such an amazing mine of information. I loved the fact that he was able to comment on and share the most amazing and interesting information about all the wildlife we saw: how wild dogs gee each other up before a hunt; how the honey badger only gets knocked out by a snake bite but doesn’t die from it; how the non poisonous fake Monarch butterfly has evolved to resemble the poisonous Monarch butterfly in order to avoid being eaten by predators. It’s not just a question of viewing wildlife with Andrew, it is really observing wildlife and becoming immersed in it and in Botswana itself.

This trip was to the Kalahari - I loved it. It’s a place I really hope I will return to one day. We saw so much and were able to spend time just watching the wildlife with no other vehicles around. It’s hard to pick highlights: the 3 sightings of wild dogs - watching them prepare to go hunting; the female cheetah trying to sleep whilst her 3 juvenile cubs chased each around a termite mound and then crashed into her; the herds of oryx, such beautiful animals; the huge variety of birds; the limitless horizon leading to the most amazing sunsets. And of course being on a mobile safari with Andrew and his amazing crew."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Thamalakane River Lodge

Thamalakane River Lodge

"Thamalakane River Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 26 Apr 2022
"A great place to spend a night after finishing a safari and before a flight out of Botswana.

The sunset over the river is to die for."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent

My June 2018 Trip

Botswana and 2 other countries between 9 Jun 2018 and 25 Jun 2018

Trip rating: Excellent
"Unbelievable - just loved it. So glad I went through Expert Africa.

Megan was just wonderful from the very start. Nothing seemed too much trouble for her. Huge thank you to you Megan - all your suggestions and recommendations were just spot on. So glad we did both mobile and lodge, but I think mobile is the overall winner!


Will definitely be recommending Expert Africa to friends and colleagues."

Arranged By Megan Green


Vineyard Hotel

Vineyard Hotel

"Cape Town feedback"

3 nights Arrived 10 Jun 2018
"Service overall was very good. Booked trip to Table Mountain and that was all done very quickly and efficiently. Breakfasts were excellent. Wasn't so impressed with the other meals. Best thing was the location (a great suburb, very peaceful and felt safe) and the gardens. Would definitely stay there again."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Botswana Private Mobile Safari

Botswana Private Mobile Safari

"Moremi and Savuti"

6 nights Arrived 13 Jun 2018
"I can't speak highly enough of Andrew's safari. Suffice to say I've started to save for the next trip! Andrew runs a very tight ship with great attention to detail. The camp set up is fantastic. His staff are great and the meals were outstanding. The safaris were amazing- I don't think there was one question about an animal or Botswana that Andrew couldn't answer!

The camp at Moremi was in a great location - felt that we were the only people around. Loved listening to the hippos and elephants in the nearby river at night.

Savuti was also great although there were other mobile camps nearby so you could hear other people. Loved the place for the wildlife though.

The only suggestion I would have for Andrew is to have additional blankets in the tents as the nights were freezing - or recommend that guests who feel the cold bring thermals to sleep in 😊

Was very sad saying goodbye to Andrew and the team."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Shinde Camp

Shinde Camp

"Shinde Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 19 Jun 2018
"It was a bit of a shock coming from the solitude of a mobile camp to a lodge with other tourists, however it was a great lodge and the rooms were fantastic - so spacious and comfortable.

In fact the whole lodge was designed really well - loved how it's been built to incorporate existing trees. Loved the staff and loved the fact that the managers and guides ate with the guests. Far more interesting talking to them rather than just other tourists 😊 Impressed too with how they remembered everyone's names! Food not as good as Andrew's camp but I'm not sure anyone could match that.

Our guide, Ezekiel, was fantastic and really knowledgeable - he also had the most amazing eyesight. Was so easy to arrange different activities through him. Felt that nothing was too much trouble for him - that goes for all the staff there."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Victoria Falls Hotel

Victoria Falls Hotel

"Victoria Falls Hotel"

2 nights Arrived 22 Jun 2018
"The hotel's an icon and somewhere I'd always wanted to stay.

It is looking a little rundown though - probably more the fault of the economy than hotel management."
Good
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team