This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs H from Caterham

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

4

Countries visited

4

Lodges stayed in

13

Excursions taken

0

Long awaited return to Botswana, Zambia and Malawi

Zambia and 1 other country between 3 May 2022 and 14 May 2022

Trip rating: Excellent
"As usual with Expert Africa every thing went like clockwork. We recommend you every time!

Only place I was not that happy with was Latitude 13 but not sure what other options there were to get a PCR test done even though we did not need it in the end."

Arranged By Lucy Copson


Avani Victoria Falls

Avani Victoria Falls

"Avani Victoria Falls review"

1 night Arrived 3 May 2022
"This was our 6th visit and we had a room at back near the pond as we have had several times before.

Although there is no view you get the best sound of the Falls from these rooms.

Service bit slow, breakfast had a good selection."
Good
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Mfuwe Lodge

Mfuwe Lodge

"Mfuwe Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 4 May 2022
"5th visit to Mfuwe Lodge and still love it.

We had a lagoon view room and heard and saw hippos. The room was very nice as recently renovated.

Staff were amazing, food was good. Our guide James was very good, only draw back was the length of the game drives at 4 plus hours twice a day.

I appreciate they try hard to find more elusive animals but they are still long."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Makokola Retreat

Makokola Retreat

"Makokola Retreat review"

5 nights Arrived 7 May 2022
"This was our 6th visit here and just before and during Covid they have done major refurbishments to the communal areas and rondavals where we normally stayed. This time we stayed in the New Complex of Lake suits which are lovely and have their own pool and bar area.

Food was good service was good and staff were very pleasant and tried hard to please."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Latitude 13

Latitude 13

"Latitude 13 review"

2 nights Arrived 12 May 2022
"We only stayed here two days as due to the fact that at the time of booking we needed a PCR test to leave Malawi.

The communal areas were quirky however the room was not that good, infact I felt it was unsafe, The bed was on a raised concrete area with an unprotected concrete drop to next level. The bath was sunken in the middle of the bathroom floor. As the walls were all painted a dark gray I felt you could easily forget these factors at night and come a cropper!

Service was very slow. It was also expensive ."
Average
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location
Average
Service
Average
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent

My Apr 2022 trip

Botswana between 28 Apr 2022 and 3 May 2022

Trip rating: Excellent
"Everything was perfect from organization to the actual trip"

Arranged By Lucy Copson


Garden Lodge

Garden Lodge

"Garden Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 29 Apr 2022
"Just here for a day on arrival from UK.

We has a very nice room with a sunny patio outside and went on a relaxing boat trip on the lovely Chobe River and had sundowners. Access to the river was from the jetty at the end of the lovely garden.

Evening meal was good and in the morning we had a game drive before breakfast back at the lodge. The lodge had some fantastic large pictures and other nice unusual decor."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Muchenje Safari Lodge

Muchenje Safari Lodge

" Fantastic Muchenje Safari Lodge "

3 nights Arrived 30 Apr 2022
"A revisit after 15 years and it was even was better and more than expected.

We were lucky to be upgraded to the family room which was huge with a bathroom each! Our guide was Ali who had an amazing amount of knowledge and we got on really well. The food was lovely and the staff were so friendly. On our last of 3 nights there the staff did a dance and singing entertainment which they seemed to enjoy as much as we and other guests did.

One day we saw hundreds of buffalo, more than we have ever seen in 15 years of doing safaris in Africa, we would love to return."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

My Oct 2021 trip, long awaited return to favourit

Kenya between 2 Oct 2021 and 13 Oct 2021

Trip rating: Excellent
"As I said I could not wait to return to Africa and I was not disappointed!
I love staying at the smaller lodges, never tire of game drives, guides stories and a chill out by the coast."

Arranged By Richard Trillo


Four Points Nairobi Airport

Four Points Nairobi Airport

"Four Points by Sheraton review"

1 night Arrived 2 Oct 2021
"This was our second overnight visit to this Hotel.
Once again the nearness to the airport was a godsend after a delayed flight etc.
The check in was swift and the room was lovely and also a good size. As it was late we headed up to the roof top bar for a couple of drinks to chill out. Breakfast was very good, lots of choice. Would be happy to stay again."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Little Governors' Camp

Little Governors' Camp

"Little Governors' Camp, a great place for our return to Africa "

3 nights Arrived 3 Oct 2021
"The Camp, staff, tent and location were lovely.
The food was good and our guide Joseph was superb. One of the best at spotting wildlife in the distance in our 14 years of Safari holidays.
We saw so many lions, every day, different prides in one day cheetah on one occasion, elephants, buffalo, antelope and hippo.
We would love to stay again."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Baobab Beach Resort

"Baobab Beach Resort return visit"

6 nights Arrived 6 Oct 2021
"Second visit this time to Kole Kole side which was noisy due to Kenyan Half term.
The room was good so we just walked over to the quieter Maridadi end where we stayed the first visit. The quite adults only pool was lovely and the smaller bar and eating area was nice. The staff were friendly and food was good especially the desserts!"
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent

Going back to my roots.

Zambia and 2 other countries between 29 Jul 2007 and 15 Aug 2007

Trip rating: Excellent
"The trip was great, well organised and most of the time things happened as they were supposed to. My husband is now nearly as fond of Africa as I am!"

Arranged By Lucy Copson


Muchenje Safari Lodge

Muchenje Safari Lodge

"Picnic with the elephants on the Chobe River"

4 nights Arrived 30 Jul 2007
"Lovely lodge in a great location. Management staff really friendly mixing with guests.

Guides very knowlegdeable again eating with guests made very interesting meal times.

Loads of game, lions,elephant, kudu, sable etc. great all day safari including lunch on the Chobe River watching loads of elephants along the shore.

Beds really clean and comfy although we didn't seem to spend much time in them!"
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Avani Victoria Falls

Avani Victoria Falls

"So easy to visit the Falls again and again."

3 nights Arrived 3 Aug 2007
"Great location, less than five mins walk to the Falls.

Swimming pool and grounds lovely.R esturant expensive, Sguires next door better value, although pool snacks in the day good value.

Activity centre attached to hotel helpful in arranging taxi into Livingstone town.Service very laid back, everything in Zambian time!"
Good
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Mfuwe Lodge

Mfuwe Lodge

"Lucky with the leopards."

4 nights Arrived 6 Aug 2007
"A bit dissapointed that our chalet was on part of the river that had all but dried up but were still lucky to have elephants wallowing in the mud outside our room. Other chalets still had water in the river, must look lovely in the rainy season.

The guide who was with us for the whole three days was excellent. The game was good and we saw leopards every day, once in daylight. We even saw a pair of mating lions!

The food was good with very friendly African staff. Unfortunatley the English 'temporary' staff were not so good. Felt that as they were more expensive than the previous lodge drinks should have been free as was the case in the other lodge."
Good
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Makokola Retreat

Makokola Retreat

"Totally chilled!"

4 nights Arrived 10 Aug 2007
"Super beach and gardens just the place to unwind after the hard work of safaries. The chalet was fine although I do not think we got the superior room we had paid for it was a family room.

The view from the room of the beach was great to wake up to.

The food was good if you went to dinner early as the puddings tended to be all gone if you left it too late!

Not much oppurtunity to get out and about. ie to nearest town or Cape McClear unless you paid a lot of money for hotel excursions or so it semed."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team