This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs C from Hindhead

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

3

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

12

Excursions taken

0

Beautiful Park but rather lacking in animals

Zambia between 19 Sep 2018 and 1 Oct 2018

Trip rating: Good
"We enjoyed this trip but not as much as other safaris as the number and variety of animals was disappointing."

Pioneer Camp

Pioneer Camp

"Pioneer Camp review"

1 night Arrived 20 Sep 2018
"This camp was peaceful, had friendly staff and the accommodation was good. All meals were good.

Excellent place to stay for a night."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Busanga Bushcamp

Busanga Bushcamp

"Busanga Bushcamp review"

3 nights Arrived 21 Sep 2018
"Camp was in a beautiful setting looking out across the Busanga plains.

Staff were very attentive and friendly. Food was extremely good and plentiful. The kitchen was very obliging when small requests were made.

Our guide Aaron was very good. The balloon trip was fantastic."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Musekese Camp

Musekese Camp

"Musekese Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 24 Sep 2018
"The camp was in a lovely location. Ephy our guide was competent. We would have preferred the safari vehicles to have a top to protect from the sun. The boat trip was very good. James led us on a guided walk which was very informative but intense.

The accommodation had a good view however it was too hot to sit out on the verandah in the afternoon as the shading was poor allowing a lot of sun to come through and also making the room very hot. The chalet itself was fine.

We were very disappointed with the food. The breakfast choice was very limited and quality was poor. For example toast was often cold and burnt, and only fruit was small pieces of browned apple with the occasional slice of banana in a small bowl with barely enough for all the guests. Lunch was provided as a buffet and of average quality. The portions of food provided at dinner should have been larger for an adult male.

the staff were friendly. The quality of service from the camp staff was inconsistent for example staff not always at bar to serve cold drinks on returning to camp after a drive, offering to serve a beer and then finding it had not been chilled, not having bucket shower ready when it had been requested."
Average
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Poor
Facilities
Good
KaingU Lodge

KaingU Lodge

"KaingU Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 27 Sep 2018
"We loved this lodge. Beautiful location, rooms and central areas.

This is a very well managed camp and everything ran smoothly and we were made to feel valued guests. All staff were friendly and couldn't do enough for you.

The food was excellent and we were treated to a surprise lunch on an island in the river and dinner in the bush on the last night.

John D was an excellent experienced guide supported by trainee guide Daniel. We enjoyed the river trips and guided walk up to the rocky outcrop for sundowners."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Trip to Selous and Ruaha September 2015

Tanzania between 16 Sep 2015 and 25 Sep 2015

Trip rating: Excellent
"We had a fantastic holiday. Both camps were very good in their own ways. The whole trip ran very smoothly apart from comments below.

We will definitely use Expert Africa again.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

Dar Es Salaam airport is chaotic. It is very hot and it is not clear where to go. We did not realise we had to fill in departure forms and had to go back to the end of the queue. Perhaps Africa travel should advise people of this form and process to get through this airport.

My wife felt quite faint with the heat and jostling crowds. It took more than an hour to get through past all the passport control and security points. Perhaps we should have been warned of this."

Arranged By Elizabeth Chapman


Selous Impala Camp

Selous Impala Camp

"Excellent Guiding and Service at Impala Camp"

4 nights Arrived 17 Sep 2015
"Camp is in an excellent position next to the river. The tents are set well apart and were well equipped. We enjoyed being on the end in tent 1 as it was very secluded and have us the opportunity to stretch our legs. The Masai were always there to accompany us.

Service was excellent in both the restaurant and bar. David, our water was very attentive and personable. The food was acceptable and portions were too large. There were some strange combinations and the food seemed to have been kept warm for some time. All meals were served at our table but we would have preferred buffet style service for lunch.The manager on duty at the time was a bit hit and miss in her dealing with us.

We were fortunate to have both a guide and a driver on our game drives and were on our own for every drive. Ezra, our guide, and Khalid, our driver, were excellent. We especially enjoyed the river trips and the surprise sundowner with fizz. The walking safari was a bit boring and the information could have been given to us in a fire side chat. e.g.: the history of the Masai."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Facilities
Excellent
Kigelia Camp

Kigelia Camp

"Great Bush Experience at Kigelia CAmp"

4 nights Arrived 21 Sep 2015
"The rooms are situated above a dry river bed but we saw little game from our tent. We thought the tents were too close together as you could hear other people talking which took away from the solitude we usually enjoy in the camps. The paths to the tents needed some maintenance especially some loose sandy steps which are especially dangerous at night.

The rooms were spacious but needed more storage. We needed a table to put things on and a few more shelves.

Service was excellent and we liked the fact that drinks were inclusive. The staff were not so chatty but we suspect their English was limited. Ken, the manager, was very attentive and professional. Times of meals and drives were very flexible and nothing was too much trouble.

John, our guide and driver, was experienced and very good at spotting animals and even small birds at a distance. He accommodated our interests and we were lucky enough to be on our own in the vehicle. We especially enjoyed the night drive.

The meals were good and freshly cooked. They were quite simple and there were a variety of vegetables."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

South Luangwa with Norman Carr Safaris

Zambia between 20 Jun 2012 and 2 Jul 2012

Trip rating: Good
"Accommodation was good or excellent. Staff were attentive, cheerful and helpful. It was a truly memorable holiday

There was a lack of game in general which detracted from an otherwise excellent safari.

We were told there was a 14 day menu but we had same dinner on consecutive nights on two occasions which was disappointing. On one occasion the menu should have been fish and I suspect as my wife does not like fish the next days menu was prepared ather than making her a different dish. The last night was completely vegetarian, I wonder whether this was because some other guest(s) were vegetarians.

I bought with me two batteries and a charger with me for my camera. The limited time in which batteries could be re-charged during the middle of the day meant I could not leave the camera on during game drives and hence missed photo opportunties as the camera powered up and secondly I had insufficent power to review and delete photos between game drives. The solar power systems appear to be inadequate to service the charging to batteries and the rest of the camp.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

There was not enough emphasis on how sparse the game could be at this time of year by the Expert Africa staff. When we were there the guiding staff had a much more realistic view on what we might see."

Kapani Lodge

Kapani Lodge

"Great Wildlife Sitings"

2 nights Arrived 21 Jun 2012
"Very good place to stay before going to bush camps to allow time to recover after a long journey. We experienced some of the best wildlife viewing on game drives from this lodge.

The transfer from Mfuwe Airport to Kapani Lodge was quite early in the day and we were unprepared for the open vehicle and speed of travel and so we were very cold on the journey."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo Bushcamp

"Great accommodation at Nsolo Camp"

2 nights Arrived 23 Jun 2012
"Loved the accomodation on stilts and decking area. Service was fantastic.

The guide called us just before our siesta time to take us to see some lions which had just been seen in the area.

We were delighted to have private dining on our decking area and to share it with a group of elephants.

Walking and vehicle game drives were not as interesting as we had hoped.

To improve privacy screening from the bedroom to bathroom needs to be higher to block views to the camp fire area."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Luwi Bushcamp

Luwi Bushcamp

"Great Hippo Hide at Luwi Bushcamp"

2 nights Arrived 25 Jun 2012
"Brunch in the bush was a lovely surprise. Hippo hide viewing was a great experience. Had excellent service from camp staff.

Walking and vehicle drives were not as interesting as expected.

We found the accommodation and main area building were too close together and we were disturbed by general noise from the bar area and conversations from the room next door.

People needed to walk past our chalet to access theirs and could easily see into our chalet."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Facilities
Average
Kakuli Bushcamp

Kakuli Bushcamp

"Best views at Kakuli Bushcamp"

2 nights Arrived 27 Jun 2012
"Accommodation and personal viewing area were fantastic. Wonderful views from common area. Service was excellent.

We had an excellent viewing of a leopard at this camp during the day. The walks were more interesting."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Mchenja Bushcamp

Mchenja Bushcamp

"Best Accommodation & location at Mchenja Camp"

2 nights Arrived 29 Jun 2012
"This bushcamp had the best location and accommodation of the four camps. Service was again excellent.

At last saw a good quantity and variety game.

We were delighted by the surprise champagne sundowner and camp fire held by the river where we watched a beautiful sunset."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Pioneer Camp

Pioneer Camp

"Pioneer Camp Review"

1 night Arrived 1 Jul 2012
"Transfers were good.

We were provided with inferior accommodation to what was booked due to an error. Although clean it was very basic and not of a standard we would normally book. The manager was very apologetic about the error and he is still in discussion with Expert Africa about this matter.

Strange service with the food which had be pre-ordered at check in and when we were called to the table the food already sitting there getting cold."
Poor
Location
Average
Service
Average
Facilities
Poor
Rooms
Poor
Food
Average

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team