This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Mountain Gorilla View Lodge
Mountain Gorilla View Lodge
Mountain Gorilla View Lodge
Mountain Gorilla View Lodge
Mountain Gorilla View Lodge

Mountain Gorilla View Lodge


1°25’42.7"S 29°33’18.5"E

Reviews of Mountain Gorilla View

Wildlife sightings and reviews

100 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Mountain Gorilla View and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 12 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Mountain Gorilla View.
Mountain Gorilla

92% success

Buffalo

13% success

Elephant

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 31-40 of 100
Duration
Arrival date
Mr B & Mrs K
Dubai

"Great views, people and atmosphere"

2 nights Arrived 7 Dec 2016
"We had a great stay at the Mountain View Gorilla Lodge for the first two nights, the team there was very welcoming and pleasant – a great stay for people who are looking for comfort within a sensible budget with great views and looking for accommodation near the park entrance! A nice touch was the fireplace in the banda, which certainly kept us warm, as the nights were relatively cold in December. If I wanted to be critical and to provide some sort of constructive feedback then I would have say that the bathrooms certainly require a bit of TLC – although we knew this before proceeding with the Mountain View Gorilla Lodge from the reviews, however, the team at the lodge, the food, and the atmosphere made up for this!" See all these reviews: 3n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Ms J
Woking

"Great time at Gorilla Mountain View Lodge"

3 nights Arrived 3 Dec 2016
"The Gorilla Mountain Lodge is in a great location with amazing views of the mountains where the monkeys and gorillas live. The lodge is quite quirky, with rooms spread out over the site. The food was great; three courses at lunch and dinner with plenty of options. The evenings were quite chilly so we had a real fire in our rooms, which were very welcome. Also, hot water bottles in our beds; very nice!!

We had a great time here, the only negative points we would say is on the point of tipping. We decided to leave a tip at the end of our stay, to be shared amongst all the staff. Whenever any of the staff did anything for us they would linger, obviously waiting for a tip. We actually found this quite embarrassing and it made us feel uncomfortable. I would suggest that the hotel is made aware of this, as I am sure other people felt the same.

Whilst in Rwanda, we organised a private driver-guide and 4WD for these travellers. They commented:

Theo picked us up from the airport and was very professional at all times. He was a very careful and safe driver and made us feel very confident, even when we were in busy traffic. He was very knowledgeable and told us a lot about Rwanda and the genocide that happened. He recommended a visit to the local market which we found very interested. We didn't really do a lot with him as we were only in Rwanda 4 days; one day travelling to the gorillas and three days seeing the monkeys and gorillas.

On our return to the airport my daughter left her passport in the hotel. Fortunately Theo hadn't left the airport and was waiting to make sure we got on the plane OK. He quickly took my husband back to the hotel to pick up the passport; I don't know what we would have done if he had gone.


" See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania; 4n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Mr A
Washington

"Gorilla Mountain View Lodge review"

5 nights Arrived 15 Oct 2016
"A large lodge, exceptionally well located in the shadow of Volcanoes National Park. Absolutely magnificent views of the chain of volcanoes in the Park. Dated, somewhat dilapidated common areas and rooms. Somewhat uncomfortable rooms (especially in the cold of morning and late of day) useful almost solely for sleeping. Cafeteria style dining in order to accommodate the very large number of guests. Average food. Attentive dining service by a large, well-meaning staff. Good service otherwise, especially the complementary boot-cleaning available to those returning from a muddy hike.

Words cannot adequately describe primate tracking in the Park, whether gorillas or golden monkeys. It is simply an experience of a lifetime.

The lodge is excellently located amid the various jumping-off points for tracking. Two days of gorilla tracking provide the opportunity for many points of comparison in tracking experiences and is recommended. For those with time and/or who are seeking additional pre-tracking acclimatization to altitude, the nature walk is recommended for its beauty and its solitude (we were the only visitors on our particular walk). " See all these reviews: 12n in Rwanda; 7n in Mozambique; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Dr N
Corby

"Simple but clean accommodation"

3 nights Arrived 1 Oct 2016
"Staff very pleasant and helpful" See all these reviews: 9n in Kenya; 3n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Ms F
Hertfordshire

"Gorilla Mountain View Lodge Review"

3 nights Arrived 28 Sep 2016
"Very attentive and friendly staff.

Food was very good.

Items in the shop were extremely over priced e.g postcard was $3 and identical thing was $1 at tourist shop down the road." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 3n in Rwanda; 1n in Kenya; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr&Mrs T
Biggleswade

"Gorilla Mountain View Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 4 Sep 2016
"This lodge is ideally placed for the Gorilla trekking in the volcanoes national park. The room was nice, with an open fire which was lit and stoked up periodically.

The bathroom however was very basic. Some sort of enclosure around the shower would be good, and maybe a handle or something to hold onto as it was a large area and fairly slippery.

The food was a buffet with a reasonable amount of choice. The staff were very friendly and helpful - and keen that you enjoyed your stay.

The gorilla trekking that we did from here was well worth it. We had requested a 'short' walk which was 2 hours, much of it uphill and a very steep downward trek. However the rangers and porters were great at ensuring that everyone kept up, and it was well worth it once we arrived at Family Kwitondo!!

On our way back to Kigali our guide took us to two beautiful lakes - which was a trip well worth doing." See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania; 4n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Charlotte & Dale
UK

"Gorilla Mountain View Lodge review"

4 nights Arrived 23 Aug 2016
"Gorilla mountain view lodge turned out to be a very pleasant surprise. Did'nt have very high expectations after reading other reviews, but we found the accommodation fantastic. Very clean spacious cottages with everything you could need for your stay, hot water bottles in bed every night and a fier lit for you (although in my opinion it wasn't that cold, still a nice touch). Very good food, although a bit repetitive after a while. Excellent location for the gorillas around 15 minute drive to the briefing point. Staff very very good, literally falling over them selves to help and serve you, maybe a bit too much at times!

Only slight downside was that prices of drinks seemed to change depending on you waiter, a glass of red wine one night was $3 and the next night we were charged $7, didn't impact on our stay too much but maybe a drinks menu or price list could be implemented. Water, tea and coffee was included.

Other wise perfect base for gorilla trekking and a very confortable stay." See all these reviews: 5n in Tanzania; 5n in Rwanda; 3n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Dr C
Chicago

"Rustic and charming."

4 nights Arrived 14 Aug 2016
"This place is conveniently situated close to the national park headquarters and to the activities in the area, so you don't have to drive nearly as far as you would if you were staying in a number of other locations. It's a very charming place with huge rooms and a nice main lodge.

It gets cold at night, and each room has a fireplace that the staff comes and lights for you, and they give you a surprisingly effective hot water bottle under the covers at night. Everyone who works there is very enthusiastic about serving the guests.

The shower left something to be desired, as the water pressure was very weak, but at least the water that did come out was hot." See all these reviews: 8n in Zambia; 6n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Carter Caravan
USA

"Gorilla Moutain View Lodge"

3 nights Arrived 11 Aug 2016
"The views are amazing and the rooms are individual bungalows which have a nice fireplace and they will make a fire in it any time of the day. There is entertainment with local dancers&music outside at 5pm. The meals are buffet and plenty of choices to find something you will like. The staff is amazingly friendly and helpful. There are two fireplaces in the lodge and internet is only in the lodge, so the area is usually crowded late afternoon and early evening. The furniture is in need of replacement and is not cohesive, it looks like it came from various garge sales. A small gift shop is available. There are no safes in the room so you need to use there safe. This would be a recommendation for them to change in the future and put in-room safes in each building. Their bathrooms also need remodeling. If they would remodel they could command a much higher price. There are now new hotels going up in the same area and we would check into these in the future. They appear to be boutique in nature from what we could see." See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania; 9n in Rwanda; 3n in Kenya; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Poor
Mr C
Boston

"Gorilla Mountain View Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 4 Aug 2016
"It was also better than I expected. Nothing fancy, but everything you need.

Common area was the only wifi service, and limited somewhat. But it was fun to congregate there, enjoy the fire, and enjoy the company of others. The rooms and open showers were kind of different, but fun.

Good buffet food, the lodge does a nice job. It's all about the gorillas!" See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia; 3n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Showing 31-40 of 100
88%
100 reviews of Mountain Gorilla View by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
48
44
8
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Rwanda

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Rwanda.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Volcanoes National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Sabyinyo Silverback Lodge

Sabyinyo Silverback

In a fine location close to Volcanoes National Park, Sabyinyo Silverback Lodge is a very comfortable lodge with wonderful views.


95% (21 reviews)
Virunga Lodge

Virunga Lodge

Virunga Lodge is a consciously environmental lodge in a stunning location, about an hour's drive from Volcanoes National Park headquarters.


98% (13 reviews)
Gorilla's Nest

Gorillas Nest

Gorilla's Nest is a very high-end lodge in a great location near the Volcanoes National Park headquarters, from where all gorilla trips start.


73% (6 reviews)
Bisate Lodge

Bisate Lodge

The exclusive and luxurious Bisate Lodge, close to Volcanoes National Park, is one of the best places to stay in the area.


100% (4 reviews)
Bishop's House

Bishops House

In the town of Musanze, a half-hour drive from the Volcanoes National Park headquarters, Bishop's House is well placed for gorilla trekking.


No reviews yet
Kwitonda Lodge

Kwitonda Lodge

Close to the edge of Volcanoes National Park, the luxurious Kwitonda Lodge opened in 2019. Ask your Expert Africa specialist for the latest news.


No reviews yet
Five Volcanoes

Five Volcanoes

Five Volcanoes offers mid-range hotel accommodation around 15 minutes' drive from Volcanoes National Park headquarters.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa