This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Mountain Gorilla View Lodge
Mountain Gorilla View Lodge
Mountain Gorilla View Lodge
Mountain Gorilla View Lodge
Mountain Gorilla View Lodge

Mountain Gorilla View Lodge


1°25’42.7"S 29°33’18.5"E

Reviews of Mountain Gorilla View

Wildlife sightings and reviews

100 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Mountain Gorilla View and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 12 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Mountain Gorilla View.
Mountain Gorilla

92% success

Buffalo

13% success

Elephant

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 41-50 of 100
Duration
Arrival date
Maggie
Australia

"Gorilla Mountain View Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 3 Aug 2016
"a rustic hotel but overall a good experience. showers were a bit dodgy but good quality food and service." See all these reviews: 5n in Tanzania; 4n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr BG
Newport Coast

"Gorilla Mtn View Lodge"

3 nights Arrived 29 Jul 2016
"As Ellie mentioned, Rwanda overall is lagging in serving tourists, this lodge is a good choice for facilities, food and location but they are inefficient in some of the basics of service." See all these reviews: 5n in Rwanda; 3n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Poor
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr D
Oxted

"Gorilla Mountain View Lodge"

3 nights Arrived 28 Jul 2016
"Excellent location giving relatively short drive to the gorilla trekking rendevous point.

The ambiance in the hotel is very good and the service is excellent. Food is pretty good with a wide choice and wi-fi in the central location is good. The rooms are very good and well serviced though some have a moderate walk from the centre.

The shower is just ok - hot water but no real power but other than that the room is good and the staff prepare a wood fire each evening," See all these reviews: 4n in Rwanda; 3n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mrs W
Ontario

"Gorilla Mountain View Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 28 Jul 2016
"We were impressed with Gorilla Mountain Lodge. The staff was so friendly and accommodating.

I can not fault them.

While in Rwanda this traveller did a gorilla trek, here's what she said about it:
What an amazing experience! The trek up the mountain is not the easiest but well worth it.

A tip to those who are going to do this trek - hire a porter. The lads were well worth the money." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia; 2n in Rwanda; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms M
Ontario

"Gorilla Mountain View Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 27 Jul 2016
"Service was great.

Staff put hot water bottles in our beds and started a new fire in our fireplace every night.

Whilst at Gorilla Mountain View Lodge this traveller joined two gorilla treks. Here's what she said about it:
The guides and trackers were very informative and helpful. They really knew how to protect the gorillas from too much stimulation, while giving us maximum access. An amazing experience!

My only confusion was around tipping. We were informed in advance of what an appropriate tip would be for trackers, guides etc. But when we got up on the mountain, there were more trackers than we anticipated. it was hard to figure out who everyone was and what their role was. This led to some awkwardness around tipping. I would have preferred to have Expert Africa handle the tipping on our behalf." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia; 2n in Rwanda; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms S
Hertfordshire

"Gorilla Mountain View Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 19 Jul 2016
"This location of this lodge is fantastic. The rooms are huge, very comfortable and have everything one would need. Love the fireplace and the warming fire and hot water bottle in the evening. Toiletries are provided in the bathroom. If you want anything, the staff are always willing to help if requested.
The surroundings are brilliant. You can hear wonderful sound of birds in the morning and evening. It is so peaceful.
The food is good and served as a buffet. The buffets have a huge variety so there is always something that you will like.
The warmth and hospitality of the staff is commendable. The staff will always go out of their way to help you and cater to your needs.
It is amazing how quickly your shoes are cleaned and returned to your room after the gorilla trek. They looked new! Just like when I bought them.
The traditional dancers in the evening are also brilliant! Loved them! I looked forward to their performance every evening. They make you so happy with their dancing and their big smiles!
Well done! Keep up the good work!" See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania; 5n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr J
Basingstoke

"Gorilla Mountain View Lodge review"

4 nights Arrived 9 Jul 2016
"Good, medium standard of accommodation.

The staff absolutely could not be more friendly or keen to help. No issues really with how infrastructure worked (power and water), food quite acceptable (way better than I've had in a lodge targeting roughly the same market in India). Certainly no problems or issues seen with cleanliness or hygiene etc" See all these reviews: 5n in Rwanda; 5n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs W
Kent

"Lodge with log fires, close to the Nat Park"

3 nights Arrived 4 Jul 2016
"Spent 3 nights here. Huge cottage room with open wood fire, and we had a short walk through lawned gardens to main building and restaurant. Food was quite good but varied very little from day to day so became rather repetitive.

They were quite flexible with rooming arrangements to cater for the variability in trek lengths (we still had our room available on the last day when we returned from trekking at 1pm, and didn't actually check out until 2:30pm). Nice lounge area in main building, with open fires and local musicians in the evenings.

After trekking your shoes/boots are taken from you and returned to you clean and dry by the same evening - a very nice touch." See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania; 5n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr A
Great Falls

"Gorilla Mountain View Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 19 Jun 2016
"Very nice experience at Gorilla Mountain View. The lodge is quite a bit larger than the other places I stayed. The service was very friendly, and they certainly do an amazing job of cleaning boots. The area is rather chilly at night, but they always lit a fire in the cottage.

The gorilla and golden monkey treks were amazing, with outstanding guides. Truly an unforgettable experience. Food was simple but well prepared.

I really enjoyed taking a tour of the village of Gasura, which I would not have done without my guide, Bernard Munyankindi, who did a great job and was a terrific person to spend the week with. The village tour was enlightening and not the least bit touristy. I would highly recommend that to anyone." See all these reviews: 20n in Tanzania; 6n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rob
Watford

"My sort of place !"

4 nights Arrived 9 Jun 2016
"Difficult to know where to start ! I enjoyed my time here from the very first greeting on arrival.

My cabin / lodge had an outstanding view of one of the volcanoes. Beautiful gardens which I used in my "downtime" to photograph the exquisite birdlife.

Breakfast, lunch and dinner was presented on a buffet style basis and the quality and quantity of the food was excellent. There was always a member of the staff available to help. Really attentive people.

Great location to get to the golden monkeys / mountain gorillas etc.

Small details like taking your muddy boots / gaiters from you at the entrance after returning from the mountains and returning them thoroughly cleaned in the evening ready for the next day and wrapping some wooden carvings I had purchased locally without being asked was just the cream on the top.

I stayed her longer than most people usually do as I had arranged additional gorilla tracks. Even so I was sorry to leave. I have really good memories of all the staff.

" See all these reviews: 12n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Showing 41-50 of 100
88%
100 reviews of Mountain Gorilla View by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
48
44
8
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Rwanda

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Rwanda.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Volcanoes National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Sabyinyo Silverback Lodge

Sabyinyo Silverback

In a fine location close to Volcanoes National Park, Sabyinyo Silverback Lodge is a very comfortable lodge with wonderful views.


95% (21 reviews)
Virunga Lodge

Virunga Lodge

Virunga Lodge is a consciously environmental lodge in a stunning location, about an hour's drive from Volcanoes National Park headquarters.


98% (13 reviews)
Gorilla's Nest

Gorillas Nest

Gorilla's Nest is a very high-end lodge in a great location near the Volcanoes National Park headquarters, from where all gorilla trips start.


73% (6 reviews)
Bisate Lodge

Bisate Lodge

The exclusive and luxurious Bisate Lodge, close to Volcanoes National Park, is one of the best places to stay in the area.


100% (4 reviews)
Bishop's House

Bishops House

In the town of Musanze, a half-hour drive from the Volcanoes National Park headquarters, Bishop's House is well placed for gorilla trekking.


No reviews yet
Kwitonda Lodge

Kwitonda Lodge

Close to the edge of Volcanoes National Park, the luxurious Kwitonda Lodge opened in 2019. Ask your Expert Africa specialist for the latest news.


No reviews yet
Five Volcanoes

Five Volcanoes

Five Volcanoes offers mid-range hotel accommodation around 15 minutes' drive from Volcanoes National Park headquarters.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa