This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr B from Hertfordshire

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

4

Countries visited

6

Lodges stayed in

28

Excursions taken

1

Eventful

Rwanda and 1 other country between 4 Oct 2017 and 16 Oct 2017

Trip rating: Good
"Our trip to Rwanda unexpectedly turned out to be rather dramatic following the first and only gorilla trek which left us total exhausted and me seeking medical help resulting in leaving the Volcanoes National Park earlier than planned and a 2 night stay at the King Faisal Hospital in Kigali following a diagnosis of pneumonia from which I'm still recovering and will probably do so for possibly another 2 weeks or more. We would not have got through this unfortunate episode without the help of our Primate Safaris driver/guide Sura who assisted in so many ways from paying a hospital bill with his own money to procuring cups of coffee from a cafeteria for me while I was in hospital. Well beyond what was expected for which we are truly grateful.

Having spoken with several people who were trekking it seems to us that better briefing beforehand is required. With trekking up to 3000 metres you have to be physically fit and acclimatised which were not although of course I did not know at the time I was suffering with pneumonia. Comment was made that it's always best to do one trek before committing to another. Appreciate that could be a problem as permits often should be booked in advance. It's not unusual for people to abandon the trek part way and in my case the guide did mention (at the end) there was a thought that I might need to be stretchered off the mountain. Among the people I spoke with was an American lady doctor who said she had to give up on her trek but then again she should not really have been on it as she's asthmatic but no one told her how difficult it might be. Nurses at the hospital in Kigali said they often had patient referrals from the gorilla treks as many underestimate the difficult terrain involved.

It would seem there is a perception among a lot of people that seeing the gorillas in the wild is a trip for everyone. Don't believe it is and can be a lottery. At least we have experienced a meeting with gorillas but at some cost and now plenty of paperwork associated with the insurance claim for reimbursement of hospital fees and the non-refundable trek permit. Would advise would be visitors to seriously think about the risks involved."

Feedback response

We greatly appreciate this constructive feedback from one of our regular Africa travellers.

This idea of going on one trek before committing to the next is very interesting; we’d be delighted for any traveller to pay locally for their second trek. (We get no commission on treks, and sell them at cost to our travellers.) However, travellers would have to take the risk that the next day’s gorilla-trekking would be full. This would probably not be an issue during the quieter periods, but in peak season may be inevitable.

The strenuousness of the treks and the need for travellers to acclimatise to the altitude comes across loud and clear from these comments also. Hence, we’re busy reviewing what we write about the treks on our website, on our quotations for trips, and in our pre-departure information – so we make sure that we’re as clear as we possibly can be about how strenuous some people do find these treks at altitude.

Arranged By Maruska Adye-Rowe


Ole-Sereni

Ole-Sereni

"Ole-Sereni review"

1 night Arrived 4 Oct 2017
"Only 1 night stopover on B&B basis so not much to write about.

Ok hotel convenient for the International Airport."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Hotel des Mille Collines

Hotel des Mille Collines

"Hotel des Mille Collines review"

1 night Arrived 5 Oct 2017
"2 nights at hotel - at the beginning and at end of stay in Rwanda.

1st night our room was at the back of the hotel (seems all odd numbered rooms face the same view) and was subject to noise at about 04.30 which, on commenting later to our guide, reckons was due to activity associated with a shopping mall which had recently been built. Best to avoid odd numbered rooms if possible!

Our guide had mentioned this to hotel management and he said they would ensure we were in a front facing (even numbered) room when we next stayed. In fact they put us in a mini suite which was a pleasant surprise and just a shame we could not take full advantage."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Mountain Gorilla View Lodge

Mountain Gorilla View Lodge

"Mountain Gorilla View Lodge review"

4 nights Arrived 6 Oct 2017
"This lodge is situated within a reasonable distance (by vehicle) to the trekking centre. It's difficult to decide whether the somewhat old fashioned interior design is part if it's rustic charm or whether it's just well past its sell by date and in need of upgrading - probably the latter.

Large bed/lounge area with open fire which was lit for us by one of the staff. There was an electric kettle of sorts; not a type seen before - a small jug which only just warmed the water. The shower/wash room, which was huge, left quite a lot to be desired; the shower head was mounted close to the corner of two walls and as a result you could not adequately cover yourself with water. The shower area floor should have anti-slip paint applied or mats to prevent possibly slipping. The wash basin had no plug.

The choice and quality of the food was just about average. Have not previously had the pleasure of eating cold toast - not to be recommended."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Gorilla Trekking Safari

Gorilla Trekking Safari

"Think very carefully about this activity"

7 Oct 2017 • Morning excursion

New experience for us. We were scheduled to have 2 treks with a day's rest between. Given our age we had requested to be included with a group which was likely to have a short walk/trek to view the gorillas and based on where this particular gorilla family were located the day before (only 30 minutes walk from the starting point) we were allocated to such a group.

Unfortunately this proved not to be the case and it took a gruelling 4 hours of walking through mainly a narrow pathway which the guide had machete their way through the mix of bamboo and vines. Spent 1 hour with the family before we had to descend. The exit was as painful as the climb and again it meant cutting a pathway through and while so doing there was a thunder storm with torrential rain which made the ground very slippery. It took 1 1/12 hours to reach the edge of the jungle and a further 15 minutes to reach the waiting transport back to the lodge.

The reason given for the longer than anticipated trek was the gorillas had moved much deeper than expected. It took and age for the trackers to find them but meanwhile it seemed to us we had been constantly moving often in the wrong direction ie. 4 hours up and 1 1/2 coming down. We were exhausted but fortunately we both had opted for the assistance of a porter (20 $ per person) who will carry your backpack, hold your hand to help you up the climb, assist when there's a steep slope to be navigated and without them we would not have made it.
Poor
Hotel des Mille Collines

Hotel des Mille Collines

"Hotel des Mille Collines review"

1 night Arrived 10 Oct 2017
"Please see previous comments for this hotel

[Ed: See below]"
Excellent
Kicheche Valley

Kicheche Valley

"Wonderful place"

5 nights Arrived 11 Oct 2017
"This camp is set on the side of a valley with wonderful far reaching views and great sunsets. The individual tents are well apportioned and comfortable with electricity available 24 hours. The only minor criticism is the hot water to the shower often takes a long time (up to 5 minutes) to reach temperature and then difficult to balance and lighting over the twin wash basins is poor.

The food is very good with overly (for some) generous portions, so much so we asked the chef to reduce ours which he did. All the staff ensured that you should enjoy the experience and want for nothing. Hot water bottles in the bed in the evening and provided on morning game drives were a nice touch. There is a variety of landscape and terrain within the conservancy which offers a wide range of game and bird species. The guides are a mine of information and very enthusiastic.

It's a camp we would willingly return to and probably will."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Excellent support

Kenya and 2 other countries between 11 Dec 2016 and 28 Dec 2016

Trip rating: Excellent
"Very well constructed itinerary which for most part ran smoothly.

We were disappointed with Malawi for the reasons mentioned and also for the costs associated with Lilongwe airport. The actual internal flight departure tax is $7 per person and the external departure tax is $35 per person. Visa charge is $75 per person.

Considering the country is regarded as 'poor' and want to encourage tourism the Tourism Board should consider requesting the Government to reduce the fees involved. Suppose the UK equivalent is Air Passenger Duty (APD) which is £13 per person for flights of less than 2000 miles."

Arranged By Maruska Adye-Rowe


Ole-Sereni

Ole-Sereni

"Good hotel for short stay"

1 night Arrived 11 Dec 2016
"Stayed for 2 nights, prior to and following our trip to Maasai Mara.

Good location for easy road access to the International and Wilson airports. Comfortable room, wide choice of food in the restaurant or served on the terraced area which overlooks the Nairobi National Park. Helpful staff. Breakfast officially starts at 6am but we found they were ready by 05.45 which helps those with an early start.

Only downside compared with our previous visit some years ago is the construction of a new major road which runs close to the hotel so rooms at the front are subject to traffic some noise."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Kicheche Bush Camp

Kicheche Bush Camp

"A totally different experience"

5 nights Arrived 12 Dec 2016
"This was our first visit to a 'bush' camp and we were aware from the information received it would be different to what we have previously been used to at safari camps/lodges. The tented accommodation is adequate, each positioned well apart from the next so there is no disturbance from the neighbours and just a short walk to the camp lounge/mess area. It's an unfenced camp so there are animals which do wander through, mostly at night, but we did not encounter any.

For us it was an interesting experience but we did miss the usual home comfort facilities ie. hot water and a decent shower. Bucket showers can be arranged at a time to suit the guests but it's a rather crude arrangement and most of the water from our shower head leaked from one side. We also found the lighting to be too subdued especially in the bathroom area; I had to hold a torch so my wife could put in her contact lenses. There is no mains power and lighting is available for certain periods. Guests are woken each morning with tea delivered to you your tent plus a jug of hot water for a minimal wash.

That aside, the food (no bush food served which we appreciated), hospitality, and game viewing was some of the best ever experienced. This camp is situated in a conservancy which has advantages; unlike the Maasai triangle there is relatively fewer people and therefore a lot less vehicles so game viewing is a far better experience. On one game drive we saw, including a group of 3 mothers with their 8 cubs, a total of 25 lions. On another, 5 male leopards in one group - which was most unusual. On another drive, our first kill - a female cheetah bringing down a gazelle. Just so much game!

Much to our surprise the camp has just introduced satellite Wi-Fi so phone and computer facilities available.

All the staff are to be congratulated on their endeavours to ensure guests are so well looked after in every detail."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Ole-Sereni

Ole-Sereni

"Ole-Sereni review"

1 night Arrived 17 Dec 2016
"Please see previous comments, nothing further to add. [Ed: See below]"
Excellent
Latitude 13

Latitude 13

"Disappointing"

1 night Arrived 18 Dec 2016
"You will be aware we have experienced problems with this hotel regarding a refund on the original booking made and the price we had to pay for our 1 night stay.

This hotel claims the rooms are 'boutique' style but in reality the room (Garden suite 3) is a poor example of how not to equip a concrete box; very subdued lighting (one ceiling light was not working which did not assist) very dark décor, no shelves by the large sink so no where but the floor to place our 'wet packs', and an unguarded drop from the main area to the floor below.

Although the restaurant staff were helpful and the food reasonable (our bill including drinks was £61) the receptionist was less so and although I requested the bill to be converted to $ so I could at least get some idea of the room cost she was not able to do this in the short time we had before being collected to go to the airport. Consequently I find from my credit card statement the room charge was £220.60 which is far more than originally quoted and indeed shown on their website which I checked before arriving.

Would not stay here again."
Poor
Location
Good
Service
Poor
Rooms
Poor
Food
Average
Mkulumadzi Lodge

Mkulumadzi Lodge

"Good but no game!"

4 nights Arrived 19 Dec 2016
"We were aware this lodge was accessed via a rope/steel footbridge over the river. What we did not realise that this was to be used daily every time we went on a game drive. It's a tad unnerving and not, in my opinion, suitable for young children or the elderly who might be infirmed as it does tend to swing sideways when several people are crossing.

The stone built chalets with thatched roof are well appointed, spacious and comfortable with hot water available at all times but you might have to wait some 10 minutes or more for the shower to run from cold to hot. There is a mini fridge stocked with beers and soft drinks but no tea making facilities (ie. no kettle) but the staff will bring a hot thermos to the door so you can make tea or coffee which are provided. Food was very good, no bush food served, and the 'full English' breakfast following the early morning game drive was most appreciated. The chalet viewing deck could do with some TLC - there were rusty nail and screw heads protruding through some fairly uneven boards which could easily rip your feet.

The downside was there was virtually no game to view. In the 4 days apart from plenty of antelope species and many birds we saw the back end of 4 Zebra and a glimpse of 5 elephants. Appreciate it may have been the rainy season but the area is very large and although there is supposed to be 500 elephants, 17 rhino, Leopard, and one lion pride (no cheetah or giraffe) the land is mostly dense thicket so the chances are actually seeing any game is fairly slim since they 'disappear' very quickly.

The staff were very attentive and welcoming and no effort spared to ensure our stay was enjoyable and despite the lack of game the guides were very enthusiastic."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Nkwali

Nkwali

"Excellent is an under statement!"

5 nights Arrived 23 Dec 2016
"Our second visit to this wonderful place.

The chalets, solid walls with thatched roof, are spacious and well appointed with 'his and hers sinks and showers' and views overlooking the Luangwa river. Hot water available at all times and mains electrics. The staff ensure you will have an enjoyable time, good hospitality and a wide choice of food (no game served).

An open camp area so animals can roam freely and do so mainly at night with the occasional hippo wandering through and on one night, much to the night watchman's surprise and fright(!), 3 lions walked through.

Game drives mainly involve crossing the river in a 10 seated boat to reach the National Park area which contains a lot of game - even in the rainy season which produces some spectacular thunder storms as was the case on our visit. Nkwali has much to offer and we will be back again some day."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Excellent trip - all ran to plan

Botswana and 1 other country between 3 Dec 2015 and 23 Dec 2015

Trip rating: Excellent
"With the exception of ProFlight all ran to schedule. Ground handling good, no delays.

At Xakanaxa airstrip (which incidentally is a new runway positioned a little further from the camps than the 'old' strip) we were very pleasantly surprised to see Banda, our requested guide for Camp Xakanaxa where has been based since last January, albeit we were due at Camp Moremi first. Apparently in agreement with the D&DS marketing manager (regret don't know his name and was not aware he was the South African chap who wished us well as he leaving for the plane we arrived on) we were allocated Banda for the whole of our 5 night stay on an exclusive basis. This is an amazing example of D&DS customer service for which we are truly grateful. If you are aware of the chap's name please let me know and I will send a thank-you e-mail. Thanks should also be extended to all the D&DS staff including Setch and staff at Suvute and Albert (who was 'care-taking' between Moremi and Xakanaxa) and all the staff.

We will undoubtedly return to Nkwali, Savute and delta camps again - don't know when. However in future we will try to avoid Jo'burg airport if only due to the totally inefficient and unfriendly staff at passport control. It takes ages to be processed. Never enough staff on duty. As you maybe aware, there are 2 sections, one deals with SA residents, the other all non-SA passengers.

There are some 25 (maybe more) passport control booths on the non-SA section. Less than half were being manned on our first arrival and only 7 when we arrived form Maun. Coupled with the delays occurring to some families, presumably associated with the recently introduced regulations and paperwork required for people travelling with children, the delays are totally unacceptable. We were directed to stand in a queue behind a family which we were already aware had processing problems and had to wait 20 minutes while they continued to try and resolve without any apparent success so we asked to move and were eventually directed to stand in another queue. There is no efficient management system in place, it's a shambles.

It is not surprising that Lusaka airport is building a new terminal (by the Chinese!) and Maun wants to expand so that passengers can fly direct rather than via Jo'burg which attracts so much criticism. BA used to fly direct to Lusaka but apparently no more. We met people who flew with Emirates via Dubai so for the future it's worth considering another carrier. There may be others."

Arranged By Megan Green


Pioneer Camp

Pioneer Camp

"Unfortunate timing"

1 night Arrived 4 Dec 2015
"The camp itself is laid out as a typical safari location which it is not. Although the chalet was adequate it was unfortunate we arrived, some 35 minutes from Lusaka airport, during a power outage which, apart from only 30 minutes it came back on during our overnight stay, continued. With no mains electricity there was a very limited dinner menu; basically steak only.

Battery lights (very limited illumination) were provided in our room which were not fully charged so we had to ask for replacements. Added to all this we discovered in the morning there was no hot water available to our chalet. After an early breakfast we departed for the airport. Due to low levels of water in the dams there are, or were, daily outages which were only supposed too be for no more than, I believe, 4 hours which affects the whole of the area including the city of Lusaka.

In future we would opt to stay at a hotel in Lusaka which would have adequate power back-up and probably be closer to the airport."
Terrible
Location
Average
Service
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Poor
Nkwali

Nkwali

"What a retreat!"

6 nights Arrived 5 Dec 2015
"First visit but we will return!

Situated next to the river, albeit it was running at its lowest level, this is an excellent location with wild life, mostly elephant, baboon and monkey, wondering through the camp at close range. The accommodation was very good, we were in chalet 6 which, I believe, is the largest. Not a peak time to visit, there was only one other couple who were there 3 nights of our 6 night stay. The staff; Kiki, Shannon, Thomas (our guide) and the rest of the team looked after us very well and provided some unexpected treats.

The variety of animal and bird life was better than expected the high light being the daily encounter with a pack of 21 wild dogs as they prepared to hunt/chase Impala. Also had the pleasure of two elephants close to our room which chose to have a standing sleep for a couple of hours resting their trunks on a tree branch. A truly wonderful place."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Stanley Safari Lodge

Stanley Safari Lodge

"Stanley Safari Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 11 Dec 2015
"During our 1 night stay there was only 1 other couple there. We were 'treated' to a family room which was huge, probably the lodge's largest which also included a plunge pool, great for cooling off! The accommodation was very good, just a shame were not staying longer to take advantage.

The only downside for us was the lighting which was poorly positioned eg. not close to or over bathroom mirrors, and really dimmed so it was nigh on impossible without the aid of a torch to insert/replace contact lens! This is a common problem we find in many African lodges, lighting is placed for ambience rather than practical reasons.

The chap who met us at Livingstone airport was not very helpful. He was there waiting for us but instead of being directly on hand to assist with our luggage was talking to someone at the end of the arrivals hall and did not come to greet us; we had to go and meet him rather than he meeting us. Fortunately a fellow passenger assisted with our luggage retrieval which is not that easy as the area where the luggage is delivered is very small and the exit door has a metal threshold over which it's very difficult, if nigh on impossible, to push a laden trolley. However this presumably will not be a future problem when the new terminal is opened - due anytime now."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Muchenje Safari Lodge

Muchenje Safari Lodge

"Good but hard going!"

3 nights Arrived 12 Dec 2015
"Lodge was fine, good air conditioned chalet, comfortable, and the food up to expectations.

The area was dry and the tracks for most part very hard and bumpy which does not make for very comfortable safari drives; in fact at times not a pleasant experience.

This is probably just due to the time of year and unfortunate timing on our part"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Savute Safari Lodge

Savute Safari Lodge

"D&DS never fail to impress"

2 nights Arrived 15 Dec 2015
"As we have come to expect from D&DS their service is excellent, really friendly and welcoming team and nothing is too much trouble when it comes to looking after guests.

Excellent location, well laid out, frontline room, good size, well appointed, overlooking the waterhole where elephants and other wild life, gather throughout the day and night.

Plenty of game including the well documented (BBC + others) Savute Marsh lion pride which has developed hunting skills to bring down elephant."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Camp Moremi

Camp Moremi

"As good as ever!"

2 nights Arrived 17 Dec 2015
"Our 3rd visit and as good as ever. As with other D&DS camps the staff are keen to ensure you are well looked after.

Excellent location for both land and water (Okavango Delta) safari. Plenty of game and birds viewed. Very popular camp with many international guests.

Buffalo (the 'local' boys club of 5 to 7 bachelors) were unwelcome visitors at night but presented no danger to guests."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Xakanaxa

Xakanaxa

"Xakanaxa review"

3 nights Arrived 19 Dec 2015
"Sister camp to Moremi - 10 minutes drive. Situated on the banks of the lagoon with far reaching views of the savannah. Comfortable lodge. Same area used as Moremi for game drives and water trip. As with all D&DS camps, same friendly and welcoming attitude of staff. While there it was Mary's Birthday which I had previously mentioned to our guide and so at dinner a huge cake was presented with all the staff singing Happy Birthday - a real treat - much appreciated!

D&DS will be refurbishing some of the chalets and have mentioned 3 items for consideration -
1) the space between the chalets is on the small side and there are existing tall wooden side screens but they don' extend far enough; from your own veranda you can see the decks of your neighbours which is not the case of other camps so the screening needs to be extended.
2) The shower/washing/toilet area has very poor lighting (a small bank of LED's) which is badly positioned (above the entrance door) and totally obscured when the door is closed!
3) Also unlike other camps there is no tea making facility."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Great time

Namibia and 1 other country between 6 Dec 2014 and 26 Dec 2014

Trip rating: Excellent
"Trip was very good - near enough all went to plan. Roads(!) in Namibia often meant time taken to reach destinations was longer then expected. Apart from the issue with Budget car hire we also had an issue with the Wilderness transfer from Galton House to Windhoek airport. They were supposed to let us know (or if we had not arrived when they called then inform Galton House staff) the pick-up time for our Monday morning transfer. By early evening here had been no call I decide to call them - as it was Sunday there was only an answerphone message and out of hours number - which I rang and the chap apologised for not letting us know but confirmed pick-up time. Just a lapse but would have expected them to have called or how else would we have known?

Overall thought the choice and quality of food was disappointing - in some cases it may have been the lack of guests which prevented a buffet style choice but was often on offer was often restricted and poor quality - naturally game was included on most menus and the only alternative was 'vegetarian' which was mainly the same vegetables which were being used for the main course. Rice seemed to be the main starch available. There was also a lack of detailed information given on how the food was presented eg. broccoli was a main veg but it often came with a blue cheese on it and meat often had a sauce poured on it. Fortunately we made up for this with some excellent meals in Cape Town and the High Tea at the Cape Grace Hotel is highly recommended!

This was our first trip to Namibia which has some spectacular scenery and good game viewing but don't think we will be keen to return except perhaps to Etosha. We like to regard ourselves as fairly seasoned travellers but perhaps our expectations were too high - accommodation was generally good but food disappointing."

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


Canyon Lodge

Canyon Lodge

"OK but not great"

2 nights Arrived 6 Dec 2014
"This lodge is well placed for visit to the canyon, which is awesome, but there's little else to see or do.

Food average - choice of 2 starters, 2 mains and 1 desert - quantity seems to be more important than quality. Lodge comfortable but little shade on veranda and in fact very little shade available at main building (bar/reception/restaurant) unless you want to sit inside. Swimming pool some 6 minutes walk from our lodge (no. 4) which was also not one of the closest to the bar/restaurant which was surprising considering that on the first night there were only 6 people and 7 on second.

Wi-Fi only available in reception area. It seems most of the lodges, their position/orientation to the sun could have been thought out better, have very small verandas to shield from the sun so there's not much opportunity to sit outside. Horse riding would seem to be no longer available. Anecdotal evidence seems to suggest this was discontinued some time ago following a riding accident involving a small child. The horses are still there but no one suggested riding."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Facilities
Average
Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

"Excellent lodge"

2 nights Arrived 8 Dec 2014
"This is a well located lodge with friendly/helpful staff and very good guides. Excellent accommodation but insufficient veranda shade on individual lodges which restricted the ability to sit on deck after 3pm.

Was very hot - highest temp of the 2 days was 40.2 degrees. On first night only 2 other guests (one of whom worked for Wilderness and was with her sister) 2nd night - same 2 girls plus one other couple and a girl from Namibia Treks and Trails plus a Wilderness pilot. F

ood was disappointing - meat was tough (management informed and apologetic) fruit salad consisted of c. 90% apple, fresh fruit was unripe. No advice given by staff regarding food preparation eg. loin of lamb (more like very old lamb/sheep!) came with mustard sauce poured over the meat - no option advised. Little food choice - may be associated with so few guests.

No Wi-Fi but guests can use main lodge computer - good connection. Lots of activities including quad biking - a first for us - which was a fantastic experience."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse

"A Gem!"

2 nights Arrived 10 Dec 2014
"This is real gem of a guest house - good location, generous sized rooms with small private veranda, very helpful staff, good breakfast choice, neat small garden, good security, and free Wi-fi.

Interestingly, later on our trip we met two other parties who had also stayed at Cornerstone (and highly rated it) and another couple who were booked-in. Very popular - best to book well in advance."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"Great setting"

2 nights Arrived 12 Dec 2014
"Excellent location/setting. Comfortable rooms - very spacious with large bathroom/shower area. Can slide back the folding doors and move bed to large veranda to sleep under the stars if one chooses. First night - we had dinner on the building roof by candlelight and kerosene lamps. Beautiful but a tad chilly - blankets were provided. BBQ - choice of fish/beef steak/sausage accompanied by polenta porridge (?) or rice - fairly unappetising. 1 desert.

Went elephant trekking (07.30 to 12.30) - some very rough tracks. Also living museum but too hot to continue to rock engravings.

2nd hottest place we stayed - temp c. 33 -35 degrees - just too hot to bear in mid-afternoon."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Grootberg Lodge

Grootberg Lodge

"Great spot"

2 nights Arrived 14 Dec 2014
"Excellent location on top of plateau with magnificent views of the valley below which extends for several miles. However can be very windy.

Unfortunately the chalets are very small with virtually no veranda and almost sheer drop from chalet entrance. No where to hang/place clothing, no room in shower/basin area (very cramped space) to place toiletries except on floor. Light but no power available. Laundry bag but no price list. Not a wide range of food available - below average quality. Horse riding not mentioned as being available. Good Wi-Fi in main lodge.

Would not return."
Average
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Average
Rooms
Poor
Food
Poor
Facilities
Average
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Better than expected"

2 nights Arrived 16 Dec 2014
"Although this is a Government run camp the rooms, service, food and facilities were better than expected. Our bush chalet (stone built) was spacious, comfortable with it's own shaded veranda and BBQ area. Cars can be parked immediately outside room which is a benefit.

Restaurant food choice (buffet style) was better than average and separate bar area adequate. Game viewing at the large waterhole can prove interesting particularly in the evening - 3 rhino visited while we were there. Check-in and out was fairly quick but you do have to be in the correct queue which is not always evident - waited several minutes to check out only to be told I needed to speak with another person. Payment by CC was swift - good connection.

Ideal location for self drive in Etosha park but 4 wheel drive vehicle is recommended (we had non 4 wheel drive and found ourselves facing deep water filled ruts which we could not pass so had to return via the same route which can be a 20km drive). Recommend the guided night drive.

Excellent game viewing in Etosha and would return to this camp."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp

"Great spot but not much to do!"

2 nights Arrived 18 Dec 2014
"This camp is just outside Lidequist Gate entrance to Etosha. Beautiful spot with own waterhole which attracts different antelope species and birds. Very comfortable lodges.

Food above average but limited choice. We had opted to go on rhino expedition in the afternoon at 4.00 but were kept waiting with little information why the driver had not arrived. Then informed he would be another 20 minutes. No show. Then informed another driver was on his way. No show. Then informed it was cancelled. Returned to our lodge. Some 15 minutes later (by now c5.15pm) a driver arrived and asked if we still wanted to go - we said no thanks. No apology offered by staff."
Average
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Poor
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

"Interesting place"

1 night Arrived 20 Dec 2014
"This reserve is situated 23kms off the B1 - not 10kms as stated in some literature - but the track is quite firm (sand based) and an easy drive.

The Plains Camp (standard room) chalet was very spacious including 2 double beds, large shower/ washing area, plenty of clothes storage, large viewing window (overlooking the plain) and own veranda. Own private parking just outside. Telephone to reception (not working - reported to management but not rectified during our 1 night stay).

Seemed to spend an inordinate amount of time trying to track the radio collared cats but were eventually rewarded with excellent views of leopard and cheetah - 3 resting after a kill.

Good eating/lounge area - food above average."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Galton House

Galton House

"Excellent choice"

1 night Arrived 21 Dec 2014
"This is a very well managed guest house which is obviously very popular with visitors. Situated in a residential area with private (gated) parking. Pool area.

Staff very helpful with restaurant suggestions and taxi service. We needed an early breakfast which they provided outside of their usual time. Free Wi-fi. Close to supermarket and petrol station. Highly recommended."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Camp Moremi

Camp Moremi

"Best of all!"

4 nights Arrived 22 Dec 2014
"Desert & Delta safari camp. Second visit in 2 years. Management (Juan and Priscilla) recently moved here from Savuti (who we recognised from their previous camp)

We spent 4 days here (in lodge 12 which is very spacious and has it's own viewing deck over the lagoon) and it's probably still the best place we have stayed at on our many trips to Africa. All the staff are very helpful and efficient and you are treated like family here. Food is very good - all the usual variations including turkey/gammon/ Christmas pudding for Christmas Day dinner with crackers! There's no better place to be in the evening than sitting around the open fire under the stars sipping your ice chilled Amarula!

All the guides/trackers are excellent - nothing is too much effort for these guys.

No Wi-Fi but guests can use the lodge computer.

We will return."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team