This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Mountain Gorilla View Lodge
Mountain Gorilla View Lodge
Mountain Gorilla View Lodge
Mountain Gorilla View Lodge
Mountain Gorilla View Lodge

Mountain Gorilla View Lodge


1°25’42.7"S 29°33’18.5"E

Reviews of Mountain Gorilla View

Wildlife sightings and reviews

100 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Mountain Gorilla View and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 12 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Mountain Gorilla View.
Mountain Gorilla

92% success

Buffalo

13% success

Elephant

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 51-60 of 100
Duration
Arrival date
The Denan Group
USA

"Perfect!"

4 nights Arrived 16 Feb 2016
"The Lodge worked perfectly for what we were looking for. Greeting by Ann at the entrance was very nice. Our rooms were spacious with very large bathrooms. They would come in around 7:30 pm and build a fire for us. When we'd get back from dinner there was a hot water bottle already warming up our beds. A treat for sure!!

Food was delicious. All different types of foods available. Lots of fresh vegetables and delicious fresh fruit. We liked the idea of a buffet as it moved us through quickly. There was always plenty of staff in the dining room to accommodate us. Upon arrival from trekking they would take our shoes and have them cleaned by early evening. When one of our group requested they be returned earlier, he was accommodated.

I would highly recommend this lodge." See all these reviews: 5n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
M & L
Vancouver, BC

"Great location for gorilla trekking"

4 nights Arrived 3 Feb 2016
"Good location quite close to Park headquarters, important for the early morning gorilla trekking. Cabins very spacious and comfortable. A fire was lit each night and hot water bottles placed in the bed - a nice touch. Buffet meals were good - with cooked-to-order options at breakfast & dinner.

Cabins 1-4 seem to have the best views. Friendly staff. Very honest - my husband dropped his wallet on the way back to our cabin. The staff member who found it didn't speak English so he brought another person with him to explain how he found it.

We especially liked having our boots cleaned after each trek!

If you have room in your luggage, please bring things for the local schools. We supported the pre-school at the Faith Foundation and also the School for Deaf Children. Both provide good care for disadvantaged children." See all these reviews: 15n in Rwanda; 9n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mrs & Mr D
Sydney

"Gorilla Mountain View Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 25 Jan 2016
"It is well located and that is it. Rooms were enormous, unnecessarily and freezing.

Food was strange and not really a large range." See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania; 6n in Zambia; 5n in Botswana; 3n in Rwanda; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Poor
Mr & Mrs F
Ealing

"Excellent base for visiting the gorillas"

4 nights Arrived 11 Jan 2016
"Trekking to see the mountain gorillas is what every visitor to Rwanda wants to do and as the name suggests this is an ideal base for doing this from.

Individual thatched houses set in attractive gardens with the Virunga volcanoes visible in the background. This is a very well staffed hotel - we had a wood fire lit for us in the fireplace of our room every evening (it is quite high altitude so cool in the evening). On returning from our trek it was "compulsory" to hand over our muddy walking boots on arrival at the hotel and use the slippers they lent us to get back to our room, and we had our boots returned next morning polished like new.

A local group of dancers performed for the guests on the lawn every evening.

The restaurant was a buffet and the food therefore rated good rather than excellent - but definitely good!" See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia; 10n in Rwanda; 1n in Kenya; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
B & F
Hexham

"Good lodge, convenient for the park."

4 nights Arrived 5 Jan 2016
"The staff were all vey friendly and tried very hard - there were occasionally "lapses" but we felt that was more as a result of inexperience than carelessness.

Our only 2 criticisms were the poor lighting in the room and also the lack of safe - having to leave electronic gear in envelopes at the office was a bit of a pain! The boot cleaning service was absolutely amazing (still don't know how they could do such a good job in such a short space of time).

It's position only 15 minutes from the park HQ was great." See all these reviews: 6n in Tanzania; 4n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mrs J
Middlesbrough

"Unbelievably good!"

4 nights Arrived 31 Dec 2015
"The lodges were very comfortable. Clean and well equipped for their purpose. We particularly enjoyed the log fires and even the provision of a hot water bottle (which was standard for everyone). The bathroom was a little more rustic but was clean and did the job. The views from our lodge were stunning and we were entertained each night by local dancers and drummers.

The main building had good facilities for eating, drinking and relaxation and considering where we were, even had wifi access. The standard of food was very good and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful.

Unfortunately, they were unable to convert 20 dollar bills down to lower value ones for tipping." See all these reviews: 5n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Thor & Deb
Vancouver

"Did what it was supposed to do."

3 nights Arrived 8 Sep 2015
"Very pleasant and comfortable--though the rooms have the goofiest shower stalls you will ever see (but they work). Water pressure, wi-fi, and those mod-cons can be a bit dodgy, but the staff does its best and you are in the heart of Africa. Get over it!

The food was excellent and huge variety. Staff was unfailingly friendly and helpful.

Fun to talk to fellow gorilla trekkers and to compare notes in the lounge." See all these reviews: 25n in Tanzania; 3n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Mrs & Mr K
Geneva

"A good home base for the Gorilla trekking"

2 nights Arrived 6 Sep 2015
"Nice caring service. We were late due to the gorilla trekking on the first day and missed lunch time. The hotel kept the buffet lunch for us. For the second day when we only returned after 4pm, the hotel managed to prepare a quick meal before we drove back to Kigali. Besides, their shoes cleaning service is really nice after a muddy day in the field.

However, I must say the communication could be improved. There is a daily dance show but we were not informed of the timing. The shoe cleaning service is definately a plus but we were only aware of it when our guide told us." See all these reviews: 5n in Tanzania; 4n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
HPB
San Francisco

"Cool, rustic lodge in a great setting."

2 nights Arrived 14 Jul 2015
"We enjoyed our stay at the Gorilla Mountain View Lodge. It is a somewhat rustic lodge with a main lodge for hanging out and dining and private cabins spread out across the property. We particularly enjoyed the afternoon entertainment when young local people did a lively, spirited dance performance: http://www.luumi.us/Public/Rwanda/i-xrGBrRL/A

The visit to the Volcanos National Park to see the mountain gorillas was naturally the highlight and an amazing experience. We made two trips over two days. The first was a 2hr at times strenuous hike up the side of the mountain. When we came to the gorillas they were "lounging" right by the trail. We spent an unbelievable hour observing them from up close. The second day was if possible even more amazing. Just a short 45 minute hike this time through the bamboo forrest and there they were. Here are a few pictures that give a bit of a sense of the experience: http://www.luumi.us/Public/Mountain-Gorillas

The knowledge and care of the guides and rangers was as encouraging as it was impressive. How well everything was organized made it very worth the relatively high price of admissions.

This article written by a New York Times reporter only two months after our visit captures the experience well, with one notable exception: the reason that some of the trackers carry weapons is not to protect humans from the gorillas - there is no danger. It is to protect the gorillas from the occasional poacher who may come over from the Republic of Congo.
http://www.nytimes.com/2015/10/25/travel/safari-gorillas-rwanda.html?_r=0

A visit to the local, traditional village where we were given a small peek into what traditional life only a few decades ago was like was a fun and educational experience as well." See all these reviews: 5n in Rwanda; 4n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs M
Ascot

"goood for gorillas"

6 nights Arrived 16 Jan 2015
"good service and very helpful/friendly staff,close to the parks board HQ,lots of space around hotel and the rooms are very big if a bit basic but stilll very functional." See all these reviews: 6n in Rwanda; 1n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Showing 51-60 of 100
88%
100 reviews of Mountain Gorilla View by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
48
44
8
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Rwanda

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Rwanda.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Volcanoes National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Sabyinyo Silverback Lodge

Sabyinyo Silverback

In a fine location close to Volcanoes National Park, Sabyinyo Silverback Lodge is a very comfortable lodge with wonderful views.


95% (21 reviews)
Virunga Lodge

Virunga Lodge

Virunga Lodge is a consciously environmental lodge in a stunning location, about an hour's drive from Volcanoes National Park headquarters.


98% (13 reviews)
Gorilla's Nest

Gorillas Nest

Gorilla's Nest is a very high-end lodge in a great location near the Volcanoes National Park headquarters, from where all gorilla trips start.


73% (6 reviews)
Bisate Lodge

Bisate Lodge

The exclusive and luxurious Bisate Lodge, close to Volcanoes National Park, is one of the best places to stay in the area.


100% (4 reviews)
Bishop's House

Bishops House

In the town of Musanze, a half-hour drive from the Volcanoes National Park headquarters, Bishop's House is well placed for gorilla trekking.


No reviews yet
Kwitonda Lodge

Kwitonda Lodge

Close to the edge of Volcanoes National Park, the luxurious Kwitonda Lodge opened in 2019. Ask your Expert Africa specialist for the latest news.


No reviews yet
Five Volcanoes

Five Volcanoes

Five Volcanoes offers mid-range hotel accommodation around 15 minutes' drive from Volcanoes National Park headquarters.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa