This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Mountain Gorilla View Lodge
Mountain Gorilla View Lodge
Mountain Gorilla View Lodge
Mountain Gorilla View Lodge
Mountain Gorilla View Lodge

Mountain Gorilla View Lodge


1°25’42.7"S 29°33’18.5"E

Reviews of Mountain Gorilla View

Wildlife sightings and reviews

100 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Mountain Gorilla View and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 12 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Mountain Gorilla View.
Mountain Gorilla

92% success

Buffalo

13% success

Elephant

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 61-70 of 100
Duration
Arrival date
Ms J
Dublin

"Gorilla Mountain View Lodge review"

4 nights Arrived 28 Dec 2014
"Friendly and comfortable.
the fire was lit in our room on the first night and the last night only. it was lovely. It was cold the other two nights. Fortunately we had brought hot water bottles with us.

Variety of food from the buffet was good. The meat was usually very tough even when casseroled.
The staff New Year celebrations were great" See all these reviews: 8n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mrs & Mr H
Canada

"Gorilla Mountain View Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 25 Sep 2014
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs H
Oxon

"Gorilla Mountain View Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 10 Sep 2014
"Very pleased that we had booked 2 trips to the gorillas as the first day, having ascended the mountain, we discovered that the group we were tracking had taken off at speed to the DRC! We then had to descend and go to another group, which, by the time we reached them (around 12 noon) were having their siesta!

The second day we visited the Hirwa group, which was the most amazing experience with all ages of gorillas including a 6 week old baby. What a wonderful treat!" See all these reviews: 11n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr S.
Clontarf

"Very good base for gorilla trekking"

2 nights Arrived 6 Sep 2014
"Was uncertain about the lodge having read reviews but shouldn't have been. Very good stay.

Room was comfortable and clean, staff were very friendly and helpful. Our boots were cleaned very well especially on the second day when we only had 30 minutes before we left. Meals are average but OK. Contrary to other reports there is 24 hour electricity.

So a good base without spending the very high prices at other lodges." See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia; 3n in Rwanda; 2n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Mr J & Mrs C
Streatha

"Gorilla Mountain View Lodge review"

4 nights Arrived 24 Aug 2014
"Staff were incredibly friendly, particularly in the restaurant where Gilbert was outstanding. Nice rooms with fires. Welcomed the excellent boot cleaning service" See all these reviews: 8n in Zambia; 4n in Rwanda; 2n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Ms AW
SW London

"Gorilla Mountain View Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 28 Jun 2014
"The hotel is comfortable and relaxed. The grounds are lovely and the main building or hub has a rustic lodge feel about it!

Food was good; offering a wide variety of courses." See all these reviews: 5n in Tanzania; 5n in Rwanda; 1n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr C & Ms Y
Edinburgh

"Smoking volcanoes"

4 nights Arrived 23 Jun 2014
"Gorilla Mountain View Lodge has a memorable location, with views towards misty volcanoes in all directions: we spent the afternoons after gorilla tracking simply enjoying the view!

The rooms, which are self-contained cottages, were extremely generous and very well appointed. Three things were a little disappointing, however: the interior lighting was poor, which meant it was difficult to do anything in the evening (the sun sets at 6:30 PM) - a little extra lighting would improve the room ambience immeasurably. The rooms were also a bit cold. The lodge supplies a small fan heater and there is a fireplace but these are not sufficient to keep the place warm. The bathroom, in particular, felt glacial at night and in the morning. Lastly, there is no TV anywhere in the lodge. This is not really a big issue, except that it was the World Cup and there was nowhere to watch a match within 45 minutes drive!

On the plus side, the staff in the hotel were uniformly friendly and attentive, and the buffet meals were convenient and delicious. The shoe-cleaning service is a huge plus as well: the joy of clean shoes is second only to the joy of seeing gorillas..." See all these reviews: 8n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Ms C
Mississippi

"Gorilla Mountain View Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 22 Jun 2014
"The accomodations were attractive and clean. The service provided by all who worked there was very good. All were friendly and helpful.

The food was similar to that eaten in other African countries. As Americans. much was not to our taste, but we did not go hungry. Two of the best things was the fire built in our room each night and getting our boots cleaned after trekking up the mountain to see the gorillas - wow - what an incredible experience." See all these reviews: 3n in Tanzania; 3n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Ms C
Vista

"Wonderful Gorilla Mountain View Lodge!"

2 nights Arrived 14 Feb 2014
"Wonderful bungalows and fabulous grounds with the volcanoes as a backdrop. People were very friendly and welcoming. Enjoyed the enthusiastic local dance performance very much as well as the cultural village Iby'iwacu. The lodge is a fantastic place, highly recommend! Can't say enough good things about our stay here. We loved it and I want to go back!

Constructive criticism: It would be nice to give an advance warning to guests that every evening the power switches to a generator and there is a short, temporary black out. This way no one will be concerned that the power has been lost. Also, it would be better to do fresh coats of varnish on the bungalow bathroom floor when it has a couple of days to air out before the next guest arrives.The smell was a little overwhelming for a couple of days. Lastly, there is a morning rush for a quick breakfast before gorilla trekking and eggs seemed to be high in demand. But there was only 1 person at that grill and a very long line. Might consider a second pair of hands." See all these reviews: 5n in Tanzania; 4n in Rwanda; 2n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
John
Australia

"Gorilla Mountain View Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 11 Jan 2014
"The open fires are great. Worth tipping the firelighters for dry wood!" See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania; 4n in Rwanda; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Showing 61-70 of 100
88%
100 reviews of Mountain Gorilla View by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
48
44
8
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Rwanda

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Rwanda.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Volcanoes National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Sabyinyo Silverback Lodge

Sabyinyo Silverback

In a fine location close to Volcanoes National Park, Sabyinyo Silverback Lodge is a very comfortable lodge with wonderful views.


95% (21 reviews)
Virunga Lodge

Virunga Lodge

Virunga Lodge is a consciously environmental lodge in a stunning location, about an hour's drive from Volcanoes National Park headquarters.


98% (13 reviews)
Gorilla's Nest

Gorillas Nest

Gorilla's Nest is a very high-end lodge in a great location near the Volcanoes National Park headquarters, from where all gorilla trips start.


73% (6 reviews)
Bisate Lodge

Bisate Lodge

The exclusive and luxurious Bisate Lodge, close to Volcanoes National Park, is one of the best places to stay in the area.


100% (4 reviews)
Bishop's House

Bishops House

In the town of Musanze, a half-hour drive from the Volcanoes National Park headquarters, Bishop's House is well placed for gorilla trekking.


No reviews yet
Kwitonda Lodge

Kwitonda Lodge

Close to the edge of Volcanoes National Park, the luxurious Kwitonda Lodge opened in 2019. Ask your Expert Africa specialist for the latest news.


No reviews yet
Tiloreza Eco Lodge

Tiloreza Eco Lodge

Five Volcanoes offers mid-range hotel accommodation around 15 minutes' drive from Volcanoes National Park headquarters.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa