This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr C from Boston

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

6

Excursions taken

0

My Aug 2016 trip

Zambia and 1 other country between 2 Aug 2016 and 15 Aug 2016

Trip rating: Excellent
"Trip of a lifetime. Thank you Expert Afica for your support."

Radisson Blu Hotel

Radisson Blu Hotel

"Radisson Blu Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 3 Aug 2016
"I expected worse, but it was a decent sanctuary in Lusaka. Got the sense it was focused more on business, but the rooms were fine, and the food was quite good. The breakfast buffet in particular.

It's located on the airport side of Lusaka, so we never ventured into the city. Not sure we went to the right mall across the street. It was a little seedy. Pretty strong security presence at the hotel to keep people from entering the premises."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Mountain Gorilla View Lodge

Mountain Gorilla View Lodge

"Gorilla Mountain View Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 4 Aug 2016
"It was also better than I expected. Nothing fancy, but everything you need.

Common area was the only wifi service, and limited somewhat. But it was fun to congregate there, enjoy the fire, and enjoy the company of others. The rooms and open showers were kind of different, but fun.

Good buffet food, the lodge does a nice job. It's all about the gorillas!"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Facilities
Average
Radisson Blu Hotel

Radisson Blu Hotel

"Radisson Blu Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 7 Aug 2016
"The Radisson was better than I expected. Clean, seemingly well managed, and decent food.

Location is on the airport side of Lusaka, which was more convenient, but "the mall across the street" was pretty seedy though we had heard it was a good place to shop.

Pretty strong security presence at the entrances, got the sense that this is more of a business hotel. But we felt safe and the service was good."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Avani Victoria Falls

Avani Victoria Falls

"Avani Victoria Falls review"

2 nights Arrived 8 Aug 2016
"Very well located, the former Zambezi Sun is a good choice if you want to be right next to the Falls. A little touristy, and Disney like, with animals roaming the grounds and lots of family travelers.

The rooms are nothing special, but they're all you need, and are kind of fun the way they are decorated. Good food as well. But it's really about the location for this hotel."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Flatdogs Camp

Flatdogs Camp

"Flatdogs Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 10 Aug 2016
"We had heard that Flatdogs was located outside the park, and that is was a former backpackers hangout. Well...it's located just outside the park entrance (with many lodges located outside the park even farther away from the entrance), and the game viewing is simply terrific. It's right on the river, and the animals come right through camp.

The tents are very nice, and the Croc Nest competes with the finest safari tents in Africa. This is a luxury lodge, just not over the top, the way some safari lodges make it. Great vibe with roughly 40 at maximum capacity. Jess, Aidan, Jamie, Wendy, and Pablo do a great job managing the experience. It's top notch with top guides, and a great place to stay.

Puku was a terrific experience, but we would choose Flatdogs again in the future because it's so convenient, and there is a little more activity when not on safari. Food was terrific."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge

"Puku Ridge review"

2 nights Arrived 13 Aug 2016
"A little harder to get to, Puku is its own oasis in the middle of Luangwa. Absolutely stunning set up, beautiful tents, main lodge and decks overlooking the river plain. In our case, the plain was dry, but the watering hole out front keeps animals around. And they are definitely around.

For our honeymoon, we would choose Puku. Candlelight meals, impeccable food and service, but not much else to do with teenage boys. It was fun for two days, but longer would have been a challenge. Still, Levies and our guide, Alick, were top notch, and the game viewing was simply stunning."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Average
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team