This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Ms S from Hertfordshire

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

9

Excursions taken

0

My Jul 2016 trip

Rwanda and 1 other country between 17 Jul 2016 and 29 Jul 2016

Trip rating: Excellent
"My trip went smoothly and I had an amazing time. As always this was expertly organised by Ellie. All my safaris so far have been organised brilliantly by Expert Africa and I have had incredible experiences which is why I keep returning. Thanks very much.

One point to feedback is relating to my driver/guide in Rwanda. I was very disappointed with his lack of engagement and focus on his mobile phone and personal work in Kigali on my first day there. He was more of a driver than a guide and did not say much. It is particularly disappointing as this part of my trip was my bucket list trip and supposed to be special and I was very excited about it. I have provided detailed feedback to Ellie."

Feedback response

We are sorry to hear that the guide didn't live up to expectations on this occasion.

We spoke with our partners in Rwanda who tell me that Patrick was very sorry to learn of these issues. He has been at the company for seven years, and usually gets very good feedback so we hope that this is just a blip in his otherwise very good record. Being aware of how he was perceived on this occasion should hopefully ensure it does not happen again.


Kigali Serena Hotel

Kigali Serena Hotel

"Kigali Serena Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 18 Jul 2016
"Very good hotel to stop over on the way to volcanoes national park.

Very good service and facilities.

The rooms are also good and comfortable."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Mountain Gorilla View Lodge

Mountain Gorilla View Lodge

"Gorilla Mountain View Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 19 Jul 2016
"This location of this lodge is fantastic. The rooms are huge, very comfortable and have everything one would need. Love the fireplace and the warming fire and hot water bottle in the evening. Toiletries are provided in the bathroom. If you want anything, the staff are always willing to help if requested.
The surroundings are brilliant. You can hear wonderful sound of birds in the morning and evening. It is so peaceful.
The food is good and served as a buffet. The buffets have a huge variety so there is always something that you will like.
The warmth and hospitality of the staff is commendable. The staff will always go out of their way to help you and cater to your needs.
It is amazing how quickly your shoes are cleaned and returned to your room after the gorilla trek. They looked new! Just like when I bought them.
The traditional dancers in the evening are also brilliant! Loved them! I looked forward to their performance every evening. They make you so happy with their dancing and their big smiles!
Well done! Keep up the good work!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Kigali Serena Hotel

Kigali Serena Hotel

"Kigali Serena Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 22 Jul 2016
"Very good hotel to stay in Kigali.

Excellent service and facilities."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Kimondo Camp

Kimondo Camp

"Kimondo Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 23 Jul 2016
"I loved my stay at Kimondo. The game viewing was excellent.

Karim was a great guide. The warmth and hospitality of the staff is amazing and in particular the camp manager Richard. They went out of their way to look after me and I really appreciate this. The chef tried really hard to cook food to meet my requirements.

The tents are comfortable and have everything you need. The bucket showers are substantial. Staff have to work really hard to provide for and look after guests in mobile tented camps."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Namiri Plains Camp

Namiri Plains Camp

"Namiri Plains Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 26 Jul 2016
"I have been on 8 safaris and this place is like no other. The game viewing has been one of the best in all my safaris! This place is really wild and beautiful. This part of the Serengeti plains really lives up to being called, "plains". Endless expanse of golden plains broken up in places with beautiful kopjes and acacia trees. The long grasses look amazing as the day progresses and the light changes.

You wouldn't realise how much life there is until your amazing guide points out the animals! Yes, the guiding is brilliant! My guide Erasto is a super guide. One of the best guides I have been guided by.

The place is really wild. We saw different Cheetahs with cubs every day in my 4 day stay. Saw Cheetah kill successfully once and one unsuccessful cheetah hunt.

Saw huge numbers of lions everyday and lion cubs. There were lions in every area we went to - lions mating, hunting, sleeping, etc. On my last night there 5 lion brothers killed a buffalo right near my tent. They were roaring and growling/arguing all night. It was amazing.

As with all Asilia camps the staff are amazing and go out of their way to look after you. Food was brilliant and so are the tents. The location of the camp is very good as it is far away from the busy part. So quite exclusive.

I loved every minute of my stay there and will definitely be returning soon!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Great trip to Tanzania

Tanzania between 29 Sep 2011 and 11 Oct 2011

Trip rating: Excellent
"Overall experience of the trip was very good. Everyting went well. I had no problem anywhere.

Everything went well without any hitches despite the several flights and the amount of travelling.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

Ellie was very helpful and knowledgeable. Thank you for arranging my holiday!"

Mwagusi Safari Camp

Mwagusi Safari Camp

"Great food and Bandas"

3 nights Arrived 30 Sep 2011
"I loved the food and Bandas at Mwagusi. The food was outstanding. A lot of vairiety and flavours. Compliments to the chef.

The Bandas are beautiful and fantastic location along the riverbed, which is visited by animals. As soon as I arrived there was an elephant right outside my banda. the design and size of the bandas is brilliant. Very relaxing, spacious, comfortable and clean. Was dissappointed with the trickle of water coming from the shower.

The game drives were good. I had a very good guide, Jimmy. However, not impressed with the vehicles. The seats are not well designed and comfortable. There are no steps (footing) to climb up on to the 2nd and 3rd row seats. It is very dangerous as one has to put you foot on thin pipes that run along the side of the vehicle. One slip and can cause injury. Very difficult for people of any age let alone older people.

The managers were good but not as warm and hospitable as I expected and after my experiences with the lodges in my previous safaris and the and beyond lodges. The rest of the local staff are very good, work very hard and are very warm and hospitable.

Overall very good lodge and experience and I would recommend it."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Lake Manyara Tree Lodge

Lake Manyara Tree Lodge

"Another and beyond superb lodge and service"

2 nights Arrived 3 Oct 2011
"As expected with and beyond, the lodge, service and staff are all excellent. The rooms are great, superb guiding and warmth and hospitality. Had a great time and wonderful game viewing experience with my guide Malley particulary with the 300 or so elephants!!

They really know how to look after you and this is what I expect. Great lodge. My butler Liberati was also great and so was Scott the manager! Am running out of superlatives. As a single traveller I would recommend it to other single travellers. Don't have to worry about anything.

They pick you up feed you and really look after you and drop you back at the airport, making sure you have packed lunch or breakfast depending on the time of your flight. On arrival a table is laid out ready to greet you with tea coffee biscuits, lunch, etc depending on time of arrival."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Serengeti under Canvas

Serengeti under Canvas

"Brilliant camp 1 and river crossing"

3 nights Arrived 5 Oct 2011
"Brilliant staff and service. Didas my butler and Baraka the manager are outstanding!

I was fortunate to see and experience 3 river crossings! Great! The warmth and hospitality of staff is very touching! Great singing! Mobile tented camp, but my stay was very comfortable."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Ngorongoro Crater Lodge

Ngorongoro Crater Lodge

"Wonderful lodge! Great views of the crater!"

2 nights Arrived 8 Oct 2011
"The location of the lodge is great! I was in Tree camp, but I think South camp is best located for views of the Crater! Love the fire, electric blanket and bath decorated with rose petals. It was very cold when I visited

My guide Kitoi was great. The crater gets very busy with tourists, so too many vehicles per sighing. Also the sighting can be very far away!"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team