This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Mountain Gorilla View Lodge
Mountain Gorilla View Lodge
Mountain Gorilla View Lodge
Mountain Gorilla View Lodge
Mountain Gorilla View Lodge

Mountain Gorilla View Lodge


1°25’42.7"S 29°33’18.5"E

Reviews of Mountain Gorilla View

Wildlife sightings and reviews

100 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Mountain Gorilla View and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 12 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Mountain Gorilla View.
Mountain Gorilla

92% success

Buffalo

13% success

Elephant

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 71-80 of 100
Duration
Arrival date
Mr R
Rickmansworth

"Gorilla Mountain View Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 23 Dec 2013
"Staff very friendly and helpful. Location is ideal in terms of closeness to park headquarters. As a general comment, the lodge bedrooms are dark, especially the bathroom.

The rooms are also very cold partly due to the wasteful and inefficient open fire." See all these reviews: 6n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs D
Willingham

"Gorilla Mountain View Lodge review"

4 nights Arrived 15 Oct 2013
"Volcanoes N P was very good;the gorillas were extraordinary.

One last point which was a disappointment in Volcanoes as in Nyungye was that in the afternoons we were expecting to be able to go for local expeditions to look for birds/ appreciate the environment. Because of the attention attracted by visitors from children/ others asking for money etc one really needs a local guide/ companion but when we asked in the hotel or our driver if we could go out for a walk we were simply advised against it. We tried on a couple of occasions to go out by ourselves but the level of hassle was uncomfortable and so self defeating of a relaxed appreciation of the environment. A local guide would have solved that.

We did insist on our driver taking us one afternoon to the twin lakes in volcanoes but this was not readily offered, although it was on our itinerary." See all these reviews: 8n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Poor
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs F
Victoria

"Gorillas in the eucalypt forrests"

3 nights Arrived 8 Jun 2013
"My only complaint about this part of the trip is that I was unaware that there were other parks and activities which I could have experienced; my fault as I assumed that we were only going for the gorillas, and had done no research on the rest of Rwanda." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana; 4n in Rwanda; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs M
Victoria

"Gorilla Mountain View Lodge"

3 nights Arrived 8 Jun 2013
"Nowhere near luxurious but good value for money in a great location for early morning gorilla trecking.

Power was only on for part of the day and the rooms got cold despite efforts to heat them with a wood fire - but this is what we told to expect.

Food was good, service great and wine reasonably expensive." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana; 4n in Rwanda; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs G
Victoria

"Gorilla Mountain View Lodge"

3 nights Arrived 8 Jun 2013
"The staff were very friendly and accommodating. Rooms were comfortable with open fires that were prepared each night being a nice touch for the cold nights. Disappointingly the coating on the bathroom floor was sticky requiring the wearing of thongs. Coating sticking to your feet if thongs were not worn.

Food generally fairly basic and not as good as we had experienced at other locations. Wine expensive in comparison to hotels in South Africa.

Thanks to our Primate Safari driver Hussein our treks with the Gorillas were easily managed, given our ages and physical condition. A once in a lifetime experience thanks to knowledgable and passionate guides and trackers." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana; 4n in Rwanda; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr G & Mrs T
Durham

"Well located and pleasant."

5 nights Arrived 30 Dec 2012
"This was well located for gorilla trekking and (when the rain/mist clears) has great views of the volcanoes. The buffet was more than adequate and varied (we were there five nights).

In December it was cold and despite the fire and hot water bottles it could feel a little damp. People should be aware that the electricity generator is only on at certain times. It does have internet (not to be taken for granted in hotels in Rwanda), albeit slow.

Staff are very helpful. Boots are cleaned to "as new" after trekking. There are Intore dancers performing in the afternoons. I'd advise avoiding new years eve - the loud disco they put on just made sure people had a really bad nights sleep (everyone gets up at about 5 AM for the trekking). Every other night it was very peaceful.

A variety of birds are in the grounds." See all these reviews: 13n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Miss F & Mr H
York

"Gorilla Mountain View Lodge review"

4 nights Arrived 10 Nov 2012
"Great location, rooms are looking a little "tired", shower was very poor, food OK - although repetitive. Staff helpful - great idea to clean the boots after a trek. Hot water bottle at night essential." See all these reviews: 12n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Poor
Three
Manchester

"Gorilla Mountain View Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 18 Sep 2012
"Reviews in various places on the web paint a mixed picture of this lodge. We were a party of 5 staying in rooms 1-4 which were located close to the main lodge. We found the rooms comfortable, hot water erratic (as you might of a place with time limited power) and the welcome warm.

On the whole it was a much nicer place than I expected and the biggest challenge is the generally damp, cool weather which could be troublesome for travellers who hail from warmer climbs. The weather ranged from something akin to a beautiful spring day in the British countryside to dark and stormy November rainstorms of the east coast.

The lodge is open and spacious, heating is limited to a wood fire in your room and an electric heater which may or may not work (ours didn't but others in the group were toasty). However, we spent a glorious afternoon in the sunshine after our trek drinking coffee on the lawn in the shadow of the volcanoes. In the evenings though you'll find yourselves sat in the restaurant or bar wrapped in a fleece or jacket.

Overall I thought it was a solid place to stay, in a beautiful location with edible food and friendly staff. I wouldn't hesitate to return and recommend it to all but the most demanding of travellers - if you want a spa, michelin food and butler then its probably not the place for you." See all these reviews: 5n in Tanzania; 3n in Rwanda; 1n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs L
Cambridge

"Gorilla Mountain View Lodge review"

4 nights Arrived 2 Sep 2012
"Great having a log fire and hot water bottle placed in the bed each night. Boots also cleaned after trek. Staff very friendly.

Have put activities excellent because of the gorilla trekking" See all these reviews: 7n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Mrs M & Miss H
Bucks

"Gorilla Mountain View Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 28 Aug 2012
"As a hotel being used mostly by travellers staying for 1 or 2 days to see Gorillas it is very well positioned

Staff are extremely friendly" See all these reviews: 8n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Showing 71-80 of 100
88%
100 reviews of Mountain Gorilla View by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
48
44
8
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Rwanda

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Rwanda.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Volcanoes National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Sabyinyo Silverback Lodge

Sabyinyo Silverback

In a fine location close to Volcanoes National Park, Sabyinyo Silverback Lodge is a very comfortable lodge with wonderful views.


95% (21 reviews)
Virunga Lodge

Virunga Lodge

Virunga Lodge is a consciously environmental lodge in a stunning location, about an hour's drive from Volcanoes National Park headquarters.


98% (13 reviews)
Gorilla's Nest

Gorillas Nest

Gorilla's Nest is a very high-end lodge in a great location near the Volcanoes National Park headquarters, from where all gorilla trips start.


73% (6 reviews)
Bisate Lodge

Bisate Lodge

The exclusive and luxurious Bisate Lodge, close to Volcanoes National Park, is one of the best places to stay in the area.


100% (4 reviews)
Kwitonda Lodge

Kwitonda Lodge

Close to the edge of Volcanoes National Park, the luxurious Kwitonda Lodge opened in 2019. Ask your Expert Africa specialist for the latest news.


No reviews yet
Tiloreza Eco Lodge

Tiloreza Eco Lodge

Five Volcanoes offers mid-range hotel accommodation around 15 minutes' drive from Volcanoes National Park headquarters.


No reviews yet
Bishop's House

Bishops House

In the town of Musanze, a half-hour drive from the Volcanoes National Park headquarters, Bishop's House is well placed for gorilla trekking.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa