This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by B & F from Hexham

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

5

Lodges stayed in

15

Excursions taken

0

A brilliant trip

Tanzania and 1 other country between 3 Jan 2016 and 15 Jan 2016

Trip rating: Excellent
"This was an amazing holiday incorporating 2 long held dreams of seeing the Gorillas in Rwanda and visiting the Selous in Tanzania.

Absolutely everything went according to plan (unbelievable for Africa!) and apart from the problems we raised about the hotel in Dar we couldn't have asked for better.

Fantastic, thank you!"

Image alt

Urban Boutique

"Good city hotel"

1 night Arrived 4 Jan 2016
"Friendly, helpful, efficient staff.

Comfortable, spacious room and good breakfast with views across the city from the dining area."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Mountain Gorilla View Lodge

Mountain Gorilla View Lodge

"Good lodge, convenient for the park."

4 nights Arrived 5 Jan 2016
"The staff were all vey friendly and tried very hard - there were occasionally "lapses" but we felt that was more as a result of inexperience than carelessness.

Our only 2 criticisms were the poor lighting in the room and also the lack of safe - having to leave electronic gear in envelopes at the office was a bit of a pain! The boot cleaning service was absolutely amazing (still don't know how they could do such a good job in such a short space of time).

It's position only 15 minutes from the park HQ was great."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Lake Manze Adventure Camp

Lake Manze Adventure Camp

"Wonderful experience."

4 nights Arrived 11 Jan 2016
"A wonderful place, extremely well organised with enthusiastic, friendly, knowledgeable staff - an absolute delight.

The game viewing was excellent both on land and water. The number of animals that wandered through the camp was fantastic.

The food was good, wine choice and price also good and laundry brilliant!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

My Sep 2007 trip

Namibia and 2 other countries between 19 Sep 2007 and 18 Oct 2007

Trip rating: Excellent
"Very, very good. I still cannot believe how smoothly it all went. Apart from Epacha Lodge ( a night necessitated by lack of accommodation elsewhere) it was all at exactly the level that we wanted - miraculously Tracey somehow managed to discern this from my ramblings!

Only during the last couple of days of the holiday did I notice that mobile and home numbers are provided for Expert Africa staff - amazing!!!!!!!!!!! Thanks so much."

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

"Kulala Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 20 Sep 2007
"The hot air ballooning trip, though expensive, was an absolute must - out of this world!"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Brigadoon

Brigadoon

"Brigadoon review"

2 nights Arrived 22 Sep 2007
"Everything was OK, just that everywhere else was so much better.

The mini 4x4 tour to Sandwich Harbour (run by the guy that owns the ballooning operation in Soussevlei) was great fun."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"Doro Nawas review"

1 night Arrived 24 Sep 2007
"By far the most magical of the lodges.

We went on our own to the rock art site - very interesting - but the petrified forest was not worth the minor diversion"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Image alt

Epacha Game Lodge, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Epacha Game Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 25 Sep 2007
"Disappointing for a 5 star place and the formal atmosphere didn't sit well with the "bush" location.

We were advised not to bother with the night game drive as we were unlikely to see anything. On the morning drive we saw very little."
Average
Location
Average
Service
Excellent
Activities
Poor
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Facilities
Excellent
Ongava Lodge

Ongava Lodge

"Ongava Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 26 Sep 2007
"Seemed the most committed to ensuring we saw the maximum amount of wildlife possible and went out of their way to accommodate our request for a specialist drive in the morning."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

"Halali Restcamp review"

2 nights Arrived 27 Sep 2007
"We expected very basic accommodation (along the lines of restcamps in Zimbabwe national parks 9 years ago) and were astonished to arrive at Halali and find such luxury.

Didn't take advantage of the night or salt-pan drives; watering hole was fantastic.

Swimming pool was still being refurbished."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Poor
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

"Okonjima Main Camp review"

1 night Arrived 29 Sep 2007
"Mixed feelings. Felt quite pressurised by the staff when we arriived as we were told what we were booked in for and when.

Dinner arrangements were not properly explained, hence we held everybody up.

Activities : leopard tracking was too artificial and we felt as though we were crowding the poor beast when we eventually tracked it down. The Wild Dog and Cheetah experience the following morning would have been interesting, as opposed to depressing, if we'ld have had chance to read all the background material first.

Perhaps if we had come here before Etosha, etc. we might have felt a bit more positive."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Olive Grove

Olive Grove

"Olive Grove review"

2 nights Arrived 30 Sep 2007
"Really nice place and would highly recommend it.

Embarassingly we realised when we got to the airport that none of us had left the staff tip - many apologies."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Image alt

Southern Sun

"Southern Sun airport hotel"

1 night Arrived 2 Oct 2007
"Fit for purpose."
Average
Location
Average
Service
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Avani Victoria Falls

Avani Victoria Falls

"Zambezi Sun"

2 nights Arrived 3 Oct 2007
"Value for money given the location."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Average
Activities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Facilities
Average
Image alt

Southern Sun

"review"

1 night Arrived 5 Oct 2007
"see previous"
Average
Bazaruto Lodge

Bazaruto Lodge

"Bazaruto Lodge review"

4 nights Arrived 6 Oct 2007
"A bit too much pressure to sign up for activities; oherwise excellent - beautiful location, lovely staff, great diving and snorkelling.

Just need to offer drinkable wine by the glass as opposed to paint stripper!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team