This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mrs & Mr D from Sydney

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

5

Lodges stayed in

11

Excursions taken

0

My Jan 2016 trip

Tanzania and 4 other countries between 24 Jan 2016 and 15 Feb 2016

Trip rating: Excellent
"It was excellent, brilliantly organised and managed.

In retrospect we should have chosen Sabyinyo in Rwanda, Ngorongoro Crater in the Crater. I would have preferred to stay at the Hyatt in Dar - or an alternative to the Serena - it was a shocker.

I had concerns about Little Kwara before I went and these were confirmed. I would not stay with a Kwando facility on a return to Africa."

Arranged By Maruska Adye-Rowe


City Lodge OR Tambo

City Lodge OR Tambo

"City Lodge OR Tambo review"

1 night Arrived 24 Jan 2016
"Very conveniently located, easy to access and perfect for an overnight stay between flights."
Good
Location
Excellent
Food
Average
Service
Average
Mountain Gorilla View Lodge

Mountain Gorilla View Lodge

"Gorilla Mountain View Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 25 Jan 2016
"It is well located and that is it. Rooms were enormous, unnecessarily and freezing.

Food was strange and not really a large range."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Average
Rooms
Poor
Food
Poor
Kigali Serena Hotel

Kigali Serena Hotel

"Kigali Serena Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 27 Jan 2016
"Fine hotel to stay in for a flight stop over, however when we arrived a large group from US Aid had refused to check out and at 5pm they were still waiting for the delegates to return. Given that we had been up since 4am, trekked for 5 hours and then driven 3 hours to get to Kigali we were not impressed.

The hotel did not seem to know how to handle the large delegation nor how to communicate with us as to what the actual problem was. We finally got to our room about 2 hours after we arrived, which was well past their advertised check in time."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Terrible
Rooms
Poor
Food
Average
Nomad Serengeti Safari Camp

Nomad Serengeti Safari Camp

"Nomad Serengeti Safari Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 28 Jan 2016
"It was a very special experience. The food was excellent and in fact the best we had in 23 days. They had received enormous rains a few days before we arrived and it felt slightly battered, but it did not diminish our experience.

The guide, Paul was marvellous, gentle, patient , skilled and a tremendous guide. We saw all the animals in great numbers including the migration on the plains.

The only reality check is that this camp is not in the Serengeti and you will not actually go to the Serengeti National Park. Two points I had not realised. Serengeti National park is a significant distance away and not visited from this camp, so we were told. We did work out that it is in the Serengeti Ecological Area, but not actually the Serengeti. The camp is in the Ngorgongoro Conservation Reserve, which means that you can go off road, which is a tremendous advantage."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Neptune Ngorongoro Lodge

Neptune Ngorongoro Lodge

"Neptune Ngorongoro Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 1 Feb 2016
"New operators have taken over this lodge. We found their attention to us to border on obsequious and therefore at times uncomfortable.

The rooms were absolutely enormous and very luxurious. The views and gardens were beautiful, however it is not on the lip of the crater and you look out on the general landscape of the area.

The food was very strange, a throwback to 1980's over complicated cuisine which bordered on inedible at times, which was a shame as it was clear they were trying so hard and desperate to please."
Good
Location
Average
Service
Average
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Poor
Southern Sun Dar

Southern Sun Dar

"Southern Sun Dar review"

1 night Arrived 3 Feb 2016
"Oh dear, this was a bit of a disaster. They were undertaking major repairs - fair enough, but unfortunately put us in a room in the middle of the renovations which were still going strong at 5pm. It was just banging, more disconcerting was the fact that there was an internal shute for the rubbish which was inside a wall adjacent to our room, so there was some fairly violent rumbling of garbage every couple of minutes. Oh and the room stank - it was musty and awful - no doubt the reason for the renovation.

We zipped over to the Hyatt Regency, had a lovely drink on the roof and then went to a local BBQ restaurant for dinner, so not all was lost."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Terrible
Rooms
Terrible
Tau Pan Camp

Tau Pan Camp

"Tau Pan Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 4 Feb 2016
"Loved this camp. It was well run, friendly and beautifully located.

The only downside was the consultant who was employed by the company who had a super strong personality, talked over the top of the guides and staff and actually we just wished she would let the team do their thing.

The guide, Ishmael, the tracker, Scooper and the manager Jessica were all simply excellent."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Little Kwara

Little Kwara

"Little Kwara review"

3 nights Arrived 6 Feb 2016
"After the related camp at Tau Pan we had reaonable expectations of Little Kwara but unfortunately we were disappointed. It was clearly not as well managed or run ( and could have assisted with input from the bossy consultant who was at Tau Pan). Little things were noticeable, no towels on return from the drive, the staff were often not in uniform, making it tricky to work out if they were on duty etc. The food was no where near as good as Tau Pan.

It was however the busiest of all the camps we had been on with 10 people in residence at all times, and maybe this put pressure on the team. ALSO the issue with the fans is real - it was 34degrees every day and over 20 degrees during the night, it really would have assisted if there were fans and it was not apparent why there weren't any.

Guiding was good, a little bit overwhelmed by the numbers of staff and it felt like they needed a break."
Average
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Facilities
Average
Avani Victoria Falls

Avani Victoria Falls

"Zambezi Sun review"

2 nights Arrived 9 Feb 2016
"We didn't have high expectations, but were pleasantly surprised. It is an excellent location a really easy stroll to the falls, it was very well maintained and the pool is excellent.

The only suggestion we have is DONT eat in the restaurant for the evening meal. Our agent had said to go to the Royal Livingstone and we did that on the first night - excellent food and service. We tried the restaurant on the second night... it was a debacle. Who would have thought that Potato and Bacon Chowder was in fact potato salad with lettuce and tomato. The other options were all chicken and then were was chicken on the mains. They conceded that the low numbers in the restaurant had caused them problems. We should have eaten at the restaurant around the pool !"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Poor
Facilities
Good
Chinzombo

Chinzombo

"Chinzombo review"

3 nights Arrived 11 Feb 2016
"Just beautiful. Staff were friendly, intelligent and just delightful.

Food was fabulous, the rooms totally perfect and everyone was flexible about what we did when.

Guiding was tremendous and really helpful when we asked to visit a village."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Latitude 15

Latitude 15

"Latitude 15 review"

1 night Arrived 14 Feb 2016
"WOW. What a find. I wish this hotel was in Sydney.

It is all boutique with the most fabulous African artifacts on the walls, food was fab, both by the pool and for breakfast. Room was lovely.

I wish we were staying for days, not just overnight."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team