This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs W from Kent

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

7

Excursions taken

0

Tanzania/Rwanda Safari trip - Jun/Jul 2016

Tanzania and 1 other country between 21 Jun 2016 and 9 Jul 2016

Trip rating: Excellent
"Outstanding trip overall, perfectly matching our expectations.

James at Expert Africa listened and probed as to what we wanted and expected from our first safari experience, and then put together several itinerary options that would meet our needs. He was able to answer all our questions, and to provide us with lots of additional information that helped us in selecting the final choices for our Safari holiday."

Southern Sun Dar

Southern Sun Dar

"Nice hotel in good location"

1 night Arrived 21 Jun 2016
"Spent 1 night here en-route from London to Selous.

Good standard of room and breakfast."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Siwandu

Siwandu

"Luxurious tented camp"

4 nights Arrived 22 Jun 2016
"4 nights here in June 2016. Very spacious and luxurious "tents", with an incredible outdoor shower. Great service and good food.

One minor complaint is that you have to pay for drinks. They aren't particularly expensive, but it is something extra to think about, and requires an extra step in settling the bill at the end of the stay. The other camps we visited included the drinks in the accommodation cost, and I would recommend Siwandu to do the same even if they have to increase prices a little to cover the cost.

Safari drives started later than at other camps (8am to 11am and 4pm to 7pm), which made for a more relaxing start to the day. The guiding here was very good. During one drive, our guide Kim was able to find some lions that others had been unable to locate. He was very experienced, knowledgeable and patient with our many questions."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Kigelia Camp

Kigelia Camp

"A genuine safari experience"

4 nights Arrived 26 Jun 2016
"Spent 4 nights at Kigelia. A truly genuine safari experience, with strong focus on game drives (6:30am to 12:00 and 4pm to 7pm). Fantastic guiding, and service in the camp was outstanding. Our guide Joel, was excellent, he proved to be the best guide during our whole trip, always willing to stop for photos and find the best position for photos of the animals, scenery and sunset/sunrise.

The night drive was awesome, a great chance to see many nocturnal animals. The manager of the camp (Ken) runs a very efficient operation with all staff seeming fully involved and keen to chat with guests.

A surprise birthday dinner (complete with cake, candles and dancing/singing from the whole team) was most unexpected, touching and very appreciated."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Namiri Plains Camp

Namiri Plains Camp

"Beautifully furnished tented camp"

3 nights Arrived 30 Jun 2016
"Spent 3 nights here. Beautifully furnished tents while still maintaining the Safari-camp feeling. Great food, and discreet service.

Hamza, our guide was excellent at spotting the game, and extremely knowledgeable of not just the animals, but of the geology of the area too. Evening meals were taken at a large table, and we liked the fact that the guides ate dinner with the guests, it made for an interesting and lively mealtime.

An exclusive area of the otherwise crowded Serengeti, with lots of animals (especially Cheetah)."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Kigali Serena Hotel

Kigali Serena Hotel

"Executive rooms are great"

1 night Arrived 3 Jul 2016
"Spent 1 night here en-route between Serengeti and Volcanoes National Park.

They upgraded us to an executive room on the 5th floor, which was spacious and luxurious.

Great breakfast buffet."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Mountain Gorilla View Lodge

Mountain Gorilla View Lodge

"Lodge with log fires, close to the Nat Park"

3 nights Arrived 4 Jul 2016
"Spent 3 nights here. Huge cottage room with open wood fire, and we had a short walk through lawned gardens to main building and restaurant. Food was quite good but varied very little from day to day so became rather repetitive.

They were quite flexible with rooming arrangements to cater for the variability in trek lengths (we still had our room available on the last day when we returned from trekking at 1pm, and didn't actually check out until 2:30pm). Nice lounge area in main building, with open fires and local musicians in the evenings.

After trekking your shoes/boots are taken from you and returned to you clean and dry by the same evening - a very nice touch."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Kigali Serena Hotel

Kigali Serena Hotel

"Standard rooms OK but Exec rooms better"

1 night Arrived 7 Jul 2016
"Spent another single night here on the way home from Volcanoes National Park.

We were in a standard room (as booked). Room was quite good but much smaller and more "tired" than the executive room we had been given on the outbound journey."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team